Phelps Scores First Brewerton Win of ’22 – DTD Exclusive


BREWERTON, NY – Jimmy Phelps nailed down his first Brewerton Speedway win of the season, reaching the front of the field at halfway and never looking back. Phelps led teammate Max McLaughlin across the finish line, scoring the first 1-2 finish of the year for HBR.

An ultra-slick track allowed Nick Krause to take his small block to the lead in the 35-lap feature, battling early with Joe August. Tom Sears Jr. threw his name into the mix quickly, reaching second on lap five, then working over Krause.

On lap 10, Sears slid under Krause for the lead, with Phelps making the same move the next lap to be scored second. Sears found his home in the middle of the speedway, with Phelps running much lower. Phelps slowly closed in, and at halfway, made a smooth pass for the lead.

A yellow on lap 20 reset the field, and McLaughlin worked his way into third following the restart. Phelps was locked to the track when racing resumed, leaving Sears to battle with McLaughlin for second. McLaughlin eventually took the spot away from Sears, but Phelps was already long gone at this time.

With the checkered waiving, it was Phelps taking his first Brewerton win of the season, with McLaughlin coming home in second. Tom Sears Jr. finished third, with Jackson Gill and Tim Sears Jr. rounding out the top five.

“We figured it was going to be a little slicker than normal with the Sprint Cars in town, but after the heats, it looked like there was going to be some bite to stick around,” Phelps noted. “It got smooth and clean. It’s been slick, but it’s been a dirty track whereas tonight cleaned off really nice. They’ve fought through some rough conditions over the past month, but they got it figured out. I like this type of race track, and I’m happy.”

Phelps, Sears, and McLaughlin all seemed relatively even through turns three and four, but turns one and two saw Phelps gain consistent time lap after lap. By the end of the race, all of those three were on the bottom in those turns, but Phelps was lower and better.

“I felt really good entering turn one, that was a big thing,” stated Phelps. “My car braked straight, which allowed me to get to the bottom really good and set me up for turn two really nice. I had a ton of forward drive too, but the corner entry put me in a good spot the rest of the corner.”


Robert Gage would lead the opening five laps of the 25-lap Sportsman feature, when Austin Germinio would drive into the top-spot.

With ten laps showing on the scoring tower, Germinio would bolt out to a straightaway lead with Gage, Zach Sobotka, Amy Holland, and Chris Hulsizer locked in a close fight for second through fifth.

Germinio still showed the way with ten laps to go as Holland started chipping away at the lead with Gage, Sobotka, and Hulsizer still showing in the top-five.

On lap nineteen, Holland would use the traffic to her advantage as she drove by Germinio to be scored the new leader.

The final caution of the race came on lap twenty-three, setting up a green, white, and checker finish.

When the green came back out, points leader Amy Holland drove away for her first win of the season. Austin Germinio, Zach Sobotka, Robert Gage, and Alan Frink finished second through fifth.

Twenty-nine Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints signed in the pits for their annual Speedweek.

The 25-lap A-Main would see Larry Wight blast into the lead at the start and by lap five would open a straightaway lead while Shawn Donath, Matt Tanner, Jason Barney, and Chad Miller raced in the top-five.

Shawn Donath took advantage of a lap-six yellow as he would wrestle the lead away from Wight on the restart.

On lap ten, Wight pulled off a classic slide job to retake the lead. Behind Wight and Donath were Barney, Danny Varin, and Tommy Wickham in their own battle for third through fifth.

With ten laps to go, Wight built up a huge lead while easily putting cars down a lap. Donath, Varin, Barney, and Wickham still showed in the top-five.

Over the remaining laps nobody challenged Larry Wight the rest of the way as he won by over three seconds for his third straight Brewerton Speedway ESS win. Dylan Swiernik, Jason Barney, Jordan Poirier, and Shawn Donath rounded out the top-five.

Ray Bechler led the first five laps of the 15-lap Mirabito Four-Cylinder feature before Chris Bonoffski drove into the lead and from there cruised to the win. Eric Rawley, Damien Bechler, Ray Bechler, and Clayton Koch finished second through fifth.

This Friday, July 8 Ontario Auto presents a night of the fastest, family affordable fun in Central NY featuring the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds. DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman. AmeriCU Credit Union Mod Lites, and the Mirabito Four-Cylinders. The Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour will also be in action.

Adult G/A is $15.00. 18 years old and younger are free. Pits (All Ages) $35. Pits open at 4:30 pm. Grandstands 5:30 pm. Hot laps 6:00 pm. Racing starts at 7:00 pm.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities, contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or For all the latest news, go to powered by My Race Pass and like the speedway social media pages.

