Heywood Aces Late Restart For Sportsman Win

PLATTSBURGH, NY – Nick Heywood aced two late race restarts to collect his first win in the Poirier’s True Value Sportsman Modified feature at Airborne Park Speedway.

Heywood, who started in position twelve, made the pass for the lead on the outside of Patrick Picotin on a lap-21 restart. Heywood would drive to a 5 car length lead before a yellow flag slowed the pace on lap-23. With lane choice for the green-white- checkered finish, Heywood selected the outside and worked the cushion to a victory.

“I was glad to have lane choice,” Heywood said. “It was slick down low in the middle of the
turns, so I was hoping to get him (Picotin) to spin the tires.”

Picotin held on to the second spot at the finish line. Jamy Begor, Bucko Branham finished in the third and fourth positions.

Apparent fifth place finisher, Justin Severance failed post-race technical inspection and Lonnie Rivers was placed fifth.

Steve Bernier collected his first win of the 2018 racing season on board his number 25 machine in the Egglefield Ford 358- Modified division.

Bernier started second on the grid with the heads-up lineup. Chris Raabe started on point and dropped to the second spot. Todd Stone, Matt Woodruff and Danny Bilodeau completed the top five.

Shawn Duquette won the Ernie’s Discount Tools Super Stock feature event in his first start of the season. Tony Salerno and Metal Man completed the podium, with Michael Wright and Jim McKiernan finishing fourth and fifth, respectively.

Zach Wood made it back to back victories in the Mini-Mod division. Wood took advantage of hislucky draw at the pit gate and led all the way. Cam Gadue and Josh LaPorte completed the top three.

Shawn Walker was the only other driver to remain two for two on the season with his win in theStrictly Stock feature. Caleb Tourville and Matthew Lapan finished in the second and third spots.

Racing action resumes next weekend at 6 p.m. for a night of racing action presented by
Garrand’s Motorsports. For more information and full results, visit airborneparkspeedway.com or on

Facebook at Airborne Park Speedway.