Sears Scores Second Win At Brewerton – DTD Exclusive

By:  Bobby Sweeney

BERWERTON, NY – Tim Sears Jr. joined the multi-win club at Brewerton Speedway, passing Pat Ward for the lead in the later stages of the 35-lap event for his second Brewerton triumph of 2021.

Ward slipped by Roy Bresnahan a handful of laps into the Modified feature, with Jeff Taylor following through to take second. Taylor, a Modified rookie, stuck with Ward quite well through the early stages of the race, taking an occasional peek alongside Ward. Meanwhile, the #83 of Sears kept clicking higher and higher on the scoreboard, reaching fifth before a lap 9 yellow after starting eleventh.

Sears climbed to third by lap 12, but the top duo of Ward and Taylor had separated themselves. Sears closed in some, but a lap 18 yellow helped erase the rest of the gap in a hurry. Sears got by Taylor for second on the restart, then worked the bottom on Ward while aiming for the lead.

Sears and Ward remained door-to-door for a number of laps, with Sears on the bottom and Ward in the middle. Sears finally broke free on lap 25, leaving Ward to fend off high-flying Kevin Root for the runner-up spot. With the checkered waiving, it was Sears taking his second win of the season at Brewerton, while Root, Ward, Jimmy Phelps, and Billy Decker rounded out the top five.

“This thing was good, we didn’t touch anything all night long,” Sears said. “We’ve been hit and miss here this season, but we’ve been gaining on it recently and been much more hit. For a while it seemed like every time I was about to clear Pat, I missed the bottom and he stayed at my door, but eventually I got going and we drove away.”

The Reagan Companies Night at The Speedway July 23 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds 35 Laps) – TIM SEARS JR., Kevin Root, Pat Ward, Jimmy Phelps, Billy Decker, Ron Davis III, Michael Maresca, Tyler Trump, Roy Bresnahan, Chris Hile, Larry Wight, Ben Bushaw, Jeff Taylor, Joe August, Jim Witko, Sean Beardsley, Gil Tegg, Chad Phelps, Tom Sears Jr.,Tim Harris, DNS Andy Noto.

(DIRTcar 358 Modified Bonus $300. $200. $100) – Ben Bushaw, Sean Beardsley, Gil Tegg.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman 25 Laps) – ZACH SOBOTKA, Brent Joy, Dale Caswell, Amy Holland, Quinn Wallis, Zach Payne, Alan Fink, Richard Murtaugh, Matt Caprara, Tyler Murray, Riley Rogala, JJ Courcy, Brandon Carvey, Max Hill, Ed Downing, Buckey Hayes, Chris Mackey, Earl Rudy, Tony Finch II, Teddy Clayton, Matt Kitts, Jacob Dupra, Jeff Prentice, Chris Bonoffski, Rich Townsend.

(NAPA Auto Parts Chase Elliott Award) – Matt Caprara

(BNEL Excavating $25 Bonus) – Ed Downing

(AmeriCU Credit Union Mod Lites 20 Laps) – JUSTIN WILLIAMS, Clayton Brewer, Mike Mullen, Tucker Halliday, Rick Demo, Doug Williams, Hunter Lawton, Joe Garafolo, Roger Olschewske, Brad Harris, Joel Moller, Kelly Skinner, Travis Hewitt, Tom Mackey.

(Fleet Repairs 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – DAMIEN BECHLER, Ray Bechler, Chuck Powelczyk, Jerry Herbert, Eric Rowley, David DeNova, Clayton Koch, Sophia DeNova, Sam Curcie, Zak Petrie, Quinn Wallis, Donny Rider, Jack Taskey, DNS – Jamie Radley.