Bernier, LaFountain Score Wins at Airborne

PLATTSBURGH, NY – Jamie LaFountain collected his second victory of the season in the Poirier’s True Value Sportsman Modified division at Airborne Park Speedway on Saturday.

A lap-23 yellow pinned LaFountain and Jamy Begor side by side for a green-white-checkered restart. The two raced together until LaFountain gained position coming to the white flag off turn four and led the remaining half mile.

“The outside was the place to be,” LaFountain said. “We were hooked up tonight!”
Begor held on for second, while Patrick Picotin completed the podium position. Dylan Rabtoy and Cory McCoy finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

The Egglefield Ford 358-Modifieds raced green to checkered in their 30-lap feature.
Steve Bernier made the pass for the win on lap-25, while slicing through lapped. Leader at the time, Chris Raabe was running the high side, but Bernier made the inside work in turns one and two for his fourth win of the season.

“We are first in points here at Airborne and Granby,” Bernier said. “We are having a great year.” Raabe, Dany Gagné, Jessey Mueller and Marc Johnson finished in positions two through five.

Jim McKiernan won for the second time in 2018 in the Ernie’s Discount Tools Super Stock
division. Josh Terry and Michael Wright finished in the top three, with Joe Daniels and Brent Jarvis completing the top five.

Dave Demore picked up his second win of the season in the Mini-Mod division, while Michael Daniels won his first race this year in the Strictly Stock division.

Racing action resumes next weekend with a Military Night celebration and all five regular racing divisions in action. For more information visit or on Facebook at Airborne Park Speedway.

EGGLEFIELD FORD 358-MODIFIEDS (30 LAPS): STEVE BERNIER, Chris Raabe, Dany Gagné, Jessey Mueller, Marc Johnson, Matt Woodruff, Preston Forbes, Travis Bruno, Greg Atkins, Roger Labreche, George Foley, Ryan McLean, Jack Lehner

POIRIER’S TRUE VALUE SPORTSMAN (25 LAPS): JAMIE LAFOUNTAIN, Jamy Begor, Patrick Picotin, Dylan Rabtoy, Cory McCoy, Nick Heywood, Lonnie Rivers, Chris Cayea, Bucko Branham, Codie Aubin, Rico Hernandez, Jason Bruno, Devin Willis, Travis Billington, Mike Fisher, David Bourgeois, Chris Frennier, Jason McClatchie, Wayne Sterns, Jake Branham, Delbert Legrow, Ricky Thompson, Mike Phinney