Tyler Siri Bests I-88 Field on Friday

In just his third race at I-88 Speedway, Tyler Siri found the way to Victory Lane after methodically reeling in veteran Modified competitor Arnie Slade in the Modified feature on Chambers and O’Hara Night. Slade seemed to have the race under control after taking the lead from pole sitter Rodney Hart on lap four and pulling away from the field. Under the extended green flag period, Slade opened up a full straightaway lead over Hart and third running Siri. At the half way point Slade began to encounter lapped traffic with Siri pressuring Hart for second. On lap 18 Siri slipped under Hart on the back stretch to take over the runner up spot.
Siri gradually cut the gap to Slade and on lap 27 took over the lead coming off turn two. Slade crossed the line second with Tim Currier third, J.R. Hurlburt fourth and Brett Tonkin fifth.
Billy Spoonhower took the lead at the start of the 20 lap Chambers and O’Hara Sportsmen feature with front row partner Gary Card Jr. second. Travis Smith, running a crate engine, slipped into second when Card tagged an implement tire in turn four on lap 5.
Thirteenth starting Charlie Hendrickson Jr. broke into the top three on lap seven, shuffling Card to third. And moved into second one lap later. The caution flew on lap ten when Todd Hurlburt spun in turn four. Nick Petrilak broke into the top five on lap 11 and by lap 14 had moved into third place. Also on lap 14 Hendrickson was passed Spoonhower for the lead.
At the checkers it was Hendrickson taking his second consecutive win with Petrilak second, Harold Humphrey third, Nick Nye fourth and Spoonhower fifth. Hendrickson’s win would be short lived as he failed to make weight when crossing the scales giving the win to Petrilak and moving the rest of the field up one spot in the finishing order giving Alan Barker a fifth place finish.
Matt Robert’s bad luck in the 2013 season paid off in a pole position start for the 20 lap Vernoy’s Automotive Excellence IMCA Modified 20 lap feature. Roberts took the lead at the drop of the green but would soon be challenged by last week’s feature winner James Cornell with Cornell taking over the top spot on a lap six restart.
After a three caution periods on laps seven and eight the race restarted with Cornell in front, Roberts in second and Nick Griest in third. By the half way point, Cornell had opened a three car length advantage over Roberts and Griest who were running nose to tail racing for second. The top three had pulled away to a full straightaway lead over fourth place Dan Burman.
The race would go green the remaining laps with Cornell picking up his second win of the season. Roberts finished second with Griest third, Burman fourth and Bump Scutt fifth.
The Olum’s Street Stock 20 lap feature came down to a battle between defending track champion Rich Green and Kurt Decker. Former track champion Nick Robinson, returning to I-88 Speedway after Dunn Hill II failed to open for the 2013 season, started on the pole and took the lead at the drop of the green flag. Robinson held on to the lead until lap 8 when Dustin Harris took over the top spot using the outside lane coming off turn two. Harris would lead until lap 13 when Decker would take over the top spot coming off turn four. The caution came out when Harris came to a stop in turn three.
The race restarted with Decker leading, Robinson in second and Rich Green in third. On lap 16 Green slid under Robinson to take over second and two laps later Green would pass Decker for the lead. A caution on lap 18 set up a two lap shoot out with Green coming home the winner, Decker crossed the line second with Doug Polhamus third, Robinson fourth and Bob Mills fifth.
In the Jim’s Auto Repair 4 Cylinder division held over feature from April 12 Scott Chapman’s straightaway lead went up in flames when his ride caught fire on lap 9 handing the win to Rob Nober. Finishing second was Duane Kinne with Ted Smith third, Bob Crandall fourth and Todd Stanton fifth.
Duane Kinne and Dustin Wilber put on a classic battle for the win in the scheduled main event for the Four Cylinder division. Running wheel to wheel for the last half of the race, neither drive was able to pull away to any advantage. Kinne was the first car across the line with Wilber second, Bob Crandall third, Rob Nober fourth and Ted Smith fifth. Post race inspection of Kinne’s car resulted in Wilber being declared the winner and the remaining drivers moving up one spot in the official finish, putting last week’s feature winner Tim Vandermark in fifth.
