Walker Wins In Thunder Mountain Open Modifieds – DTD Exclusive

By:  Bobby Sweeney

CENTER LISLE, NY – Points leader Shaun Walker showed why he is at the top of the standings, quickly charging from mid pack to the lead and holding off repeated challenges by Alan Barker and Billy Decker.

Jimmy Zacharias jumped from third to first at the start of the 35-lap Open Modified main, with Barker sliding into second in the opening circuits. A couple quick cautions helped Walker gain some ground, starting twelfth and breaking into the top five on lap eight. With Zacharias getting shuffled on a lap four restart and Barker taking the lead, a lap eleven yellow allowed for Walker to line up next to Barker.

Using the top, Walker rolled around Barker to steal the top spot on the restart. A little further back, Decker had been making time as well, climbing to third by lap 13. Walker wasted little time messing around with Barker and Decker, opening up almost a straightaway worth of lead by halfway. On lap 22, Decker snuck under Barker for second, but had some work to do to get near Walker.

A lap 24 caution nixed Walker’s lead, but Walker was unfazed, pulling away from Decker on the restart. Barker found renewed energy, pressuring Decker for second, while Corey Cormier and Brandon Walters went at it for fourth.

Traffic hit the leaders late, with Walker faced with some decisions on slower cars. The traffic thickened with a couple laps remaining, and Barker used this to regain second from Decker. However, Walker’s decisions were flawless, not giving Barker or Decker a chance to strike. When the checkered fell after 35 laps, it was Walker winning over Barker, Decker, Cormier, and Walters.

“We had a good piece, we started twelfth but got up through there pretty quick,” Walker said. “We had some traffic, but they played pretty nice and were easy to race around. Decker and Barker are good, but I was confident in the car we had down the stretch.”

Track Release – by Kyle Young

The show started with the Rookie 600cc Modified feature. Only three cars participated, but it was a competitive race as all three drivers saw the race lead at one point or another. By the time the checkered flag flew, it was Taylor Wilk leading Logan LaDue and Buck Mills Jr. to make a return trip to Victory Lane.

Mike Morse put up a dominating performance in the Pop’s Automotive Factory Stocks feature event. He wasted little time in getting to the front of the field, but he had to work hard to keep his #21 car out front. Grayson Albanese put up a great challenge for Mike throughout the first half of the race, but Mike proved to be too tough to beat and claimed the victory.

Following the Pop’s Automotive Factory Stocks were the 600cc Modifieds. Chris Jordan started on the pole and took command of the race in the first half. He didn’t go unchallenged as Doug Windhausen was able to figure something out after a red flag just after the halfway point. Windhausen challenged Jordan for the race lead for a few laps before taking it over with about five laps to go. He did not look back after taking over the top spot and cruised to victory.

The DIRTcar Sportsman feature was led early by pole sitter Mike Austin, but he would eventually sacrifice the lead to Will Eastman off of a restart. While Eastman was out front, Alan Fink was slowly working his way through the field from his 12th place starting spot. Fink would eventually take over the lead and appeared to be on his way to an easy victory, but the caution flag flew with just two laps remaining and erased his advantage on the field. Fink was perfect on the final restart and was able to hold off the field behind him to score his second win of the season.

It was a night of perfection for Jerry Lobdell Jr. in the Wheeler Excavation Street Stocks. After winning his heat race, Jerry was set to start in 8th place for the feature. It took him virtually no time to get to the front of the field and he was untouchable from that point on. He would go on to capture his second consecutive win of the season while Steven Deinhardt held off Damon Decker after the two of them fought very hard in the second half of the race for the 2nd position.

The DIRTcar 358 Modifieds were the penultimate feature of the night and they did not disappoint. Pole sitter Shayne Spoonhower led the race early from the pole, but he had his hands full with Brandon Walters the entire time. Walters looked great on the top side of the track, but struggled to complete the pass due to a fury of caution flag in the early going. Things finally went Walters’ way as he made the pass on Spoonhower and did not look back from that point on. “The Ice Cream Man” went on to claim the victory, his first of the season. Spoonhower finished in 2nd with Tom Eiklor, Corey Cormier, and Dave Marcuccilli rounding out the top five.