Reagan Companies July 1 Results 

Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds – (35 Laps): 1. 98H-Jimmy Phelps[8]; 2. 8H-Max McLaughlin[12]; 3. 62S-Tom Sears Jr[6]; 4. 60-Jackson Gill[7]; 5. 83X-Tim Sears Jr[13]; 6. X-Chad Phelps[10]; 7. 5H-Chris Hile[14]; 8. 27Z-Dylan Zacharias[11]; 9. 32R-Ronnie Davis III[9]; 10. 99L-Larry Wight[24]; 11. 24K-Nick Krause[4]; 12. 34-Andrew Ferguson[20]; 13. B2-Bob Henry Jr[15]; 14. 63-Adam Roberts[5]; 15. 9X-Tyler Trump[17]; 16. 24-James Witko Jr[26]; 17. 18$-Sean Beardsley[28]; 18. 22G-Gil Tegg Jr[29]; 19. Z4-JJ Courcy[16]; 20. 36-Ben Bushaw[23]; 21. 4-Michelle Courcy[22]; 22. 38-Tim Harris[19]; 23. 66M-Corbin Millar[27]; 24. 88-Joe August Jr[1]; 25. 19X-Andy Noto[3]; 26. 11T-Jeff Taylor[2]; 27. M1-Tim Murphy[25]; 28. 7Z-Zachary Payne[21]; 29. 79-Jeffrey Prentice[18]

358 Modified Bonus – $300. $200. $100: Nick Krause, Andrew Ferguson, Bob Henry.

DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman – (25 Laps): 1. 5-Amy Holland[11]; 2. 10G-Austin Germinio[3]; 3. 38-Zach Sobotka[9]; 4. 01R-Robert Gage[1]; 5. 28-Alan Fink[14]; 6. 88H-Chris Hulsizer[2]; 7. 19C-Brandon Carvey[6]; 8. 28X-Stephen Marshall[8]; 9. 64-Tyler Corcoran[17]; 10. 33-Richard Murtaugh[5]; 11. 6-Cody Manitta[19]; 12. 29-Matt Caprara[15]; 13. R19-Dale Caswell[13]; 14. 31B-Ryan Dolbear[7]; 15. 80X-Mike Button[4]; 16. 5D-Kyle Devendorf[12]; 17. R1-Riley Rogala[24]; 18. 06W-Dorian Wahdan[16]; 19. 13D-James Donaldson[22]; 20. 1J-John Wilber[25]; 21. 7D-Dustin Hutton[20]; 22. 30-Michael Root[21]; 23. AONE-Bucky Hayes[23]; 24. B1-RJ Budd[26]; 25. 16-Earl Rudy[29]; 26. 0-Tony Finch II[10]; 27. 51-Richard Townsend Jr[18]; 28. (DNS) 77L-Buddy Leathley; 29. (DNS) 04X-Chris Crump

NAPA Know How Chase Elliott Award: Tyler Corcoran.

Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprint Speedweek Don Gillette Memorial – (25 Laps): 1. #99L-Larry Wight[2]; 2. #7C-Dylan Swiernik[7]; 3. #87-Jason Barney[6]; 4. #28-Jordan Poirier[11]; 5. #53-Shawn Donath[3]; 6. #28F-Davie Franek[5]; 7. #01-Danny Varin[12]; 8. #90-Matt Tanner[1]; 9. #41R-Dalton Rombough[24]; 10. #75-Tommy Wickham[8]; 11. #45-Chuck Hebing[10]; 12. #23-Tyler Cartier[17]; 13. #10-Jeff Cook[13]; 14. #98-Joe Trenca[16]; 15. #4-Billy VanInwegen Jr[9]; 16. #17-Sammy Reakes IV[14]; 17. #22-Jonathan Preston[15]; 18. 36T-Tyler Trump[21]; 19. #25H-Tyler Emmons[20]; 20. #13-Keith Granholm[23]; 21. #14B-Brett Wright[18]; 22. #10K-Kelly Hebing[22]; 23. #91-Scott Holcomb[19]; 24. #88C-Chad Miller[4]

Mirabito Four Cylinders – (15 Laps): 1. 16B-Chris Bonoffski[6]; 2. 20-Eric Rawley[10]; 3. 5M-Damien Bechler[7]; 4. 26R-Ray Bechler[4]; 5. 67K-Clayton Koch[1]; 6. 99-Walt VanEpps[2]; 7. 11J-Justin Burns[9]; 8. 360-Samuel Curcie[12]; 9. 27A-Alexandra Parker[3]; 10. 29K-Kingston Sprague[11]; 11. 26B-Dakota Bechler[8]; 12. 2D-Jacob Dupra[5]