Friesen takes his turn in Utica Rome victory lane

VERNON, NY- Stewart Friesen continued to make his mark in the Utica-Rome Speedway history books with another win this past Sunday, his 34th overall, as he passed Richie Evans to claim sole possession of second place on the all time win list. Joining Friesen in victory lane on Gates-Cole Associates Inc. night was Tim Shaffer in the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champion 410 Sprints and Danny Varin in the CRSA Sprints.
Adam Roberts and Shannon Whaley brought the field to the green to start the Modified 30 lap feature event with Roberts the leader after the opening circuit. Todd Burley, from his fifth starting spot, marched to the point to lead the field by lap two with 11th place starter Larry Wight rocketing to the runner up spot by lap three. Wight immediately began to pressure Burley for the lead but Burley was up to the challenge as he continued to lead. With 10 complete, Burley continued to set the pace with Wight, Ryan Phelps, Casey Williams, and Mike Mahaney chasing.

Starting to make his presence felt at this point was ninth place starter Stewart Friesen as he cracked in the top on lap 11 and into the top three a lap later. A caution on lap 13 gave Friesen the opportunity he was looking as it put him on the bumpers of Burley and Wight on the restart. The restart saw Friesen charge by Burley and Wight and take over the lead on lap 14 with Burley bringing out the caution as his night was over. When green flag racing resumed again, Friesen resumed control of the field with Wight still in tow, but now point leader Mike Mahaney was now marching to the front. Lap 17 saw Mahaney slip by Wight to gain the second spot and set after Friesen. With 20 complete, Friesen was leading over Mahaney, Ryan Phelps, Wight, and Pat Ward.

Mahaney and Phelps both tried to close in on Friesen but there would no late race heroics this week as Friesen would become the seventh different winner in seven events at Utica-Rome Speedway. Mahaney, Phelps, Wight, and Ward would round out the top five positions. Filling out the top 10 spots was Alan Johnson, Mitch Gibbs, Jimmy Davis, Bill Trexler Jr., and Willy Decker.

See UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions and CRSA release for complete details of their events.

Next Sunday, June 17, Quality Manufacturing and Williams Fence of Central NY Inc. will present a regular show of Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and Pure Stocks. Gates will open at 3:30 p.m. with racing starting at 6 p.m.


MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (30 LAPS)- STEWART FRIESEN, Mike Mahaney, Ryan Phelps, Larry Wight, Pat Ward, Alan Johnson, Mitch Gibbs, Jimmy Davis, Bill Trexler Jr., Willy Decker, Brian Murphy, Casey Williams, Jason Rood, Adam Roberts, Shannon Whaley, Dave Moyer, Aaron Jacobs, Chris Busta, Al McCoy, Mark Flach Jr., Brad Alger, Steve Hulsizer, Ronnie Johnson, Matt Janczuk, and Todd Burley.

UNOH ALL STAR CIRCUIT OF CHAMPIONS FEATURE FINISH (30 LAPS0- TIM SHAFFER, Jessica Zemken, Stevie Smith, Greg Hodnett, Tony Stewart, David Gravel, Cap Henry, Daryn Pittman, Paul McMahan, Paul Kinney, Fred Rahmer, Shawn Donath, Pete Miller III, Chuck Hebing, Frank Cozze, Davey Sammons, Glenn Styres, George Suprick, Kevin Ward Jr., Cruz Pendregon, Dick Spadaro, Clinton Ide, Dale Blaney, and Justin Barger.

CRSA FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)- DANNY VARIN, Brittany Tresch, JR Hurlburt, Josh Pieniazek, Jeff VanSteenburg, Jamie Christian, Chad King, Scott Goodrich, Tommy Martocci, Warren Alexson, Tyler Chartrand, Frank Lieto, Fred Rahmer Jr., Dustin Purdy, Matt Priscott, Gary Palmer Jr., Emily VanInwegen, Jeremy Quick, John Matrafailo, Brett Jaycox, Dylan Swiernik, and Tyler Rice. DNS-Dalton Herrick and Mike Kiser.