Ryan Godown Wins 2nd In A Row At Bridgeport

SWEDESBORO, NJ –  CJ Faison raced to his first win in the Delaware Auto Exchange Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series (MASS) in the first Ron Faison Memorial Race at the Bridgeport Motorsports Park on Saturday night.  Ryan Godown, Sr. picked up the win in the Danny’s Pizza Pizazz Modifieds while Ryan Godown, Jr. raced to the win in the Precision Hydraulic & Oil 602 Sportsman feature.  Bubba Hughes won the final race of the season for the DA’s Auto Body & Repair Rookies while Thomas Prychka was crowned as the 2022 Rookie Champion.  Lee Allen was the winner in the EZ Finance Truck Street Stock feature.

Ron Faison lost his battle with cancer in 2021.  Doug and Brittany Rose scheduled a two day race weekend for the MASS competitors to honor Ron.  The event was originally scheduled for early April but only one day was completed due to inclement weather – the second day was rescheduled for Saturday.
It was clear that CJ Fasion was on a mission after finishing second in the last two MASS events held on the high banks.  Faison finished second to Rory Janney and Dave Brown on those two occasions.  On Saturday night, there was no stopping him.
CJ missed the redraw in qualifying, putting him deep in the starting line-up for the EZ Finance Truck sponsored event.  Mark Bitner jumped into the lead at the start with MASS point leader, Buddy Schweibinz racing into second.  Dom Melair took over second on lap six.
Faison, who raced into the top five on a lap six restart, continued to make his way through the top five.  At halfway, he moved into second only to have his efforts negated by a caution.
Bitner continued out in front until Melair took the lead on lap eighteen.  Faison moved into second and pressured Melair for the lead.  Faison raced into the lead on lap twenty-four after Melair got high in turns one and two and made contact with the wall.
Faison raced to the first win of his career in a sprint car followed by Melair, Bitner, Dave Brown and Buddy Schweibinz.  Larry McVay, the MASS point leader in Bridgeport competition, finished sixth followed by John Brennfleck, Jeff Paulson, Tim Iulg and Rick Stief.
Faison was joined in a large Weaknecht Victory Lane celebration by family and friends.  He celebrated on top of the wing with his two year old nephew, Brady.  It was an emotional victory and one that certainly would have made Ron Faison proud.
Cory Hunsberger, John Brennfleck and Larry McVay were the winners in the EZ Truck Finance heat races for the 305 sprint cars with Cory Cornell winning the consolation.
Ryan Godown raced to his fifth win in the Danny’s Pizza Pizazz championship chase after taking the lead from WB James on lap thirteen.  Dominick Buffalino raced into second two laps later and chased the leader to the finish.  Godown led by several car lengths but Buffalino kept pace with the leader. Billy Pauch, Jr. raced into third with five laps remaining after restarting at the rear of the field following a single car incident on lap eleven.  Pauch battled with Buffalino for second in the final laps.  Richie Pratt, Jr. finished fourth after a strong outing in the Danny Sommerling No. 51.  Sammy Martz, Jr. raced among the top five throughout the thirty lap race, finishing fifth for his best showing since moving into the Modified ranks.
WB James had his best finish in 2022 to finish sixth after leading for the first twelve laps.  Ryan Krachun followed in seventh with Jordan Watson, Clay Butler and Ryan Watt rounding out the top ten.
Godown talked about how the competition “gets tougher and tougher and everyone’s getting faster.”  He acknowledged the run by WB  James and commented on the improvement that James has made over the last year.  Godown was thinking about friend, Lester Miller who is currently hospitalized.
F&L Door Modified heat races were won by Sam Martz, Sammy Martz, Jr. and WB James.
Stephen Yankowski led the way in the Precision Hydraulic & Oil 602 Sportsman for the first nine laps.  Howie Finch took over on a lap ten restart with Ryan Godown, Jr. moving into second.  Godown, Jr. took the lead on lap fourteen but Steve Kemery was on the move and raced into the lead on lap nineteen.  Godown chased Kemery for several laps.  He then changed his line, putting himself in position to challenge Kemery for the lead.  Godown had the lead again on lap twenty-two.  Kemery slid back through the top five before exiting the track with a flat tire just short of the finish.
It was win number three for Godown, Jr. with Finch finishing second over Travis Hill, Brian Papiez and Eric Kormann who rebounded from an early race incident.  Yankowski finished sixth followed by Rookie Champion, Thomas Prychka, David Jenkins, Pete Serra and Brian Rogers.
