Danny Varin shocks All Stars for $10,000 victory at Utica-Rome Speedway

VERNON, NY – Night two in the Empire State resulted in another non-stop main event for the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1, but unlike one night prior at Dundee’s Outlaw Speedway, it was one of New York’s finest, Danny Varin, who conquered competition at Utica-Rome Speedway in Vernon, New York, scoring a $10,000 payday for his first-ever Series victory. Varin, who started from the pole position, led every circuit of the 30-lap contest, driving off nearly uncontested except for periods of heavy traffic, and an early race threat by Kerry Madsen.

“Sunshine” Tyler Courtney battled home to finish second, followed by All Star championship contender and Rudeen Racing ace, Zeb Wise, Stewart Friesen, and Kerry Madsen.

“I’m just at a loss for words right now…I’m on cloud nine,” Danny Varin, who resides in Sharon Springs, New York, explained. “We’ve made some recent changes to this car and it’s really paid off. This is huge for this team. Just a dream come true for everyone involved. Hats off to all of the fans who packed this place, and to the track crew and staff. I’m not sure there’s a better track in New York right now.”

As noted, Vermeer Motorsports’ Kerry Madsen did have the opportunity to apply some pressure early on in the 30-lapper, doing so when Varin slipped off the edge in turn four on lap seven. Madsen pounced, but Varin fought back immediately.

Outlaw Speedway winner, Tyler Courtney, was the last to give any ounce of pressure, shrinking Varin’s lead to less than two seconds with three laps remaining. It goes without saying, Varin held on.

A trek south and across the Pennsylvania border will lead the All Star Circuit of Champions to Selinsgrove Speedway in Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, on Sunday, August 20, and just like one night prior in Vernon, New York, the Selinsgrove invasion will award a $10,000 payday. Dubbed the Kramer Kup, honoring 2008 National Sprint Car Hall of Fame inductee Kramer Williamson, the Selinsgrove Speedway visit will be the first of the season for Tony Stewart’s All Stars, not returning to the Keystone State until Thursday, September 7.

For those who can not witness the All Star Circuit of Champions live and in person, FloRacing.com, the official media partner and broadcast provider of the All Stars, has you covered. To access live and on-demand racing action from the All Star Circuit of Champions, visit FloRacing.com and become an annual PRO subscriber. Race fans can see all the USAC and dirt late-model action they want in addition to Eldora Speedway’s slate of races and those of the All Star Circuit of Champions. The subscription unlocks access to premium content across the entire FloSports network. Watch the events across all screens by downloading the FloSports app on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Chromecast. Find subscription here: https://flosports.link/3XJOg5Z

Contingency Awards/Results: Utica-Rome Speedway | August 19, 2023:
Kistler Racing Products Pill Draw | Entries: 24
Macri Concrete/Nunzi’s Advertising Hot Laps: Zeb Wise | 15.687
Hercules Tires Fast Qualifier: Zeb Wise | 15.983
Hunt Brothers Pizza Heat #1 Winner: Chris Windom
Competition Suspension Inc Heat #2 Winner: Danny Varin
All Pro Aluminum Cylinder Heads Heat #3 Winner: Kerry Madsen
Elliott’s Custom Trailers and Carts Dash Winner: Danny Varin
Tezos A-Main Winner: Danny Varin
Tezos A-Main Hard Charger: Stewart Friesen (+7)
Carquest Perseverance Award: Joe Trenca

Tezos A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 01-Danny Varin[1]; 2. 7BC-Tyler Courtney[3]; 3. 26-Zeb Wise[6]; 4. 79-Stewart Friesen[11]; 5. 55-Kerry Madsen[4]; 6. 42-Sye Lynch[7]; 7. 4-Chris Windom[2]; 8. W20-Greg Wilson[8]; 9. 29-Brandon Spithaler[5]; 10. 32B-Dale Blaney[12]; 11. 28M-Conner Morrell[13]; 12. 97-Zeth Sabo[19]; 13. 7NY-Matt Farnham[16]; 14. 45-Joe Trenca[14]; 15. 88C-Chad Miller[22]; 16. 3-Denny Peebles[17]; 17. 24-ROBERT HACKEL[23]; 18. 11M-Nathen McDowell[20]; 19. (DNF) 21-Jonathan Preston[15]; 20. (DNF) 10-Paulie Colagiovanni[9]; 21. (DNF) 5D-Jacob Dykstra[21]; 22. (DNF) 2-Dave Axton[10]; 23. (DNF) 98-John Trenca[18] LAP LEADERS: Danny Varin (1-30)

Elliotts Custom Trailers and Carts Dash (6 Laps): 1. 01-Danny Varin[1]; 2. 4-Chris Windom[3]; 3. 7BC-Tyler Courtney[5]; 4. 55-Kerry Madsen[2]; 5. 29-Brandon Spithaler[4]; 6. 26-Zeb Wise[6]

Hunt Brothers Pizza Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 4-Chris Windom[1]; 2. W20-Greg Wilson[5]; 3. 79-Stewart Friesen[6]; 4. 26-Zeb Wise[4]; 5. 21-Jonathan Preston[7]; 6. 3-Denny Peebles[8]; 7. (DNS) 5D-Jacob Dykstra; 8. (DNS) 28-Jordan Poirier

CSI Shocks Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 01-Danny Varin[1]; 2. 7BC-Tyler Courtney[4]; 3. 10-Paulie Colagiovanni[2]; 4. 32B-Dale Blaney[3]; 5. 45-Joe Trenca[6]; 6. 7NY-Matt Farnham[5]; 7. 11M-Nathen McDowell[8]; 8. (DNF) 24-ROBERT HACKEL[7]

All Pro Aluminum Cylinder Heads Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 55-Kerry Madsen[1]; 2. 42-Sye Lynch[2]; 3. 2-Dave Axton[5]; 4. 28M-Conner Morrell[6]; 5. 29-Brandon Spithaler[4]; 6. 98-John Trenca[8]; 7. (DNF) 97-Zeth Sabo[7]; 8. (DNF) 88C-Chad Miller[3]

Hercules Tire Qualifying: 1. 26-Zeb Wise, 00:15.983[4]; 2. 7BC-Tyler Courtney, 00:15.990[9]; 3. 29-Brandon Spithaler, 00:16.031[2]; 4. 4-Chris Windom, 00:16.140[6]; 5. 01-Danny Varin, 00:16.194[24]; 6. 55-Kerry Madsen, 00:16.208[21]; 7. 28-Jordan Poirier, 00:16.287[23]; 8. 10-Paulie Colagiovanni, 00:16.300[8]; 9. 42-Sye Lynch, 00:16.351[22]; 10. 5D-Jacob Dykstra, 00:16.421[19]; 11. 32B-Dale Blaney, 00:16.727[17]; 12. 88C-Chad Miller, 00:16.757[20]; 13. W20-Greg Wilson, 00:16.789[5]; 14. 7NY-Matt Farnham, 00:16.824[15]; 15. 2-Dave Axton, 00:16.848[7]; 16. 79-Stewart Friesen, 00:16.862[10]; 17. 45-Joe Trenca, 00:16.880[16]; 18. 28M-Conner Morrell, 00:17.028[11]; 19. 21-Jonathan Preston, 00:17.153[12]; 20. 24-ROBERT HACKEL, 00:17.382[18]; 21. 97-Zeth Sabo, 00:17.533[13]; 22. 3-Denny Peebles, 00:17.766[14]; 23. 11M-Nathen McDowell, 00:18.324[3]; 24. 98-John Trenca, 00:18.380[1]