Jump to content




Toggle %s Dirt Track Digest Breaking News

Welcome to Dirt Track Digest.Com....New photos are available in the gallery at: http://www.dirttrack...t.com/gallery7/.....Check out the front page for stories from around the tracks at http://www.dirtrackdigest.com.....the Dirt Track Digest App has also been updated in the Google Play Store!

Support Our Sponsors














Photo
- - - - -

Crate Bolts


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 4wheelin

4wheelin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockbridge,new york

Posted 24 February 2011 - 09:17 AM

I see there is a couple pics of crate bolts on elkins site. The same bolts that Brian Mulligan Said in an interview on that site didnt exist.

#2 The Rabbitt

The Rabbitt

    In God We Trust.. All others Must Pay Cash

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,586 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloversville, NY

Posted 24 February 2011 - 09:57 AM

Posted Image

I think that sums it up :)

#3 AKieffer43

AKieffer43

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 618 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2011 - 12:17 PM

http://shop.ebay.com...reak Away Bolts

#4 Jim Parker

Jim Parker

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,043 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Blossvale, NY
  • Interests:Racing, Racing and Racing

Posted 24 February 2011 - 07:37 PM

I see there is a couple pics of crate bolts on elkins site. The same bolts that Brian Mulligan Said in an interview on that site didnt exist.



Leave it to Doug to find crate bolts! I wonder what Mulligan will have to say now?

#5 lightning15

lightning15

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 24 February 2011 - 09:17 PM

Crate bolts are available in many places. They aren't the correct bolt though for a Gm 602 or 604 crate motor , the bolts that come from Gm, are stamped Gm and also have a very small bar code on them also.

#6 yvan lacroix

yvan lacroix

    Vintage racer and person

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Granby, Quebec

Posted 24 February 2011 - 10:29 PM

Crate bolts are available in many places. They aren't the correct bolt though for a Gm 602 or 604 crate motor , the bolts that come from Gm, are stamped Gm and also have a very small bar code on them also.

Correct, they stick out like a sore thumb, not only do they not have the markings of the GM bolt, but most do not have the proper finish and shape. Those who think that they can pass them off to there tech inspector, I have a nice car for you, 1984 Lada like new, still with the original factory rust.....
At Your Service

Yvan Lacroix

Vintage 123
Tech inspector Autodrome Granby www.autodrome-granby.com
Race director and tech inspector, Procam Supertruck touring series.

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#7 lafrance performance

lafrance performance

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Location:asheboro n.c.
  • Interests:engines,engines,engines,motorcycles,women lol

Posted 25 February 2011 - 06:32 AM


Crate bolts are available in many places. They aren't the correct bolt though for a Gm 602 or 604 crate motor , the bolts that come from Gm, are stamped Gm and also have a very small bar code on them also.

Correct, they stick out like a sore thumb, not only do they not have the markings of the GM bolt, but most do not have the proper finish and shape. Those who think that they can pass them off to there tech inspector, I have a nice car for you, 1984 Lada like new, still with the original factory rust.....



how many bolts you guys want with the gm logo and barcode?... please private message me and ill accomodate you, thanks

#8 Champion

Champion

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 25 February 2011 - 09:46 AM

Each crate bolt requires its own multiple torque specs to break clean. For example the head bolt is 40/50/65 lbs.
What good is cheater parts, if you don't install them properly?

#9 50jAGAIN

50jAGAIN

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AMSTERDAM NY

Posted 25 February 2011 - 09:53 AM

Each crate bolt requires its own multiple torque specs to break clean. For example the head bolt is 40/50/65 lbs.
What good is cheater parts, if you don't install them properly?

See the post above yours , i`m sure he will help anyone with installing them properly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The great Crate debate begins again!!!

#10 Lightning Motorsports

Lightning Motorsports

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts

Posted 25 February 2011 - 04:42 PM

Lafrance Performance, I would like to see a set of these bolts.. There was even tech last year at one of my hometracks to make sure they were the proper bolts, with the write markings in them, and all your gonna do if you do decide to sell these bolts is get a fine if you get caught, Printed right in the Dirt Rule book. I understand your a engine builder and it's your job to sell, just watch out it doesn't backfire.

#11 Casper60

Casper60

    Let the Butthurt flow

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,796 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NY

Posted 25 February 2011 - 06:15 PM

WRG isn't even using the crate bolts anymore so the deal is pointless anyhow, unless your track is still using them. LaFrance is correct though, the proper bolts are obtainable as well, you just need the proper channels to get them.

If they would just seal them the way they sealed the ct525's, this wouldn't be an issue.
Daryl Barrett




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users