Watt Wins At Bridgeport

Spirit Auto Center Big Block ’60over Special’ - Bridgeport Speedway - 14w Ryan Watt

BRIDGEPORT, NJ – Reigning Bridgeport Speedway Champion, Ryan Watt raced to the outside of Jim Britt on lap ten of the twenty-five lap Spirit Auto Center Big Block Modified feature event to capture his first point race of the season on First Responders Night at the Logan Township racing facility.

Watt led the field to the checkered flag, through several restarts that put Britt alongside of the Roberts Racing No. 14w. Watt was not to be denied as he pulled away from the competition each time.

Britt warded off a challenge from Billy Pauch to capture a runner-up finish. With seven laps to go, Pauch made his move on the inside of Britt on a restart to take over the second spot but Britt raced back on the next lap to regain the position. Pauch went on to finish third followed by Tommy Beamer and Bucky Kell.

Jack Swain led the first three circuits around the 5/8th mile track before Britt passed him for the lead. Swain ran in the top five until a right rear flat took him out of contention with just seven laps remaining in the feature event.

Tommy Errico won twice in Rookie competition last season but drove to victory for the first time in the Stewart Stainless 602 Crate Sportsman division with a victory in the twenty lap main event on Saturday night. David Crossman was the race leader when Errico raced into second. Errico used a pass to the outside to take the lead from Crossman on a lap ten restart and then raced away to the victory. Crossman finished second with Tom Moore moving ahead of Jeremy Harrington in the race’s final laps. Harrington crossed the line in fourth but was later disqualified after failing post race technical inspection. Steve Kemery was the fourth place finisher with Rookie, Seth Spayd rounding out the top five for his best Crate Sportsman finish to date.

Mike Creamer picked up his first career victory in the Pennco Tech Outlaw Stock feature event that saw several lead changes throughout the fifteen lap event. An incident just before the green flag eliminated 2017 Champion, Tom Wills, Jr. from the event that saw Jeff Dirkes take the early lead. Dirkes led the first four laps before Jeramy Doerr drove into the lead on lap five. Doerr led through lap twelve when Creamer was able to take the lead on a lap thirteen restart. Doerr was back out in front on the next lap but slowed as Creamer went back into the lead on lap fourteen. Creamer raced to the win over Lee Allen, Dirkes, Darren Cox and Gary Elliott.

Danny Buccafusca became the first Rookie to become a repeat winner in the 2018 DA’s Auto Body & Repair Rookie feature. Buccasfusca took the win which he dedicated to his father – Bucky – who lost his battle with cancer earlier this season. Parker Guldin finished second with Seth Spayd taking third.

It’s Pack the House Night next Saturday, June 16th at the Bridgeport Speedway. Grandstand admission is FREE for eight divisions of racing that will get underway at 6pm. The 602 Crate Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks, Rookies and Mid Atlantic Sprint Series will race on the 5/8th mile track while the 270 and 600 Micros, 4 Cylinder Enduros and Xcel 600 Modifieds competed on the Spirit Speedway quarter mile.

SPIRIT AUTO CENTER BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS (25 laps): 1. Ryan Watt, 2. Jim Britt, 3. Billy Pauch, Sr., 4. Tommy Beamer, 5. Bucky Kell, 6. Wade Hendrickson, 7. Dave Shirk, 8. Mike Franz, 9. Sam Martz, 10. Tom Maccherone, 11. J.R. Burritt. 12. Ron Roberts, 13. Jack Swain, 14. David Hunt, 15. Ricky DiEva, 16. Richie Pratt, Jr., 17. Neal Williams, DNS – Brett Ballard, Roger Manning

STEWART STAINLESS SUPPLY 602 CRATE SPORTSMAN (20 laps): 1. Tommy Errico, 2. David Crossman, 3. Tommy Moore, 4. Steve Kemery, 5. Seth Spayd, 6. Brad Roberts, 7. Frank Dorry, 8. Wayne Weaver, 9. Bobby Bracall, 10. Danny Buccafusca, 11. Howard Huepfel, 12. Eric Kormann, 13. Chris Jenkins, 14. Jordan Cox, 15. Jim Gallagher, Jr., 16. Rich Wegner, Sr., 17. Tom Holding, 18. John Micek, 19. Sammy Martz, Jr., 20. Roger Gaskill, 21. Matthew Luzi, 22. Parker Guldin, 23. David Hartman, DQ – Jeremy Harrington, DNQ – Ray Cost, Ernie Miles, Jr., Pete Serra, John Cavallero, Dave Damiano

PENNCO TECH OUTLAW STOCKS (15 laps): 1. Michael Creamer, 2. Lee Allen, 3. Jeff Dirkes, 4. Darren Cox, 5. Gary Elliott, 6. Jeramy Doerr, 7. Scott Hulmes, 8. Paul Donahue, 9. Ken Moren, 10. Andrew Joslin, 11. Keith McKinley, 12. Brian Ludwig, 13. Tom Wills, Jr., 14. Terry Griffin

D.A.’S AUTO BODY AND REPAIR ROOKIES (8 laps): 1. Danny Buccafusca, 2. Parker Guldin, 3. Seth Spayd, 4. Sammy Martz, Jr., DNS – David Hartman