Friesen Invades Grandview Wins 76er

By ERNIE SAXTON Bechtelsville, PA September 21, 2014 . . . Stewart Friesen started the regular Saturday night season at Grandview Speedway in victory lane behind the wheel of the Norm Hansell No. 357 and he closed it out by winning the 44th annual Freedom 76 Modified feature driving the Jeff Bailey & Sons sponsored/Teo No. 44F for a $25,000 plus payday. In addition to the top prize money Friesen, the second Canadian to win the prestigious event – Doug Carlyle doing it in 1977, collected the lion’s share of lap money leading laps 32 through 76. Next to winning…More

Lightening Strikes at Fonda!

by RON SZCZERBA Fonda, NY – It was day two of the 2014 Mohawk Valley Weekend at the Fonda Speedway on Saturday evening and after putting on a show on Friday evening in the Empire Super Sprint (ESS) feature when he started the event in the 19th position and came up through the field to finish fourth Larry Wight did it again on Saturday evening only in a modified this time as he made an exciting pass for the lead on the backstretch and went on to take his first career win at the “Track of Champions”. Other winners on…More

History Made: Wayne Johnson Sweeps the Midwest Fall Brawl III

GREENWOOD, Neb. (September 20, 2014) – It’s the little things that matter, and for Wayne Johnson it was a quarter turn of weight that made the difference between winning and losing on Saturday, September 20, 2014 as the Oklahoma City native captured the biggest payday of his career, and largest payout in ASCS history by winning the Durst Motorplex/Hotrod Paintless Dent Repair Double Down Back to Back $50,000 Challenge in the Casey’s General Store Midwest Fall Brawl III at the I-80 Speedway. “I could go on and on about the people who help us on this thing,” said Wayne about…More

Schultz Claims First Win of the Season at Selinsgrove

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Jason Shultz of Carlisle finally made a break-through and scored his first win of the season in Saturday night’s 25-lap 360 sprint car main event at Selinsgrove Speedway. Shultz, who won four races and the track championship last year, was at the wheel of the Horstcraft Millworks No. 29 for his 13th career win at the track. Tim Wilson of McClure held off late-race challenges for his second win of the season at Selinsgrove in the 25-lap super late model feature. In the 15-lap pro stock feature, Adam Campbell of Danville earned his first career win, while…More

King Jr Holds off King Sr to Win at Sharon

By MIKE LEONE Hartford, OH September 20, 2014 After a successful two-day “Apple Festival Nationals” on September 12-13, Sharon Speedway was back in action on a beautiful Saturday night for the first “Steel Valley Thunder” weekly program since August 23. For the sixth straight night, over 100 race cars filled the pit area in the next to last program of the 85th anniversary season. Celebrating in the Hovis Auto & Truck Supply victory lane were Rex King, Jr.-Hovis Auto & Truck Supply DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds, Alan Dellinger-Barris Supply RUSH Late Models, Mike Kinney-Summit Racing Equipment Modifieds, Paul Davis-Gibson Insurance Agency…More

Marks Steals Wilson’s Williams Grove Win, Chad Trout Scores 358 Sprints

MECHANICSBURG, PA – Brent Marks executed a fourth turn pass of Ryan Wilson racing to the white flag and led the final lap to win the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway. In the 358 sprint main it was Chad Trout outrunning Kevin Nouse to pick up the victory. Marks, of Myerstown, earned $4,120 for his third Grove win of the season and his sixth overall win in the Jeff Marks No. 19M. The caution flag flew on the opening lap when Danny Dietrich hit the frontstretch wall and stopped. Steve Buckwalter gave up the…More

Jeff Trombley Outruns Fonda Modified Field

Fonda, NY – On Friday evening of Mohawk Valley Weekend at the “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway one of the nicest guys in the sport Jeff Trombley scored a long overdue victory in the modified division ending almost a three year winless streak after his last win at the track was on 9/24/2011! “We put a lot into this and don’t have the funding that we used to,” the driver of the Jumpin’ Jack’s Pro Speed sponsored #21J said of his crew. “I told my guys that depending on how we did on Friday and Saturday would dictate if we…More

Lindberg, Fawcett, St. Pierre, Sanders, Fletcher win on night one of Applefest Shootout

BRIGHTON (September 19, 2014) – The first night of the Benson Auto Parts Applefest Shootout presented by Cool 100 saw 101 cars sign in for action on a chilly night at Brighton Speedway. A full field of 30 cars checked in to qualify for the DIRTcar Sportsman Mr.DIRT tour shootout presented by Benson Auto Parts, Cool 100, Lucas Oil, Coca-Cola, VP Racing Fuels, Mystical Distributing, and ImageFactor.ca. Lindberg Claims Sportsman Shootout Brockville, Ont.’s Dylan Evoy (No.83) and Potsdam, NY driver Mike Maresca (No.7) started on the front row for the 35-lap DIRTcar Sportsman A-Main. Evoy led the opening lap before…More