5th annual Money in the Mountains 40 lapper On Tap Friday At Big Diamond Speedway


FORESTVILLE, PA – Continuing its moniker as the highest weekly paying modified track in the Northeast, Big Diamond Speedway will present another big-paying show this Friday in what is becoming an early-season, must-see-event with the 5th annual Money in the Mountains big-block/small-block modified race.

The 40-lap feature pays $6,000 to win and $400 to take the green with the winner earning a guaranteed starting spot in the Short Track Super Series event at the track, a $500 value, on June 6.

Rick Laubach is the defending winner of the race.

The gates open on Friday at 5:30 p.m. with hot laps at 7:45 p.m. and racing starting at 8:15 p.m. Admission for the event is $25 for adults, $23 for seniors while kids 12-and-under along with Active Military are FREE with a valid ID.

The MITM event is the second of six events big-paying for the modifieds which includes the June 6, STSS (50 laps, $5,000); Friday, July 7, George/Georgie Stevenson Memorial (30 laps, $4,000); Friday, Aug. 25, Prelude to The Coalcracker (40 laps, $4,600) and the Coalcracker 72, Sunday, Sept. 3 (72 laps, $10,000).

The sportsman have three big-paying events including last week’s opening night race, won by Mike Mammana, which paid $1,000 to win for the 20-lap feature. The other two events are the Fayash Memorial on Friday, Aug. 11, which pays $1,570 to win the 30-lap feature while the sportsman Coalcracker on Friday, Sept. 1, pays $1,600 to win the 40-lap feature and $150 to take the green.

Big Diamond kicked off its 46th season of racing in the coal region last Friday night with Jeff Strunk winning the 30-lap season opener feature. Stunk also won the first-ever MITM race in 2013.

Other winners of the MITM event were Ryan Watt (2015) and Ryan Godown (2014).

There were 63 modifieds in the pits last Friday (34 358s, 29 sportsman) as more than 90 cars signed in on opening night.

This Friday’s racing card also includes the U.S.S. Achey sportsman, Savage 61 roadrunners and the No Sweat Service Group Street Stocks. The event is a point race for the aforementioned three divisions while regular competitors in the Steel & Metal Service Center 358 modifieds will receive 25 show-up points.

The new division sponsor for the 358 modifieds, Steel & Metal Service Center, will sponsor the Friday, April 28th show as the United Racing Company continues its 70th anniversary tour with its first wingless show of the year. It is the first of two stops at the track for URC who will be back on June 23 for a winged show.

For racers, here is the technical information for the Money In The Mountains Race:

PA/NJ/ Spec Head Small-Block On Gas (Grandview, NES, Big Diamond sealed ONLY): 2,275 lbs.
PA/NJ/ Spec Head Small-Block On Methanol (Grandview, NES, Big Diamond sealed ONLY): 2,350 lbs.
Open Small-Block (Max. 363 c.i.): 2,400 lbs.
Big-Block (Max. 477 c.i.): 2,500 lbs.
Delaware Big-Block (Over 477 c.i.): 2,600 lbs.
*Track scale is official.
*No aluminum block engines.
*No sail panels.
*40 laps, $6,000 to win, $400 green.
*Draw for position.
*24 cars to start the feature
*Feature winner will also receive a guaranteed starting spot for the STSS event on June 6.
*25 point show up bonus for all cars signed in.

For the latest information, be sure to like the Big Diamond Speedway Facebook page; www.facebook.com/Bigdiamondspeedway and follow the track on Twitter, @BigDSpdwy

Past Winners
Money In The Mountains
2016- Rick Laubach
2015- Ryan Watt
2014- Ryan Godown
2013- Jeff Strunk

Big Diamond Speedway points
As of April 14
Steel& Metal Service Center 358 modifieds
1. Jeff Strunk 310
2. Shawn Fitzpatrick 298
3. Craig VonDohren 287
4. Duane Howard 277
5. Ryan Watt 269
6. Kevin Beach 259
7. Jared Umbenhauer 248
8. Rick Laubach 236
9. Ryan Krachun 226
10. Scott Albert 217

U.S.S. Achey Sportsman
1. Mike Mammana 308
2. Wayne Witmer 298
3. Craig Whitmoyer 290
4. Shawn Light 280
5. Jordan Henn 267
6. Daryl Dissinger 258
7. Doug Hendricks 249
8. Chuck Fayash 236
9. Glenn Rowan 226
10. Matt Clay 217

Savage 61 roadrunners
1. Kody Sites 308
2. Steve Gromis 299
3. Shawn Mulhall 287
4. Devin Trexler 280
5. Kris Ney 268
6. Mike Reichert 260
7. Terry Kramer 245
8. Chris Holland 234
9. Kyle Wingle 226
10. Shon Elk 219

No Sweat Service Group street stocks
1. Elvin Brennan III 309
2. Eric Tripp 299
3. Tyler Stump 286
4. Joey Brenan 278
5. Mike Radocha 267
6. Cory Phillips 255
7. Bobby Kupp 246
8. Dean Hine 234
9. Chris Heller 227
10. Chris Derr 220