Hoffman Discount Parts heat races were won by Eric Kormann, Brian Papiez and Howie Finch with Prychka winning the consolation.
The 2022 DA’s Auto Body & Repair Rookies completed their season with Bubba Hughes taking the win in his first ever race behind the wheel of a Sportsman stock car.  Hughes has been a regular competitor on the Spirit quarter mile in the Hyper Racing/ EVO Injection 600 Micro Sprints.  Hughes took the win over Thomas Prychka who was crowned as the 2022 Rookie champion at the conclusion of the race.  Dan Hulmes finished third over Haley Cook and Dylan Montieth.
Jeramy Doerr led the way for the first half of the EZ Truck Finance Street Stock feature event. A lap nine restart saw a three car battle for the lead between Doerr and challengers, Lee Allen and Mike Hughes.  Allen and Hughes continued to battle for the lead but contact left the No.18 facing traffic in turn four.  Allen led the way back to the green on the restart and picked up his fifth win of the season.  Drew Brocklebank has his best race to date to finish second over Doerr, Jeff Dirkes and Ken Moren.
Mike Hughes was the winner of the EZ Finance Truck heat race for the Street Stocks.
1. Ryan Godown, Sr., 2. Dominick Buffalino, 3 Billy Pauch, Jr., 4. Richie Pratt, Jr., 5. Sammy Martz. Jr. 6. W.B. James, 7. Ryan Krachun, 8. Jordan Watson, 9. Clay Butler, 10. Ryan Watt, 11. Tommy Beamer, 12. Sam Martz, Sr., 13. Matt Peck, 14. Roger Manning, 15. Howard O’Neal, 16. Brad Roberts, 17. Tom Maccherone, 18. Billy Lasko, 19. Jim Gallagher, Jr., 20. Ron Roberts, 21. Mark VonHorst, 22. Mike Franz, 23. Jack Swain, 24. Billy Osmun, III, 25. Neal Williams, DNS – Carson Wright.
1. Ryan Godown, Jr., 2. Howie Finch, 3. Travis Hill, 4, Brian Papiez, 5. Eric Kormann, 6. Stephen Yankowski, 7. Thomas Prychka, 8. David Jenkins, 9. Pete Serra, 10. Brian Rogers, 11. Dan Hulmes, 12. Erik Mattson, 13. Steve Kemery, 14. Ethan Bill, 15. Bryan Brobst, 16. Greg Humlhanz, 17. Wayne Weaver, 18. Billy Chester, 19. Ethan Young, 20. Brandon Shipley, 21. Sean Metz, 22. Matt Ellery, DNS – Robert Dutton, Bubba Hughes, DNQ – John Scarpati, Vince Malcom, Danielle Cook, Shane Kassekert, Daylton Strohl, Luke Bunting, Ashley Metz, Hailey Cook, Lew Moore
1. Bubba Hughes, 2. Thomas Prychka, 3. Dan Hulmes, 4. Hailey Cook, 5. Dylan Monteith, 6. Luke Bunting, 7. Ashley Metz, 8. Vince Malcom, 9. Danielle Cook, DNS – Lew Moore
​1. Lee Allen, 2. Drew Brocklebank, 3. Jeramy Doerr, 4. Jeff Dirkes, 5. Ken Moren, 6. Mike Hughes, 7. Nick Sandone III, 8. Wes Camp
DELAWARE AUTO EXCHANGE MID-ATLANTIC SPRINT SERIES FEATURE – 25 LAPS: 1. C.J. Faison, 2. Dominic Melair, 3. Mark Bitner, 4. Dave Brown, 5. Buddy Schweibinz, 6. Larry McVay, 7. Jon Brennfleck, 8. Jeff Paulson, 9. Tim Iulg, 10. Rick Stief, 11. D.J. Tanner, 12. Cory Hunsberger, 13. Mike Melair, 14. Rory Janney, 15. Bob DeVault, 16. Dale Eggert, 17. Cory Cornell, 18. Josh Bricker, 19. Eddie Wagner, 20. Aidan Borden, 21. Dan Leaper, 22. Keith Anderson, 23. Bryant Davis, 24. Rich Janney, DNQ – Darren Cox, Dirk Rimrott, Dave Graber, Kenny Laureno, Andy Mahan