Hodnett Brings DIRTcar Nationals Gator Trophy to Pennsylvania

BARBERVILLE, Fla. — Greg Hodnett dominated the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions feature Wednesday night at Volusia Speedway Park’s DIRTcar Nationals, and then Kyle Strickler held off Ty Dillon to capture the DIRTcar UMP Modified nightcap.

Hodnett, one of Pennsylvania’s fiercest competitors, quickly jumped out front while the rest of the field battled behind him. Hodnett kept up his pace on the high side as Danny Lasoski and Brad Sweet closed to finish second and third.

“I just tried to drive the wheels off of it,” said Hodnett, of Thomasville, Pa. “Fortunately my guys gave me a great racecar to take advantage of a front row starting spot. It doesn’t happen very often so we’ll try to do everything we can to take advantage of it and it worked out for us.

“I was hand-over-hand a couple of times in traffic … when you can’t run your own line you’re trying to do things. It was a little bit of a handful up on the cushion trying to slide guys and do everything. Fortunately for us it worked out and I got one of these beautiful gator trophies.”

All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series A-Main (30 Laps) –1. (1) 27-Greg Hodnett [1] ($5;000); 2. 2L-Danny Lasoski [2]; 3. 49-Brad Sweet [7]; 4. 51-Paul McMahan [3]; 5. 29-Kerry Madsen [4]; 6. 9-Daryn Pittman [13]; 7. 83-David Gravel [15]; 8. 14K-Dale Blaney [5]; 9. 41-Jason Johnson [14]; 10. 7S-Jason Sides [6]; 11. 11-Steve Kinser [16]; 12. 15-Donny Schatz [11]; 13. 7-Craig Dollansky [21]; 14. 10H-Chad Kemenah [17]; 15. 71M-Joey Saldana [8]; 16. 4-Cody Darrah [19]; 17. 59-Danny Holtgraver [22]; 18. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr. [18]; 19. 1-Lucas Wolfe [12]; 20. 63-Kody Swanson [10]; 21. 98H-Dave Blaney [9]; 22. 4S-Danny Smith [20]; 23. 45-Tim Shaffer [23]; 24. 77X-Wayne Johnson [24]. Hard Charger: 83-David Gravel [+8]