Saturday Racing Presented by Plattsburgh Ford & My Cup of Tea

PLATTSBURGH, NY – Another Saturday night of dirt track racing action is scheduled for this weekend at Airborne Park Speedway.

All five of Airborne’s regular racing divisions will be in action, including the Egglefield Ford 358-Modifieds, Poirier’s True Value Sportsman Modifieds, Ernie’s Discount Tools Super Stocks, Mini-Mods and Strictly Stocks. Regular distance events will be run for all divisions with post time slated for 7 p.m.

The 7 p.m. post is one hour later than the originally scheduled post time. Speedway officials have made the decision to move the post time in an effort to provide better racing conditions. With the later start, all opening times will be pushed back an hour, as the grandstands will now open at 5 p.m.

In addition, the 358-Modifieds will compete in a 358-Trophy Dash. The dash will feature five cars, five laps for $500 to win.

Admission prices are set at $12 for adults with kids ages 12 and under free of charge.
Last weekend, Coleman Gulick led every lap of the Empire Super Sprints 25-lap main event.

It wasn’t easy for Gulick though, as he ran into heavy lap traffic on lap-20, which allowed Steve Poirier to pull even on the inside of turns three and four. Gulick took action and began working the top of the track to pull away.

Jason Barney rallied in the final five laps to pass Poirier and finish in the second spot. Poirier, Paulie Colagiovanni and Mike Mahaney completed the top five.
Bloomingdale’s Matt Woodruff collected his first win of the season in the 358-Modified division.

Woodruff started outside the front row and held off challenges from Chris Raabe and Steve Bernier. Woodruff’s smallest lead was three car lengths over Bernier in the middle stages of the 30-lap race and he went on to win by 10 car lengths.

Bernier, Raabe, Todd Stone and George Foley completed the top five.

Ricky Thompson picked up his first win of the season in the Sportsman Modified division.

Thompson took the lead on lap-17 by working the rim around the top of the track. Devin Willis closed in the final laps, but ran out of time in the 25-lap event.

Bucko Branham completed the podium with Jason Bruno and Justin Severance finishing fourth and fifth, respectively.

Tylor Terry became the first repeat winner in the Super Stock division. Terry worked under Michael Wright off turn two to take the lead for good. Jim McKiernan and Brent Jarvis completed the top three.

Jordan Poirier took home the victory for the Quebec Lightning Sprint feature event. Poirier made the winning pass on a lap-17 restart. Mathieu Bardier and Xavier Lauzon finished in the top three.

For more information, visit or on Facebook at Airborne Park Speedway.