Chris Raabe Wins 358 Modified Feature At Cornwall

CORNWALL, ON – After a week without racing following the death of Mr. Claude Lavergne, father of Jacques and Raymond, the Cornwall track was once again hosting its Sunday racing program. 

The first main race was the Fun Zone Party Inflatables Novice Sportsman. Mathis Caron started on pole. He leads the first two laps before seeing Josh Jock pass him and then quickly take a big lead. On lap 9, however, Jock caught up with the lapped cars, which narrowed his lead, but not enough to worry him. Jock wins his first race in Cornwall, but his second race of the weekend after winning at Mohawk Speedway on Friday. Caron gets 2nd, followed by Sandy MacFarlane, Mario Dupuis and Stephane Fournier. 

The next race featured the Vintage class and it was won by Jason Riddell, while Pete Staphord won the 50s and 60s segment. 

We were now ready for the Alexandria Home Hardware Pro Stock class. Jocelyn Roy started on the pole. He was overtaken by Rock Aubin on the first lap, then a yellow flag was waved following an incident with Denis Hamel. Aubin chooses the outside on the restart and he manages to keep the lead. On lap 4, another yellow is waved for an incident between Thomas McDonald, Brandon MacMillan and Louie Jackson. Aubin chose the inside this time, but Bruno Richard managed to take the lead from the outside, however an incident involving Eric Jean-Louis, Denis Hamel and Brandon MacMillan caused another caution. Richard chooses the outside and takes a good lead, while Denis Gauvreau slips into 2nd place. On lap 19, Richard got a scare when Maxime Foley made a spin right in front of him. He manages to avoid it and resumes the recovery from the outside, and widens the gap just as quickly. A great battle is taking shape for 2nd place between Denis Gauvreau, Marc Lalonde and Rock Aubin, who finish in 2nd, 3rd and 4th place respectively, while Bruno Richard takes another victory, which constitutes both his 3rd victory of the weekend and his 3rd victory of the season in Cornwall. Honorable mention to Louie Jackson who completes the top 5 after starting in 11th place. 

The Picard Mobile Truck Repair Modified class was next. Carey Terrance starts on pole and chooses the outside. He managed to keep his lead despite constant opposition from Luke Whitteker. A fight between Whitteker and Chris Raabe is emerging for 2nd place. Raabe took possession of it on lap 9, before Whitteker took it back from him. These two drivers will swap positions for several laps, which makes for an excellent show. Then Raabe flies away and reaches Terrance. On lap 21, he even overtook the latter for first place. Raabe even manages to widen the lead. Meanwhile, Corey Wheeler approaches Whitteker, still third. Again, it is this battle that commands attention. The positions will remain unchanged until the checkered flag. Louie Jackson Jr imitates his father by also obtaining a 5th place. 

The final feature of the evening was the Sportsman. Ryan Stabler starts in pole position ahead of Tyler Givogue, two cars displaying the colors of series sponsor, Next Level Home Improvement. Stabler keeps his lead but Givogue stays close on the first lap. In the second lap,

Stabler widened his lead, which disappeared on the 5th lap due to a yellow flag for Tristan Ladouceur. Stabler regained the lead on the restart and Gabriel Cyr took 2nd place. Shane Pecore closes in on Cyr in round 9, and this battle was very exciting. Pecore grabbed 2nd place on lap 16. Stabler wins the race ahead of Pecore, Cyr, Givogue and Justin Lalancette. 

Concerning championships, please note that our 3 defending champions, Corey Wheeler (Modified), Ryan Stabler (Sportsman) and Alexis Charbonneau (Mini Stock), are still leading their respective classes. Since Pro Stock champ Dave Seguin retired, it’s Bruno Richard who leads the class right now. Novice Sportsman are not having a championship this season, each race is independent from the others. 


JOSHUA JOCK, Mathis Caron, Sandy MacFarlane, Mario Dupuis, Stéphane Fournier, Trevor Gaucher, Daylon Ezard, Gavin MacFarlane, Matt Prunner, Dan Ménard 


BRUNO RICHARD, Denis Gauvreau, Marc Lalonde, Rock Aubin, Louie Jackson, Jocelyn Roy, Eric Jean-Louis, James Clarke, Denis Hamel, Maxime Foley, Brandon MacMillan, Justin Jodoin, Thomas McDonald, Eric Loyer 


CHRIS RAABE, Carey Terrance, Luke Whitteker, Corey Wheeler, Louie Jackson Jr, Jonathan Ferguson, Joey Ladouceur, JF Corriveau, Kyle Dingwall, Gage Morin, Kevin Hamel, Lee Ladouceur, Brian McDonald, Tommy Jock, Corbin Millar 


RYAN STABLER, Shane Pecore, Gabriel Cyr, Tyler Givogue, Justin Lalancette, Gilles Godard, Cédric Gauvreau, Thomas Cook, William Racine, Dan Jalbert, Casey Swamp, Scott McGill, Adam Rozon, Fire Swamp, Justin Cyr, Steven Lajoie, Justin Desrosiers, Billy Cook, Tristan Ladouceur, Chris Ferguson, Donovan Lussier, Ricky Thompson