Dykstra Sweeps Action Sprint Tour Weekend at Humberstone

Action Sprint Tour - Jacob Dykstra

PORT COLBORNE, ON – Jacob Dykstra swept the Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s portion of All-Canadian Championship weekend at Humberstone Speedway.

Curtis Gartly and Eric Gledhill made up the front row for Friday’s 25 lap A-Main, but the race was quickly halted for a crash in the first turn which took out Steven Beckett and Derek Miller. Following the red flag and another minor yellow flag, the race went green the rest of the way. Curtis Gartly led the first 15 laps, but row four starter Jacob Dykstra moved steadily through the field and made the winning move in traffic. The win was worth $1,500 thanks to Sundance Restaurant Services.

Allan Downey moved up to take the runner-up spot, followed by Gartly, Gledhill, and Brett Stratford. Dereck Lemyre, Terry Baker, Darren Dryden, Jesse Costa, and Lucas Smith rounded out the top ten. Heat race wins were claimed by Dereck Lemyre, Lucas Smith, Jacob Dykstra, and Allan Downey, while Johnny Miller won the B-Main.

Ryan Fraser and Rob Neely made up the front row for Saturday’s 25 lap feature, but Fraser only led one lap before Dykstra took over. Steven Beckett moved steadily through the field to take the runner-up spot from row five, followed by Fraser, Neely, and Allan Downey.

The win kept Dykstra undefeated in 2021, and was worth $5,000 thanks to Sundance Restaurant Services. Tyeller Powless, Curtis Gartly, Ryan Fraser, and Jacob Dykstra claimed heat race wins, while Derek Miller won the B-Main.

The Action Sprint Tour will next be in competition on Friday, August 6 at Merrittville Speedway. Visit www.actionsprinttour.com and www.merrittvillespeedway.com for more information.

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps – NT
1. 56-Dereck Lemyre[3]; 2. 7-Eric Gledhill[2]; 3. 45L-Curtis Gartly[7]; 4. 08-Steven Beckett[6]; 5. 38-Derek Miller[8]; / 6. 48-Lance Erskine[4]; 7. 45-Nick Sheridan[5]; 8. (DNF) 94-Ryan Fraser[1]

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps – 2:07.150
1. 49L-Lucas Smith[2]; 2. 26X-Terry Baker[1]; 3. BS39-Brett Stratford[7]; 4. 31-Dale Curran[3]; 5. 4-Jesse Costa[6]; / 6. 20-Johnny Miller[8]; 7. 69-Joshua Hill[4]; 8. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[5]

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps – 2:04.429
1. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[5]; 2. 12DD-Darren Dryden[1]; 3. 5-DJ Christie[2]; 4. 50LS-Adrian Stahle[6]; 5. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[7]; / 6. 51-Trevor Young[8]; 7. 14-Larry Gledhill[4]; 8. 77T-Tyler Powless[3]

Heat Race 4 [Started] 8 laps – 2:12.514
1. 19D-Allan Downey[3]; 2. 14T-Noelle Teal[1]; 3. MK8-Matt Hill[2]; 4. 70M&M-Dave McKnight Jr[4]; 5. 74-Rob Neely[7]; / 6. 84-Dan Ferguson[6]; 7. 3S-Austin Roes[5]

B-Main [Started] 12 laps – 3:19.747
1. 20-Johnny Miller[1]; 2. 84-Dan Ferguson[3]; 3. 45-Nick Sheridan[5]; 4. 3S-Austin Roes[6]; / 5. 48-Lance Erskine[4]; 6. 51-Trevor Young[2]; 7. 69-Joshua Hill[7]; 8. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[9]; 9. 94-Ryan Fraser[11]; 10. 14-Larry Gledhill[8]; 11. 77T-Tyler Powless[10]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps – NT
1. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[8]; 2. 19D-Allan Downey[4]; 3. 45L-Curtis Gartly[1]; 4. 7-Eric Gledhill[2]; 5. BS39-Brett Stratford[5]; 6. 56-Dereck Lemyre[3]; 7. 26X-Terry Baker[6]; 8. 12DD-Darren Dryden[9]; 9. 4-Jesse Costa[20]; 10. 49L-Lucas Smith[7]; 11. 45-Nick Sheridan[23]; 12. 50LS-Adrian Stahle[11]; 13. 74-Rob Neely[17]; 14. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[16]; 15. 70M&M-Dave McKnight Jr[18]; 16. 31-Dale Curran[19]; 17. 84-Dan Ferguson[22]; 18. 14T-Noelle Teal[10]; 19. 5-DJ Christie[14]; 20. 20-Johnny Miller[21]; 21. 3S-Austin Roes[24]; 22. MK8-Matt Hill[15]; 23. (DNF) 08-Steven Beckett[12]; 24. (DNF) 38-Derek Miller[13]
A-Main Lap Leaders – Curtis Gartly 1-15; Jacob Dykstra 16-25
Margin of Victory – 6.312 seconds
Hard Charger – Nick Sheridan +12