Blaney Travels East to Claim Walter Classic Payday at Clinton County Speedway

MILL HALL, PA – Hall of Fame Sprint Car Driver, Dale Blaney of Hartford, OH made the trek East on Interstate-80 to the Clinton County Speedway for Saturday’s Phil Walter Classic. Blaney set fast time and won the 35 lap feature event, taking home the $6,300 top prize. Tanner Jones won his second consecutive Central PA Legends feature at the speedway, while Larry Beachel won the 4 Cylinder stock car event.

Dale Blaney and Dale Schweikart of Linden started on the front row of the Phil Walter Classic 35 lap Sprint Car feature event. Schweikart and Blaney raced wheel to wheel for the first lap Schweikart edging out Blaney by inches at the start-finish line. Blaney was able to take the lead by the completion of lap number two. On lap number three the caution came out when Wyatt Walizer spun in turn number two. Blaney was quick on the gas for the restart and by lap number five, he had a few car-lengths advantage over Schweikart, Chris Frank, Billy Dietrich and Dustin Prettyleaf.

On lap number eight, Jordan Givler moved into the top five, as Blaney was closing in on the back of the field. On lap 11, Blaney started to encounter lapped traffic. As the leaders raced through lapped traffic, the battle for second through fifth place intensified. By lap 15, Blaney was continuing to navigate lapped traffic, while Schweikart, Frank and Dietrich were fighting for postion among the lapped cars. On lap 21, Dietrich passed Frank for the third spot, as they raced down the back straight. Dietrich and Schweikart raced through lapped traffic, as Blaney had established about a straightaway advantage until the caution came out on lap number 26 for Bill Jones.

On the restart, Dietrich was able to pass Schweikart for second, but had only nine laps to try and chase down Blaney. Blaney again showed his speed and began to distance himself from the field. With two laps to go, Blaney was leading Dietrich, Frank, Schweikart, and Givler. On the white flag lap, Garrett Bard moved into the top five. Blaney led the final lap to claim the win. Frank passed Dietrich coming to the checkers to take second, Dietrich was third followed by Schweikart and Bard. Sixth through tenth were Givler, Adam Carberry, AJ Flick, Dustin Prettyleaf and Josh Beamer. Heat races were won by Blaney, Frank and Schweikart. Blaney set fast time with a lap of 13.473 seconds.

Colton Friese and Scott Musselman led the field of Central PA Legends to the green flag for their 20 lap main event. Musselman led the opening lap. Fourth place starter, Devein Friese took the top spot by the completion of lap number two. On the fifth circuit, Tanner Jones who started sixth raced his way to the front to take the lead from Devin Friese. At the midway point of the race, Jones was leading Devin and Colton Friese followed by Jeremy Ott and Lincoln Kearchner. Ott moved into the third position on lap number 13. Jones continued to lead until the checkered flag to claim the victory over Devin Friese, Jeremy Ott, Colton Friese and Travis Perry. Sixth through tenth were Seth Kearchner, Chad Earnest, Logan Carbaugh, and Scott Musselman. Heat races were won by Jones and Devin Friese.

The Four cylinder feature came to the green flag with Anthony Potter and Jonathon Stringfellow on the front row. Stringfellow led the first lap, but a caution came out for an incident involving three cars in turns one and two. Following the restart Hunter Flook took the lead Zak Kline racing in second place. Larry Beachel, who started eighth moved into the third spot by lap number four. At the midway point, Flook and Beachel were battling for the lead. In the final laps, Beachel passed Flook and held him off for the win. Zak Kline was third, Skylar Phillips was fourth and Joey Snook was fifth. Heat races were won by Flook, Kyler Stahl and Stringfellow.

The Clinton County Speedway will host the Limited Late Models this Friday, with a four division show. The Pro Stocks, 270 Micros and the 4 cylinders will also be part of the program presented by Bob Boob and Century 21 – 1st Choice Realty. Kids 12 and under will also participate in a cash and candy scramble at intermission. Gates will open at 5PM and Hot laps are at 7PM.

For the latest speedway information visit the speedway’s website at or like us on Facebook.

Sprint Cars: 1. Dale Blaney 2. Chris Frank 3. Billy Dietrich 4. Dale Schweikart 5. Garrett Bard 6. Jordan Givler 7. Adam Carberry 8. AJ Flick 9. Dustin Prettyleaf 10. Josh Beamer 11. Darren Piffer 12. Derek Swartz 13. Austin Greenland 14. Darin Gallagher 15. Zach Burd 16. Tyler Rutherford 17. Karl Walizer 18. Shane Yost 19. Mike Thompson 20. Steve Buckwalter 21. Bill Jones 22. Steven Kisamore 23. Wyatt Walizer

Central PA Legends: 1. Tanner Jones 2. Devin Friese 3. Jeremy Ott, 4. Colton Friese. 5. Travis Perry 6. Seth Kearchner 7. Lincoln Kearchner 8. Chad Earnst 9. Logan Carbaugh 10. Scott Musselman 11. Rick Hartwig 12. Cory Phillips 13. Scott Spidle 14. Eric Hurst 15. Hunter McElroy 16. Ron Dick 17, Dave Benner 18. Matt Grebe

4 Cylinders: 1. Larry Beachel Jr 2. Hunter Flook 3. Zak Kline 4. Skyler Phillips 5. Joey Snook 6.Garrett Lucas 7. Bryun Hackenberg 8. Coty Maines 9. Kayla Leigey 10. Terry Karichner 11. Robert Dorman 12. Adam Harris 13. Devin Parks 14. Nick Snook 15. Brain Strouse 16. Anthony Potter 18. Summer Beachel 19. Jonathon Stringfellow 20. Michael Barrett 21. Matt Weaver 22. Kyler Stahl 23. Kyle Strouse.