Wight Finally Grabs Win at Brewerton – DTD Exclusive

By:  Bobby Sweeney

BREWERTON, NY – The top two in the points standings, Larry Wight and Jimmy Phelps, had eight and nine top five finishes in the nine Modified feature events this season. Despite just one finish outside the top five between them, neither had got a win. Wight changed this Friday night, getting by Jeff Taylor at halfway and scoring his first victory of the year at Brewerton.

Taylor was the man out front at the start of the 35-lap feature event, with Jim Witko his early chaser. An early caution knocked win contenders Billy Decker and Tim Sears Jr. out of the event, with co-points leader Jimmy Phelps getting substantial damage. The other co-points leader, Wight, blasted to third by the completion of lap three.

After working over Witko, Wight moved into second on lap nine. By this point, Taylor’s lead was nearly a straightaway, but Wight closed in quick. Using a lapped car as a pick, Wight dove under Taylor to lead lap 16.

From there, Wight ran away from Taylor, only hindered by a lap 23 caution flag. With Taylor and Witko battling for second, Wight slipped away and scored his first Brewerton win of the year. Witko barely beat Taylor to the line to steal second, with Witko ending up backwards following the finish. Chris Hile came home fourth, with Ronnie Davis III placing fifth before being collected after the checkered in the incident for second.

“We’ve been so close and had decent setups, but always seem to run out of time,” Wight said. “Luckily tonight we hit it for the track conditions we got, and we finally got a good starting spot with eighth. There’s so many fast cars now that you have to be aggressive super early, and luckily we were able to pick a handful off in the first couple laps to make it easier later in the race.”

Blackburn Truck Bodies, Scott Jeffery’s Performance Plus, VP Lubricants August 6 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds 35 Laps) – LARRY WIGHT, Jim Witko, Jeff Taylor, Chris Hile, Ron Davis III, Roy Bresnahan, Jimmy Phelps, Tom Sears Jr., Michael Maresca, Pat Ward, Joe August, Kevin Root, Tyler Trump, Nick Krause, Chad Phelps, Gil Tegg, Andy Noto, Tim Murphy, Tim Harris, Billy Decker, Tim Sears Jr.

(DIRTcar 358 Modified Bonus $300. $200. $100) – Tom Sears Jr., Nick Krause, Gil Tegg.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman 25 Laps) – CHRIS MACKEY, Amy Holland, Alan Fink, JJ Courcy, Tyler Murray, Earl Rudy, Dale Caswell, Riley Rogala, Max Hill, Mike Button, Richard Murtaugh, Jeff Prentice, Quinn Wallis, Robert Gage, Brett Buono, Matt Caprara, Tony Stiener, Matt Richardson, Teddy Clayton, Mike Root, Jake Petit, Rocky Grosso, Tony Finch II, Zach Sobotka, Emmett Waldron, Brandon Carvey, Matt Kitts.

(NAPA Auto Parts Chase Elliott Award) – Max Hill.

(BNEL Excavating $25 Bonus) – Richard Murtaugh.

(Mike Payne & MP Delivery 7th Place Bonus) – Dale Caswell.

(AmeriCU Credit Union Mod Lites 20 Laps) – JUSTIN WILLIAMS, Clayton Brewer, Mike Mullen, Rick Demo, Brad Harris, Hunter Lawton, Doug Williams, Joe Garafolo, Joel Moller, Roger Olschewske, Kelly Skinner, Joe Isabell, Travis Hewitt, Tom Mackey.

(Fleet Repairs 4- Cylinders 15 Laps) – QUINN WALLIS, Chuck Powelczyk, Eric Rowley, Damien Bechler, Donny Rider, Tom Bumpus II, Sam Curcie, Jack Taskey, Clayton Koch, Robert Lovine, Hannah Guererri, Ray Bechler, Glenn Carista.