Davis Holds Off Charges for Brewerton Checkered – DTD Exclusive

By:  Bobby Sweeney

BREWERTON, NY – Ronnie Davis III claimed victory in Brewerton’s 35-lap Big Block Modified feature on June 4th, trading late slide jobs with Chris Hile to nail down his second career Modified win at the track.

Torrey Stougtenger and Tyler Trump battled for the lead on a set of early restarts, with Trump taking command from Stougtenger on lap five. Davis started sixth, but worked quickly to second on lap eight, driving under Stougtenger. Switching lanes to the top, Davis went by Trump a lap later to grab the lead.

Hile started twelfth, but like Davis, picked off cars at rapid pace. By lap 12, Hile found himself in the runner up spot, but a fair chunk of space behind Davis. As the laps clicked down, the gap shrunk, with Hile within striking distance by lap 22. As Hile began to search for options, Trump was busy holding off Larry Wight for third. However, a lap 25 caution threw a wrench into the battle brewing up front.

On the restart, Hile tossed a slider at Davis, with Davis responding with one of his own to keep the lead. With Hile’s broken momentum, Wight slipped by Hile for second following a brief fight, but this allowed Davis to build a small buffer between him and the pack. Wight inched in on Davis, but the lap counter clicked 35 and the checkered waived, with Davis scoring his second career Big Block Modified win. Wight came home second, with Hile, Jimmy Phelps, and Mike Maresca completing the top five.

“I figured Chris would try something, but I wasn’t anticipating right on the restart,” Davis said of his sliders with Hile. “It caught me off guard, but I figured if he got me in one, I’d do one in three. It stuck, I don’t know how close they were behind me, but the car was clicking tonight. I didn’t feel real good on the bottom, but after the passes with Chris I just made sure to hit my marks and keep it straight.”

Thompson & Johnson Equipment Night June 4 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds 35 Laps) – RON DAVIS III, Larry Wight, Chris Hile, Jimmy Phelps, Mike Maresca, Tom Sears, Tyler Trump, Tim Sears Jr., Ben Bushaw, Joe August, Pat Ward, Chad Phelps, Roy Bresnahan, Nick Krause, Jeff Taylor, Torrey Stoughtenger, Austin Murphy, Tim Harris, Jim Witko, Bob Henry Jr, Andrew Ferguson, Kevin Root, Billy Decker.

(DIRTcar 358 Modified Bonus $300 $200 $100) – Ben Bushaw, Nick Krause, Austin Murphy.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman 25 Laps) – RICH TOWNSEND, Dale Caswell, JJ Courcy, Zach Sobotka, Riley Rogala, Tyler Murray, Ryan Dolbear, Alan Fink, Earl Rudy, Joe Sobotka, Quinn Wallis, Zach Payne, Amy Holland, Bailey Groves, Chris Mackey, Tony Finch II, Max Hill, Nick Stadelmann, Dan Keyes, Colby Herzog, Tim Devendorf, Jeff Prentice, Mark Yorker, Robert Gage, DNS Matt Kitts.

(Thompson & Johnson $100 Hard Charger) – Zach Sobotka.

(NAPA Auto Parts Chase Elliott Award) – Earl Rudy.

(AmeriCU Credit Union Mod Lites 20 Laps) – JUSTIN WILLIAMS, Mike Mullen, Clayton Brewer, Tom Mackey, Hunter Lawton, Joe Garafolo, Tucker Halliday, Sam Usborne, Roger Olschewske, Kyle Demo, Brad Harris, Kelly Skinner, Billy Applebee, JJ Courcy, Darik Van Epps, Travis Hewitt, Joel Moller.

(Fleet Repair 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – CHUCK POWELCZYK, Quinn Wallis, Jamie Radley, Damian Bechler, Brian Evenden, Clayton Koch, Sam Curcie, Sophia DeNova, David DeNova, Ray Bechler