Archive for the ‘Series News’ Category

DIRTcar stars honored at 2014 Champions Banquet

(Dick Ayers Photo) LIVERPOOL, N.Y. – November 23, 2014 – The brightest DIRTcar Racing stars of the Northeast region gathered at the Holiday Inn Saturday to receive championship awards and other accolades during the annual Champions Banquet. Big Block Modified star Billy Decker took home the championship trophy for the Super DIRTcar Big Block Modified Series, finishing out the season with a mere six-point lead over Matt Sheppard after November’s races at The Dirt Track at Charlotte. “Part of the measure of an award is the competition, and I really have a lot of respect for my fellow competitors,” said…More

Rossi & Hagen are Western World Champs

By LONNIE WHEATLEY PEORIA, Ariz. (November 22, 2014) – The 47th Annual Sands Chevrolet Western World Championships concluded in wild fashion with Matt Rossi and Darren Hagen posting what could be both classified as “upset” wins in Saturday night’s finale atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval. Rossi scored a popular hometown win with a stunning drive to victory lane in the USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast Sprint Car main event while Darren Hagen struck his first blow of the year in Honda USAC National Midget action with the triumph. Rossi and Hagen both pocketed $7,500 for their…More

Bell & Bernal Bag Friday Western World Wins

By LONNIE WHEATLEY PEORIA, Ariz. (November 21, 2014) – Action at the 47th Annual Sands Chevrolet Western World Championships continued with Christopher Bell and Ryan Bernal snaring wins in Friday night action atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval. Bernal dominated the 30-lap USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast Sprint Car feature for his second win in as many nights while Bell earned his 26th overall win of the year in the 30-lap Honda USAC National Midget main event. A $7,500 winner’s share is up for grabs in both portions of Saturday night’s Western World Championships finale. USAC Southwest…More

Hines & Bernal Best in Western World Opener!

By LONNIE WHEATLEY PEORIA, Ariz. (November 20, 2014) – Tracy Hines and Ryan Bernal kicked off the 47th Annual Sands Chevrolet Western World Championships by racing to victory lane in Thursday night’s main events atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park. Bernal fought off a late challenge from 18th-starter Bryan Clauson to win the 30-lap USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast Sprint Car feature while Hines took top honors in the 30-lap Honda USAC National Midget main event. A full field of both Midgets and Sprint Cars will be back in action on Friday night with the top eight in combined…More

A look at the final statistics of the 2014 World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series Season 

CONCORD, N.C. – Nov. 17, 2014 – The 2014 World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series season drew to a close at World Finals. Daryn Pittman and Brian Brown scored the final two wins of the year as Donny Schatz wrapped up his sixth series championship. From the end of full-time Outlaws competition for two legends, Steve Kinser and Sammy Swindell, to the first wins of seven different drivers, the 2014 season is defined in part by the numbers. 11,236 – the number of points Steve Kinser scored during his 1991 championship run – the previous record for the most…More

Woodhull Raceway To Host Short Track Super Series Fueled By Hi-Tek Event On Aug. 11, 2015; ‘Hustlin The High Banks 51’ To Celebrate 51-Year Woodhull History Paying $5,100 To Win

WOODHULL, NY – Quite possibly the richest event in the storied 51-year history of Woodhull Raceway has been set for Tuesday, Aug. 11 (rain date: Aug. 12). For the first time, the traveling Short Track Super Series Fueled By Hi-Tek will head west to the high banks of Ted White’s Woodhull Raceway. The inaugural ‘Hustlin the High Banks 51’ will reward big-block/small-block Modified competitors with a hefty $5,100 to the winner, with $1,000 reserved for 10th and $400 just to take the green flag. There will be lap money, bonus cash and a long list of contingency awards up for…More

Protest Overturned: Jason Johnson Declared 2014 Lucas Oil ASCS National Champion!

TULSA, Okla. (November 18, 2014) After the legality of the Spec Heads utilized by Jason Johnson during the 2014 season finale at the Cocopah Speedway in Yuma, Ariz. on Saturday, November 15, 2014 was brought into question by formal protest, a review by Brodix, who is the primary manufacturer of the ASCS Spec Cylinder Head, has revealed the Heads to be within the rules set forth by the American Sprint Car Series, and have deemed Jason Johnson the 2014 Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series National Champion. Following the protest by Jeff Swindell, who finished the 2014 season 15 points…More

2014 NCRA Late Model Season Review; Berck on Top!

Park City, Kansas – November 16, 2014 – Kyle Berck of Marquette, Nebraska made his full-time return to the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products late model division a profitable one as he claimed four feature victories on his way to his third career series championship. The 2014 race season opened on April 19th when the tour made their first appearance since 2007 at the famed Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kansas where it was Berck picking up the $2000 victory. Travis Dickes, Eric Main, Mike Wiarda and Tad Pospisil were the top…More

Clauson Cashes In Again at CSP in USAC HOF Classic Finale!

By LONNIE WHEATLEY PEORIA, Ariz. (November 15, 2014) – Bryan Clauson has become beyond familiar with the route to victory lane at Canyon Speedway. The Noblesville, IN, racer made his way down that path once again by topping Saturday night’s 30-lap main event at the 14th Annual Hose Advantage Hall of Fame Classic that put the wraps on the 2014 USAC Amsoil National Sprint Car campaign. “I love Canyon Speedway Park,” Clauson exclaimed in victory lane of the 1/3-mile clay oval that he earned ten wins at in 2013 alone. The two-time USAC Sprint Car champion fought off Brady Bacon…More

Shane Stewart on top at Cocopah with Lucas Oil ASCS

YUMA, Ariz. (November 15, 2014) The final night of the 2014 season for the Lucas Oil American Sprint presented by MAVTV American Real saw Oklahoma’s Shane Stewart capture the night’s $10,000 victory at the Cocopah Speedway. Shane’s first victory at the Arizona oval, the two-time National Champion is the 19th winner of the season for Stewart’s 29th career victory with the Lucas Oil ASCS. Taking the lead from Danny Wood on Lap 4, the Scottie McDonald owned No. 88 found traffic before the tenth circuit. Taking a decent lead into traffic, Stewart found all lines blocked, allowing Danny Wood to…More