Wight Back on Top at Brewerton – DTD Exclusive


BREWERTON, NY – Slower was faster on Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway.

Larry Wight took full advantage of the slick track conditions to ride the top to his second win of the 2022 season at the ‘D-Shaped Dirt Demon.’ Wight made a late race move to get by Gil Tegg Jr., to pick up the victory in the 35-lap affair.

“The track was super hard and super slick tonight,” stated Wight. “I was just searching for traction. They put a little bit of water down when we did the autograph session. I saw it when we came out and I was hoping it wasn’t going to burn off. It seemed like no one wanted to flirt with it. We went up there and gave it a shot.”

Andy Noto brought the field green and led the opening laps as he was chased by Tegg. Tegg stayed close to Noto’s No. 19x in the early go.

It remained Noto and Tegg for the lead in the first third of the race. Tegg got even with Noto on lap nine driving up next to Noto as the pair exited turn four. They stayed side-by-side for the next few laps before Tegg was able to get by on lap 12 after slight contact.

With Tegg leading, Wight was working hard coming through the field after starting 12th. Wight utilized the extreme outside of the speedway while Tegg continued working through the middle and bottom grooves.

Wight moved into the runner-up position on lap 15 allowing him to begin to apply pressure to Tegg. Tegg kept Wight at bay in traffic and remained the leader when the first yellow was necessary for a spinning Jeff Taylor in turn one on lap 25.

The restart was all Wight needed as he powered to the high-side in turn one at the green allowing him to wrestle the lead away from Tegg at the exit of turn two. Tegg tried to stay close in turns three and four, but Wight was too much.

“Gil is a good driver,” mentioned Wight. “He’s very good to race against. He was making it tight there. I don’t think we ever touched. He was using the track to his advantage as the leader. I didn’t want to see that restart. Luckily, it was double-file and I was able to get run on the outside on the get-go. We’ll take it. Hopefully we can keep it rolling and get things back in line.”

Another caution was necessary as Jackson Gill spun on lap 27 giving Tegg another shot at Wight. Wight worked the top to perfection at the green keeping his No. 99L at the front of the field.

Over the final eight laps it was all Wight as he drove his Bicknell to victory lane for the second time this season at Brewerton.

Tegg has his best run to date finishing in the runner-up position while Tim Sears Jr., advanced from 14th to complete the podium.

Chad Phelps finished in the fourth spot with Ronnie Davis III completing the top five at the checkered flag.


Dale Caswell who is a past IMCA Modified Champion with 41 wins at the speedway and just as talented and winning driver in the Late Model racer can now put his name in the Brewerton Speedway record books as a DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman feature winner.

In the 25-lap feature, Caswell would lead every lap enroute to a celebration in victory lane with family and friends.

The win didn’t come easy as he had to hold off late race challenges from former track champion and the division all-time feature winner Alan Fink and Amy Holland who was right there waiting to take advantage of any mistakes by the top-two. Cody Manitta who graduated from high school that day and Tony Finch II completed the top-five.

Tucker Halliday won his first career feature win on August 9, 2019. Friday night, Halliday picked up his second career win in the division as he was the class of the field in the 20-lap Mod Lite feature. Halliday held off Mike Mullen, Joe Garafolo, Kyle Demo, and Zack Babcock who finished second through fifth.

Chris Bonoffski continued his winning ways in the Four-Cylinders as he won the 15-lap feature. Damien Bechler, Ray Bechler, Chuck Powelczyk, and Clayton Koch completed the top-five.

This Friday, June 24 Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux presents Destruction at the Demon King’s Smash ‘Em Crash ‘Em Demolition Derbies. Racing on the ‘D-Shaped Dirt Demon’ will feature the DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman. AmeriCU Credit Union Mod Lites. Mirabito Four-Cylinders, and the Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Hobby Stocks.

The Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds have the week off for the Super DIRTcar Series event at Albany Saratoga.

Adult G/A is $20.00, Everyone 18 years old and younger is free. Pits (All Ages) $35. Pits open at 4:30 pm. Grandstands 5:30 pm. Hot laps 6:00 pm. Racing 7:00 pm.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities, contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or cory@brewertonspeedway.com . For all the latest news, go to www.brewertonspeedway.com. And like the speedway social media pages.