The Independence Day show came to a close with a very entertaining Rookie Sportsman feature. Jamie Kamrowski led the entirety of the race, but he had to work hard to keep himself out front. He was challenged early by Bryan Bartos, then had to deal with a late charge from Jonathan Fowlston. Kamrowski held his composure and fended them all off to pick up his second consecutive victory.

Next week’s show on Saturday, July 11th will see all classes return to the speedway with the addition of a Kids Bike Race.

Modified – Shaun Walker, Alan Barker, Billy Decker, Corey Cormier, Brandon Walters, Nick Nye, Chris Stull, Rick Wilk, Jimmy Zacharias, P.J. Goodwin, Danny Tyler, Eric Leet, Leah Decker, Chris Jordan, Marshall Hurd, Bailey Boyd, John Morse, Jesse Velez, Rusty Smith, Shayne Spoonhower, Ryan Jordan, Jeremy Smith, Marc Goodwin, Landon Cummings

DIRTcar 358 Modified – Brandon Walters, Shayne Spoonhower, Tom Eiklor, Corey Cormier, Dave Marcuuccilli, Michael Stanton, Taylor Meeks, Collin Dubois, Bob Henry Jr., Darren Smith, Jeff Taylor, Lance Willix, Colton Wilson, Roddy Watts, Jordan McCreadie, Ronnie Davis, Dylan Zacharias, Ryan MacArtney, Billy VanInwegen, Lucas Heintz, Cameron Black, Michael Prentice, Kirk Reynolds, Charles Loiodic

DIRTcar Sportsman – Alan Fink, Mike Austin, Will Eastman, Hunter Lapp, Matt Meade, Daryl Krebs, Rich Talada, Cody Jackson, Colby Herzog, Tom Collins, Mike Button, Dylan Zacharias, Amy Holland, Sean Beardsley, Isaiah Forward, Tim Guild, Steve Darling, A.J. Miller, Bobby Heintz, Tom Velez, Kevin Cook, Jason Parkhurst, Matt Richardson, Tyler Keener, Brandon Carvey, Stacy Jackson, Tim Falter, Todd Hayward, DNS – Jake Mason

Wheeler Excavation Street Stocks – Jerry Lobdell Jr, Steven Deinhardt, Damon Decker, Don Russell, Lanson Albanese, Gene Sharpsteen, Gary Roberts, Rich Sharpsteen, Cody Baker, Don Reeves, Craig Kranz, Bobby Wagner, Mike Wilbur, Kurt Decker, Eric Boynton, Cameron Searles, Jake Fowlston, DNS Earl Zimmer

600cc Modifieds – Doug Windhausen, Chris Jordan, Jake Waibel, Chad Mason, Nick Nye, Tom Donahue, Mark Golden, Ivan Forney, Eli Akshar, Larry Mekic, Chase Scutt, Brenton Miller, Justin LaDue, James Randall, Ali Scutt, Sharon Sealy, John Glover, Chelsie Beebe, Donnie Russell, Zack Mills, Devon Green, DNS – Damon Henry

Pop’s Automotive Factory Stocks – Mike Morse, Charlie Towner, Shawn Sabo, Grayson Albanese, Norm Whittemore, Levi Frink, Jerry Lobdell Jr., DNS – Will Jones

Rookie Sportsman – Jamie Kamrowski, Jonathan Fowlston, James Costlow, Jared Green Ray Reynolds, Billy Fiske, Michael Roach, Bryan Pospisil, Bryan Bartos, William Bradley Jr., DNS Riley Rogota, Dane Hedlund

Rookie 600cc Modifieds – Taylor Wilk, Logan LaDue, Buck Mills Jr