Larry Wight Whips Modified Field At Brewerton – DTD Exclusive


BREWERTON, NY – Larry Wight picked up his third win of the year at Brewerton early Saturday morning, charging from the 11th starting spot to the win on the fast and heavy track.

After a rain delay due to strong thunderstorms in the early evening, Tim Kerr took command at the drop of the green for the 35-lap event, pacing the field in the early going. While Kerr looked strong, Wight looked stronger, reaching fourth with just 12 laps completed. A yellow with on lap 14 brought the field together, but they were not together for long. Using the top side where few opted to go, Wight blasted from fourth to the lead before another lap was scored.

Two more cautions on lap 22 and 24 allowed drivers such as Matt Hulsizer, Jimmy Phelps, and Billy Decker to close in on Wight, but could not mount a charge as they battled amongst themselves for the runner up position. In the end, Larry Wight cruised to another dominant win at the Brewerton Speedway, followed by Hulsizer, Jimmy Phelps, Decker, and Chad Phelps.

“Under yellow, I was able to pack the top side. I knew it would only be there for a few laps afterward, so I had to take advantage of it the first two,” the victorious Wight stated. “Everyone has good cars, good motors, and they are set up well. You really need to get into the top five early to have time to work them. If you don’t, you get in a bind where you really have to use up your car and tires to get there.”

ESS feature action saw Chuck Hebing lead wire to wire, claiming the $3,000 to win event over Coleman Gulick and Paulie Colagiovanni. Alan Fink notched his third Sportsman win of the season, wrestling the lead away from Rocco Leone just past halfway, while Jeff Sykes held of Casey Sykes to take the Mod-Lite main.

(Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) – LARRY WIGHT, Matt Hulsizer, Jimmy Phelps, Billy Decker, Chad Phelps, Max McLaughlin, Ryan Bartlett, Adam Roberts, Pat Ward, Chris Hile, Mike Bowman, Jeremy Smith, Gary Tomkins, Jim Witko, Tim Sears Jr., Tim Kerr, Rob Bellinger, Lee Gill, Mike Mahaney, Roy Bresnahan, Andrew Ferguson, DNS – Rich Scagliotta.
(Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints 25 Laps) – CHUCK HEBING, Coleman Gulick, Paulie Colagiovanni, Jonathan Preston, Larry Wight, Mark Smith, Matt Billings, Jason Barney, Mike Mahaney, Danny Varin, George Suprick, Shawn Donath, Billy VanInwegen, Matt Tanner, Jeff Cook, Dave Axton, Mike Haggenbottom, Paul Kinney, Chad Miller, Scott Holcomb, Sam Reakes IV, Darryl Ruggles, Keith Granholm, Brandon Kidd, Denny Peebles, Brett Wright.
(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) – ALAN FINK, Rocco Leone, Glenn Forward, Stephen Denton, Chris Cunningham, JJ Courcy, Ron Davis III, Jeff Taylor, Brent Joy, Nick Krause, Earl Rudy, Charlie Tibbitts, Jackson Gill, Tyler Trump, Pat LaPage, Kevin Poitras, Todd Root, Mike Stanton Jr., Joe Sobotka, Kyle Fink, Zach Sobotka, DNS – Rich Townsend, Tyler Thompson.
(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) – JEFF SYKES, Casey Sykes, Joe Isabell, Zack Babcock, Justin Williams, Lowell Zehr, Joe Garafolo, Mike Mullen, Brian Meyes, Sam Usborne, Josh Kinney, Ryan Halliday, Tom Mackey, Jim Dunham.