Godown Unstoppable in Seventh Consecutive Win at Bridgeport

SWEDESBORO, NJ – ​The record stands at seven wins in a row as Ryan Godown and his R&M Motorsports Team continues their winning ways at the Bridgeport Motorsports Park. Win number eleven was an exciting one as Tommy Beamer had the Thornton Gulf No. 31 out in front for twenty-two laps and twelve of those laps were with Ryan Godown racing in second!

Brian Papiez raced the Adams Motorsports No. 37 to their third win of the 2022 season while Jeramy Doerr picked up his first win of the season in the Street Stock competition. Justin Dunn raced to the win in the Four Cylinder feature event.

The showdown at sundown was presented by Church’s Auto Parts.

While the rest of the racing world tracks the wins and the records, the bounties and the rewards, Ryan Godown continues to race one race at a time. “I really try to lock out the noise,” the defending track champion explained. “It’s hard!”

“He’s just that good,” Tommy Beamer said after turning in his best performance of the season. “I guess that’s how we should look at it – ‘it took him however many laps to get me,” Beamer added with a laugh. Beamer was a worthy opponent, holding off the pass for the lead until lap twenty-three. “I was a little tight and I didn’t want to run it in there too hard,” Beamer explained. “And that’s where Ryan gets you – he rotates those corners so good.”

Neal Williams just shook his head. He is determined get that Sal DeBruno No. 0 out in front. “I had my foot all the way to the floor,” Williams said after collecting his second consecutive third place finish.

With Beamer out in front from the start, Williams raced into second on lap two. Billy Osmun III and Ryan Krahcun battled for third with Brad Roberts rounding out the top five through the early going. Godown marched into the top five following a lap seven restart. He was racing Williams for second when lap ten was completed.

By halfway, Billy Pauch, Jr., Sam Martz and Ryan Watt were battling for a top five spot. Pauch cracked the top five with ten laps to go.

Godown took the Danny’s Pizza Pizzazz Modified win over Beamer, Williams, Pauch and Krachun. Watt finished sixth followed by Martz, Osmun, HJ Bunting and Richie Pratt, Jr.

F&L Door heat races were won by Williams, Brad Roberts and Beamer with Mike Franz picking up the win in the consolation.

2022 Rookie Champion, Thomas Prychka led the first lap of the Precision Hydraulic & Oil 602 Sportsman feature in his last race before his seventeenth birthday. Papiez was the leader following a lap two restart. “You’ve got to get out there and run away and hide,” Papiez said after picking up this third victory of the season.

Travis Hill finished second after battling with current point leader, Ryan Godown, Jr. for the second half of the race. Godown finished third followed by Wayne Weaver and last week’s feature winner, Matt Ellery. Trent Willey finished sixth with Howie Finch, Eric Korman, Brandon Watkins and Tom Moore rounding out the top ten.

Hoffman Discount Parts heat races were won by Willey, Ellery and Hill.

After many weeks of trying and getting close, Jeramy Doerr, finally, won the EZ Works Truck Street Stock feature for his first win of the season.

Doerr has been so close, so many times but on Saturday night, he finally put the Bill O’Brien owned No. 3:16 into Weaknecht Archery Victory Lane. Doerr dedicated this win to his mother who passed away earlier this season.

TJ Henry finished second followed by Mike Hughes, Lee Allen and Jeff Dirkes. Tom Wills, Jr., Cole Stangle, Drew Brocklebank, Mike Creamer and Nick Sandone III completed the top ten at the finish.

Justin Dunn was the flag-to-flag winner of the EZ Work Trucks Four Cylinder feature event over Joe Garey, Sr. Joe Biederman, Ed Ford and Tim Jones.

Racing returns to the high banks next Saturday night with the Modifieds, 602 Sportsman, Street Stocks and Xcel 600 Modifieds.

QUICK RESULTS 08/06/2022:

DANNY’S PIZZA PIZZAZ MODIFIEDS: 1. Ryan Godown ($4600), 2. Tommy Beamer ($1200), 3. Neal Williams ($1000), 4. Billy Pauch Jr. ($900), 5. Ryan Krachun ($650), 6. Ryan Watt ($600), 7. Sam Martz Sr. ($575), 8. Billy Osmun III ($550), 9. HJ Bunting ($525), 10. Richie Pratt Jr. ($500), 11. Cale Ross ($400), 12. Sammy Martz Jr. ($300), 13. Cole Stangle ($300), 14. W.B. James ($300), 15. Mike Franz ($300), 16. Jim Britt ($300), 17. Ron Roberts ($300), 18. Dominick Buffalino ($300) 19. Tom Maccherone ($300), 20. Don Barone ($300), 21. Brett Ballard ($300), 22. Roger Manning ($300), 23. Brad Roberts ($300), 24. Mark Vanvorst ($300)

PRECISION HYDRAULIC & OIL 602 SPORTSMAN: 1. Brian Papiez ($500), 2. Travis Hill ($300), 3. Ryan Godown Jr. ($225), 4. Wayne Weaver ($175), 5. Matt Ellery ($150), 6. Trent Willey ($120), 7. Bobby Watkins ($115), 8. Eric Kormann ($110), 9. Brandon Watkins ($105), 10. Tom Moore Jr. ($100), 11. Stephen Yankowski ($80), 12. Greg Humlhanz ($80), 13. Bryan Brobst ($80), 14. Tim Millman ($80), 15. Pete Serra ($75), 16. Billy Chester ($75), 17. David Jenkins ($75), 18. Ethan Young ($75), 19. Brian Rogers ($75), 20. Bobby Watkins ($75), 21. Eric Matson ($75), 22. Thomas Prychka ($75), 23. Justin Newhard ($75), 24. Matt Luzi ($75), 25. Dan Hulmes ($75)
DNS: Ethan Bill

STREET STOCKS: 1. Jeramy Doerr, 2. TJ Henry, 3. Mike Hughes, 4. Lee Allen, 5. Jeff Dirkes, 6. Tom Wills Jr., 7. Cole Stangle, 8. Drew Brocklebank, 9. Mike Creamer, 10. Nick Sandone III, 11. Terry Chaney, 12. Wes Camp

4 CYLINDERS: 1. Justin Dunn, 2. Joe Garey Sr., 3. Joe Beidermann, 4. Ed Ford, 5. Tim Jones, 6. Bobby Johnson, 7. Scott Dunn, 8. Eric Degler