RACE RESULTS (6/17/22)

Thompson & Johnson Equipment Company June 17 Results

Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds – (35 Laps): 1. 99L-Larry Wight[12]; 2. 22G-Gil Tegg Jr[4]; 3. 83X-Tim Sears Jr[14]; 4. X-Chad Phelps[6]; 5. 32R-Ronnie Davis III[7]; 6. 5H-Chris Hile[15]; 7. 36-Ben Bushaw[3]; 8. 7Z-Zachary Payne[5]; 9. 98H-Jimmy Phelps[11]; 10. 8H-Max McLaughlin[10]; 11. 79-Jeffrey Prentice[17]; 12. 62S-Tom Sears Jr[8]; 13. 9X-Tyler Trump[23]; 14. 19X-Andy Noto[1]; 15. 27Z-Dylan Zacharias[19]; 16. 63-Adam Roberts[16]; 17. 24K-Nick Krause[20]; 18. 88-Joe August Jr[2]; 19. 60-Jackson Gill[9]; 20. 18$-Sean Beardsley[13]; 21. 24-James Witko Jr[22]; 22. Z4-JJ Courcy[25]; 23. 7S-Torrey Stoughtenger[26]; 24. 38-Tim Harris[18]; 25. 4-Michelle Courcy[21]; 26. 11T-Jeff Taylor[24]

358 Modified Bonus – $300. $200. $100: Jeff Prentice, Andy Noto, Nick Krause

DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman – (25 Laps): 1. R19-Dale Caswell[2]; 2. 28-Alan Fink[8]; 3. 5-Amy Holland[7]; 4. 6-Cody Manitta[9]; 5. 0-Tony Finch II[10]; 6. 19C-Brandon Carvey[12]; 7. 80X-Mike Button[3]; 8. 28X-Stephen Marshall[4]; 9. 5D-Kyle Devendorf[14]; 10. 31B-Ryan Dolbear[13]; 11. R1-Riley Rogala[6]; 12. 38-Zach Sobotka[11]; 13. 33-Richard Murtaugh[5]; 14. 01R-Robert Gage[16]; 15. 88H-Chris Hulsizer[18]; 16. 10G-Austin Germinio[15]; 17. 1J-John Wilber[1]; 18. AONE-Bucky Hayes[17]; 19. 16-Earl Rudy[21]; 20. B1-RJ Budd[22]; 21. 16X-Savannah Laflair[23]; 22. 51-Richard Townsend Jr[19]; 23. 30-Michael Root[20]; 24. (DNS) 04X-Chris Crump

NAPA Know How Chase Elliott Award: Kyle Devendorf

AmeriCU Credit Union Mod Lites – (20 Laps): 1. 16-Tucker Halliday[3]; 2. 06-Mike Mullen[8]; 3. 55-Joseph Garafolo[9]; 4. 22-Kyle Demo[7]; 5. 88-Zach Babcock[13]; 6. 19-Brad Harris[4]; 7. 5K-Matt Kitts[5]; 8. 11-Billy Applebee[12]; 9. 9-Roger Olschewske Jr[11]; 10. 13-Jammer Applegate II[1]; 11. 8BALL-Kelly Skinner[14]; 12. 99-Thomas Mackey[6]; 13. 7J-Joel Moller[2]; 14. 155-Clayton Brewer III[10]

Mirabito Four-Cylinders – (15 Laps): 1. 16B-Chris Bonoffski[6]; 2. 5M-Damien Bechler[13]; 3. 26R-Ray Bechler[12]; 4. 17-Chuck Powelczyk[7]; 5. 67K-Clayton Koch[3]; 6. 8X-Cody Thomas[11]; 7. 2D-Jacob Dupra[5]; 8. 99-Walt VanEpps[4]; 9. 27A-Alexandra Parker[2]; 10. 29K-Kingston Sprague[9]; 11. X-Owen Kitts[10]; 12. 360-Samuel Curcie[1]; 13. 7C-Craig Dingy[8]