RANSOMVILLE, NY – After a two year absence, the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series returned to Ransomville Speedway last Monday night. It also marked the return of Memorial Day racing at Ransomville Speedway. Sponsors Budweiser and Wendt’s Propane were on hand in the track’s VIP Towers.

Erick Rudolph of Ransomville, NY has nearly been unstoppable at Ransomville Speedway coming into the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series event, winning twice at the tricky half-mile previously. Erick won the 75 lap event, beating a stellar field of 358 Modifieds. Rudolph is also the current Krown Undercoating 358 Modified point’s leader. The win also gave Erick his second straight DIRTcar 358 Modified Series victory. The top runners had to endure heavy lapped traffic late in the race, Rudolph used the traffic to his advantage.

Rudolph started sixth after a pre race draw. Pete Bicknell drew the pole position and led the first thirty nine laps. Lap forty found Rudolph taking over the point position. Rudolph would go out to half second advantage over Bicknell and was clearly the fastest driver on the track. Danny Johnson, who started to 12th started to show his power at the front of the field moving into second after a lap 51 restart.

Johnson would take over the second place position ahead of Bicknell soon after lap 58 restart. However, Rudolph was just too fast and would be the class of the field. With five laps to go, the lenders would hit another stretch of lapped traffic. When it was over, Rudolph was 4.440 seconds quicker than Johnson. Bicknell held on for third while Scott Kerwin finished fourth. Gary Lindburg was fifth followed by Scott George in sixth. Ryan Susice was seventh. Chad Brachmann was eighth and Robbie Krull was ninth. Rounding out the top ten was Tommy Flannigan.

Heat race winners were Kenny Wills, Gary Lindburg and Rudolph. Wills set fast time in pre race time trials with a 17.294 second lap speed.

“The car started out slow tonight,” said Erick in victory lane. “We were later able to find a line out here. Our crew did a great job getting this car ready to race.”

Erick drove the Bicknell built owned Rob Clark.

“I would like to thank my team for getting this car ready,” said Johnson, who suffered engine problems in previous days. “The track was really good tonight.”

Bicknell was happy with third place finish. “It was nice to see all Bicknell cars in the top three.”
In the 25 lap Investors Service Company Sportsman feature, Kevin Wills of Ransomville, NY won his first of the 2016 season, leading the entire distance.

“The track was great tonight,” said a happy Wills afterwards.

Wills would beat second place finisher James Henry to the finish line by nearly four seconds. The best battle of night may have been between Henry and third place finisher Matt Farnham, who eventually beat Farnham by two seconds for the runnerup position. Farnham was a winner last Friday night at Ransomville Speedway. Wills had the fastest lap in the race at 18.661 seconds.

Heat race winners were Mike Williams, Brett Senek and Wills.
In the 12 lap Gippsters Collision Four Banger feature, Chris Leone of Niagara Falls, NY won for the second time in 2016. Leone also won on opening day. Leone took the lead on lap six and held off second place finisher Mike Pahl, who led the race until Leone took over the top spot. Third was Pat O’Keefe and Cole Susice was fourth and Steve Matson was fifth. Anthony Guthrie was sixth. Matt Hornquist was seventh followed by Dave Dussault in eighth who had to pit earlier to change a tire. Rounding out the top ten was Chad Lederhouse and Orval Harris.

Heat race winners were Lederhouse and Ashley Harbison.


Super DIRTcar 358 Modified Series time results: Kenny Wills 17.294, Erick Rudolph 17.440, Gary Lindburg 17.584, Scott Kerwin 17.605, Danny Johnson 17.658, Ryan Susice 17.664, Chad Brachmann 17.674, Pete Bicknell 17.686, Tyler McPherson 17.720, Jeff McGinnis 17.720, Rick Richner 17.757, Randy Chrysler 17.767, Mike Bowman 17.808, Robbie Krull 17.851, Joey Ladouceur 17.859, Lance Willix 17.918, Scott George 17.925, Michael Maresca 17.950, Todd Gordon 17.968, Nick Joy 18.073, Allan Wills 18.156, John Smith 18.227, Phil Vigneri III 18.350, Steve Schumacher 18.376, Jim Zimmerman 18.844, Russ Zimmerman 19.523, Dave Flannigan Jr-No time, Tommy Flannigan-No time.

Super DIRTcar 358 Modified Series (75)_ERICK RUDOLPH, Danny Johnson, Pete Bicknell, Scott Kerwin, Gary Lindberg, Scott George, Ryan Suscie, Chad Brachmann, Robbie Krull, Tommy Flannigan, Mike Bowman, Allan Wills, Lance Willix, Randy Chrysler, Phil Vigneri III, Rich Richner, Kenny Wills, Steve Schumacher, Joey Ladouceur, Michel Maresca, Dave Flannigan Jr, Nick Joy, Tyler McPherson, Todd Gordon, John Smith, Jim Zimmerman, Jeff McGinnis, Russ Zimmerman. Heat Winners: Kenny Wills, Gary Lindberg, Erick Rudolph.

Investors Service Company Sportsman (25)_KEVIN WILLS, James Henry, Matt Farnham, Sandy Pembleton, Mike Williams, Greg Martin, Steve Lewis Jr, Dave DiPietro, Derrick Borkenhagen, Don Spatorico, Austin Susice, Jesse Cotriss, Sean Letts, AJ Custodi, Chris Burek, Noah Walker, Billy Coleman, Brett Senek, Brett Martin. Heat Winners: Brett Senek, Mike Williams, Kevin Wills.

Gippsters Collision Four Bangers (12)_ CHRIS LEONE, Mike Pahl, Pat O’Keefe, Steve Matson, Anthony Guthrie, Matt Hornquist, Dave Dussault, Chad Lederhouse, Orval Harris, Ashley Harbison, Mike Kramarz, Matt Foster, Ryan Plante, Anthony Hermanson, Jose Torres. Heat Winners: Chad Lederhouse, Ashley Harbison.

Bangers and Van Raine Construction Novice Sportsman. Pit gates will open at 5pm while the grandstands will open at 6pm. The first heat race will be on the track at 7:15pm. Warm-ups will begin at 6:45pm.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter