Bloomquist Best in Toyota Knoxville 50 at Tazewell!

TAZEWELL, TN (June 3, 2012) – Two-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN led all 50-laps of tonight’s Toyota Knoxville 50 at Tazewell Speedway. Bloomquist completed a sweep of the night’s racing activities. He started out by setting a new track record in time trials, winning his heat, and taking his third LOLMDS win of the season. He earned $10,000 for the victory.

Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN gave chase to Bloomquist for most of the race as he wound up in second followed by Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, TN, John Blankenship of Williamson, WV and Ear Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL.

“The car was just phenomenal tonight,” said Bloomquist, who earned his 45th career win on the LOLMDS tour. “The Roush Yates Racing Engine ran perfect and the car handled so well, right from hot laps on. I want to thank my crew, sponsors, and everybody with my race team. Hopefully we can get on a roll again.”

“The traffic is always an issue here, we ran up on some cars and I backed off the throttle a little. I didn’t know how close Don (O’Neal) was, but I had to be careful. I want to thank Bob and Barb Miller, they are here tonight and they have been long supporters of us. I want to also thank Hawkeye Trucking, Base Racing Fuel, Lucas Oil Products, Optima Batteries, Sweet Mfg, Ohlins, Weld Racing, and Lane Automotive.”

Bloomquist held a good-sized lead for most of the race, as only two cautions slowed the event. On each restart, Bloomquist pulled away from the field. O’Neal tried to track Bloomquist down in the final laps but ran out of time. Ogle briefly held the second-spot after the first restart, but O’Neal eventually got him back, and chased down the leader.

Rounding out the top ten were; Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA; Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN; Steve Francis of Ashland, KY; Vic Hill of Mosheim, TN; and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set a blistering pace in Red Buck Cigars Time Trials and clocking a New Track Record, 10.822 seconds. Heat races were taken by: Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, and John Blankenship.

The series will take a couple weekends off and return to action on Friday and Saturday Night’s June 22nd and 23rd at Cherokee Speedway and Wythe Raceway. Both events will pay $10,000-to-win and feature Red Buck Cigars Time Trials, Heats, B-Mains, and 50-Lap Main Events. For more information, log onto www.cherokeespeedway.com and www.wytheraceway.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and be sure to follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Sunday Night, June 3rd, 2012
Toyota Knoxville 50
Tazewell Speedway – Tazewell, TN

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time:
Scott Bloomquist / 10.822 seconds (Group A and Overall) ***New Track Record***
John Blankenship / 11.073 seconds (Group B)

Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (10 Laps): Scott Bloomquist, Billy Ogle, Vic Hill, Steve Francis, Ray Cook, Brad Neat, Rick Rogers, Tyler Reddick-DNS

U. S. Steel Second Heat (10 Laps): Don O’Neal, Jonathan Davenport, Jared Landers, Eric Wells, Austin Hubbard, Dennis Erb, Jr., Mike Weeks

Simpson Performance Products Third Heat (10 Laps): John Blankenship, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jimmy Owens, Steve Smith, Bryan Hendrix, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Jason Trammell