In the fifteen lap Empire Sport Truck feature, Mike Springstead grabbed his second win of the season over Chris Sherman, Curt Sherman, Pete Christiensen and Wayne Van Dusen Jr.
Chambers and O’Hara Notes
Chambers and O’Hara Sponsored the night’s events with each feature winning driver receiving a pit pass for next week’s action at I-88 Speedway. They also provided door prizes for seven lucky fans.
Scott Chapman was uninjured in the fire that broke out in his car during the rained out 4 Cylinder feature, but returned with his backup car for the second event.
Third generation driver Shawn Boynton took the win in the Street Stock Mechanic’s race. He will be taking over the ride in the Boynton owned 3L Street Stock in 2014.
In Victory Lane Tyler Siri stated that he was running a big block engine on Friday night and felt that it may have been better to have had a small block.
IMCA drivers Mike Wilmot and Will Ward swapped cars during the week with Ward getting the car that Don Newell drove in 2012.
Next week the CRSA Sprints will be making their first appearance of the 2013 season. The 4 Cylinder divisions will have the night off.
I-88 Speedway Results from May 3, 2013
Chambers and O’Hara Night
Newbauer Construction Modified Feature 30 Laps: Tyler Siri, Arnie Slade, Tim Currier, J.R. Hurlburt, Brett Tonkin, Mike Clapperton, Jim Gabriel Jr., Shaun Walker, Rodney Hart, Mitch Gibbs, Brad Alger, Dom Roselli, Don Hart Jr., Mike Mahaney, Paul Jensen, Matt Latwinski, Darwin Greene, Tim Mayne, Darren Schuler, Dana Wagner
Chambers and O’Hara Sportsmen Feature 20 Laps: Nick Petrilak, Harold Humphrey, Nick Nye, Billy Spoonhower, Alan Barker, Adam Smith, Butch Klinger, Brandon Walters, Travis Smith, Kevin Coons, Dave Smith, Cory Pike, Aaron Shelton, Skip Pickwick, Todd Hurlburt, Gary Card Jr., P.J. Goodwin, Wade Johnson, Dwayne Jackson, Charlie Hendrickson Jr. (Charlie Hendrickson Jr. was first across the line but was penalized for being underweight. Travis Smith won the 602 Crate Bonus)
Vernoy’s Automotive Excellence IMCA Modified Feature 20 Laps: James Cornell, Matt Roberts, Nick Griest, Dan Burman, Bump Scutt, Tyler Stoddard, Gary Smith, Gary Roberts, Mike Stoddard, Brian Steigerwald, Billy Ward, Mike Wilmot, Matt Cole, Ken Winn, Will Ward
Olum’s Street Stocks 20 Lap Feature: Rich Green, Kurt Decker, Doug Polhamus, Nick Robinson, Bob Mills, Dave Cronk, Steve Polhamus, Jim Gould, Paul Harrington, Brian Mills, Ralph Cuozzo, Dustin Harris, Jake Fowlston
Jim’s Auto Repair Four Cylinder Feature 20 Laps (Make up from April 12) Rob Nober, Duane Kinne, Ted Smith, Bob Crandall, Todd Stanton, Dustin Wilber, Tim Vandermark, Chad Walters, Levi Havens, Rob Byam, Dave Jaindl, Scott Chapman DNS: Buddy French
Jim’s Auto Repair Four Cylinder Feature 20 Laps: Dustin Wilber, Bob Crandall, Rob Nober, Ted Smith, Tim Vandermark, Todd Stanton, Chad Walters, Dave Jaindl, Scott Chapman, Levi Havens, Rob Byam, Ryan Lanfair, Duane Kinne.DNS: Buddy French (Duane Kinne was first across the line but was penalized after a post race technical inspection)
Empire Sport Trucks Feature 15 Laps: Mike Springstead, Chris Sherman, Curt Sherman, Pete Christiensen, Wayne Van Dusen Jr., Brandon Clapperton, Shane Lanfair, Bill Cooper DNS: Rick Wagner