Can Am Hosts Prestigious Pabst Shootout

By: Tim Baltz

LAFARGEVILLE, NY-It began as a special event to showcase the top drivers in local small block modified racing. Northeast Modified Hall of Famers Marcel Lafrance, Donnie Wetmore, Danny O’Brien, Buzzie Reutimann, Pat O’Brien and Steve Paine all have tasted victory in this coveted race. Other drivers will be looking to add their name to the list.

The Pabst Shootout for the Whitesboro Plow Shop DIRTcar 358 Modifieds was a staple at the Can Am Speedway for many years. Since it’s return in 2018 when Bobby Herrington outran Tim Fuller to the checkered flag, there have been no repeat winners. Billy Dunn, Erick Rudolph and Dave Marcuccilli have all won the most recent events, but many track regulars and invaders will be in the mix. Lance Willix, Ryan Bartlett, Jordan McCreadie, Derek Webb, Taylor Caprara and many others will be after the $2000 payday, all of which have had strong runs in 2022, with Webb claiming his first career win. 

The DIRTcar Sportsman Central Region Series will open for the first of two consecutive races. 

This event honors the late Kevin Fleming, a former DIRTcar Sportsman driver, who lost his life in a tragic accident at the New York State Fairgrounds. Fleming won a series race in 1995 at the speedway, as he held off Chuck Bower, Rusty VanTassel, Todd Burley and Butch Kane for the win. It was also the first time that a Can Am regular won a DIRTcar Sportsman Series race. Tyler Corcoran swept the 2021 events and will look to go for three in a row, which has never been done in the series at Can Am. Matt Butler, Joe Williams, Kevin Root and Corcoran are the only drivers to win back to back events.

After Can Am, the series heads to the Land of Legends Raceway, where Corcoran also won a year ago. This event will be a combined show with the East and drivers can earn points in both regions.

The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints return for their 52nd appearance at the Can Am Speedway. Since Johnny Brutcher won the debut event on July 30th of 1987, a total of 27 different drivers have gone to victory lane. Last year Matt Tanner broke a record of four consecutive wins by Paulie Colagiovanni but all drivers will be up on the wheel and ready for battle, as it’s the first event on Central New York Speedweeks and Jason Barney will look to start things off the right way, as he tries to defend his 2021 championship.

A little extra cash is on the line for the Marsha Gibbons TLC Real Estate Thundercar division on Wednesday night. T&T Property Services – Home Repair & Roofing specialists has posted $1000 to the winner which could bring some outside invaders into the mix and points leader Joe Orvis will look to defend home turf and take his second win of the season.

Pabst Blue Ribbon, T&T Property Services – Home Repair & Roofing Specialists, and Cooks Heating and Hardware Center will be on hand as title sponsors of the evening. Pit Gates open at 3:00pm with General Admission gates opening at 4:00pm. The drivers meeting will take place at 6:00pm sharp with Heat in Motors at 6:10 and Hot Laps at 6:20pm. Opening Ceremonies for the evening will kick off at 7:00pm by the lovely Miss Adirondack/Miss Thousand Islands and Heat Races will immediately follow.

Dirt Track Digest (DTD) continues to offer an on-demand digital viewing option for fans who cannot attend the races in person throughout the 2022 racing season. 


Adults (18+): $25

Students (5-17): $15

Under 5: Free

– GA Gate Reminder: NO COOLERS (including food or beverage). 


$40 US/$50 CAN

– Please use the Pit Gate for all MEDIA Admissions.

For more information about digital viewing on Dirt Track Digest, visit Dirt Track Digest is available for viewing on your computer browser, mobile device or on your television.