Archive for the ‘Track News’ Category

5-25’s Fall to Strunk, Umbenhauer, Drevicki, Michael and Spidle on Saturday

(Joe Kaminski Photo) BECHTELSVILLE, PA – The 114th race of the twenty-five year history of the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series played out Saturday night at the Grandview Speedway with the popular House of Thunder Halloween Party and the Grandview Thunder 5-25’s, a features only event. Jeff Strunk collected $3,000 for winning the 358 NASCAR Modified feature as Jared Umbenhauer took the win the Sportsman feature. Steve Drevicki won the ARDC Midget feature as Curt Michael charged from tenth to win the URC feature. Chris Spidle was the winner of the Legends feature. With over one-hundred…More

Laubach Comes from 11th to Win DIS Big Block Stat Championship

By CHARLIE BROWN DELMAR, DE – The large crowd on hand were treated to some great racing on Saturday night as the 2014 season at the Delaware International Speedway wrapped up with the $60,000 Delaware State Dirt Track Championships. Rick Laubach of Quakertown, Pa. drove from his 11th starting spot to win the 50-lap Big Block Modified finale. The biggest upset of the two day championships was pulled off by Milton, Delaware’s Rob Schirmer taking the lead coming off the final turn in the 50-lap Super Late Model feature to win the biggest race of his career. Jamie Mills had…More

Haas, Eichelberger, Foster And Kline Close Williams Grove Season With Fall Fest Wins

MECHANICSBURG, PA – Cory Haas won the season finale 410 sprint car main as part of Fall Fest 2014 on Saturday night at Williams Grove Speedway while other winners in the features-only program were Rich Eichelberger, 358 sprints; Gregg Foster, super sportsman; and Ron Kline, 358 late models. Following the racing program, track title laurels were handed out to the champion sprint car teams including Greg Hodnett and car owner Mike Heffner in the 410 division and Kevin Nouse in the 358 division. The top teams in both divisions also received their trophies and point fund payoffs. Special awards in…More

Bunting Scores $5,260 Payday in Rare Small Block Run at DIS

By CHARLIE BROWN DELMAR, DE – The Small Block Modifieds only compete once a year at the Delaware International Speedway and that is during the Delaware State Dirt Track Championships. Since the division was added in 1986 only two weekly racers (Ricky Elliott in 1996 and H.J. Bunting in 2005) have won the event. On Friday night of the two night Delaware Dirt Track Championships Bunting’s team made the right choices with their setup and the Milford, Del. resident drove to his second Fall Championship win. Bunting earned $5000 for the win, $235 in lap leader money and $25 from…More

“Super” Matt Sheppard Wins $5,285 at Penn Can Speedway ‘King of the Can’

(Scott Seward Photo) SUSQUEHANNA, PA – The illustrious career of Matt Sheppard has included high-profile victories and championships. On Friday night at Penn Can Speedway, Sheppard sat on the “throne” as racing royalty. Sheppard, 32, of Waterloo, N.Y., annexed his first-ever ‘King of the Can’ conquest, topping the 50-lap big-block/small-block Modified event in dominant fashion driving the Norm Hansell-owned No. 357. ‘Super Matt’ collected $5,285 including lap money and a $100 winner’s bonus posted by Simplicity Design, plus the unique “toilet trophy” that has become signature at Penn Can’s year-end event. The win was his first-ever on Penn Can’s tricky…More

Stratton Crowned “King of the Clay” in Popular Upset at Devil’s Bowl Speedway

(MemorEvents Photos) WEST HAVEN, VT – Neil Stratton scored a major upset on Sunday night at Devil’s Bowl Speedway to become the winner of the inaugural “King of the Clay” race for Big Block and Small Block Modified stock cars. The Bennington, VT driver persevered through rough track conditions, then seized a golden opportunity to steal the win and the $5,000 top prize at the “Battle at the Bowl” dirt track series. Six-time Devil’s Bowl champion Kenny Tremont, Jr. looked the part of a winner early, posting the fastest time trial speed and handily winning his qualifying heat. He took…More

Hawkins Scores First Career BB Mod Win at Delaware

By CHARLIE BROWN DELMAR, DE – The final point night of racing at the Delaware International Speedway that lasted into the early morning hours produced some wild and scary action and some new winners on Saturday night. Scoring his first career NAPA Big Block Modified win after many seasons of trying was Dale Hawkins. Joe Warren would avoid a vicious early race crash in the Super Late Models to post his first career win in the division three tight point battles were settled. In the 25-lap Big Block main, three cars had a mathematical chance at the championship at the…More

Rocky Warner Impressive Collecting Industrial Tire Of CNY Sportsman Championship At The Fulton Speedways Outlaw 200 Weekend

By DAVE MEDLER FULTON, NY – Seventy cars signed in the pits for the $2,500 to-win Industrial Tire Of CNY Sportsman Shootout Championship on Saturday of the 29th Annual Sunoco Fulton Ethanol Facility Outlaw 200 Weekend presented by SUNY Canton. It would take six heats, three consolations and two B-Mains to set the starting field for the exciting 50-Lap feature. In the feature Rocky Warner started from mid-pack of the 30 car starting field methodically working his way to second place by lap-17. Once there Warner worked over race long leader Corey Barker before taking the top-spot on a lap-24…More

Matt Sheppard Claims Outlaw 200 at Fulton

By DAVE MEDLER FULTON, NY – Matt Sheppard lived up to his nickname ‘Super Matt’ Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway winning his first ever Sunoco Fulton Ethanol Facility Outlaw 200 presented by SUNY Canton. Sheppard took the lead from early leader Billy Decker on lap-23 and from there would never give up the top-spot over the final 177 laps. “Finally! I was telling these guys (crew) this morning, I have never, ever had good luck in this race. I don’t even know how many times I finished it,” said an ecstatic Matt Sheppard after parking his FX Caprara Chevy/HBR/Mohawk…More

Caswell, Fleming, Dunn and Isabell All Post Victories Friday Night at Fulton

With rain showers delaying the show late into the morning, night one Modified heats were cancelled. Sportsman heats moved to Saturday. (PIT STOP CONVENIENCE STORES – GO-NUCLEAR LATE MODEL SERIES 50-LAPS) – DALE CASWELL, Alan Fink, AJ Kingsley, Charlie Sandercock, Rick Miller, Jason Knowles, Johnny Hill, Dustin Waters, Kevan Cook, Harry Halliday, Sean Beardsley, Kyle Sopaz, Brian Knowles, Aron Backus, Phil Potts, Bret Belden, Adam Turner, Greg Belyea, Caley Weese, David McDonald, Jason Occhino, Luke Carleton, Dave Talbot, Laslow Hollyfeld. (IMCA MODIFIEDS EMPIRE SERIES 25-LAPS) – CHRIS FLEMING, Keith Lamphere, James Cornell, Gary Smith, Gary Roberts, Craig Ward, Robert Keller…More