Steve Bernard Opens Cornwall Motor Speedway Season With Win

By:  Martin Belanger

CORNWALL, ON –  The Cornwall Motor Speedway kicked his 54th season as Mother Nature threw a curve ball just before the start of the program but we were able to complete the event with 129 total entries on Propane Levac Night

Johnathon Ferguson took the lead in the 75-lap Fat Les Chip Stand Canadian Nationals feature as caution came out on lap 3 for Samuel Charland. Ferguson had a good pace as he was about to catch the lap traffic when Jarrett Herbison slowed the field down on lap 12. Ferguson led the way with David Hebert moving up to second and Carey Terrance in third. While Hebert was pushing on getting the lead, Terrance had a flat tire and caution was out on lap 22. Steve Bernard was on rails as moved to third after starting 22nd with 25 laps completed. Bernard made some great moves and took the lead on lap 37 over Ferguson. Hebert moved to second on lap 43 using the inside of the speedway. Bernard was clicking off the laps with several changes in the top 5 with Ferguson back in second with some good battles with Tristan Draper now in third. Bernard in the lead with Hebert getting close with 5 laps to go. Bernard went on to capture the win in the Canadian Nationals as Hebert finished second with Ferguson completing the podium.

In the Race for the Cure Sportsman Series, Cedric Gauvreau pulled away from the field with Gabriel Cyr running in second as Tyler Givogue moved to third with 10 laps to go. As Gauvreau continued in front, Bobby Herrington made his way to second with 15 laps completed. The had a good pace with the leaders in heavy traffic with less than 20 laps to go. Herrington got closer to Gauvreau in the final 2 laps as both drivers swapped some paint but Gauvreau came on top and captured the win over Herrington with Donovan Lussier coming in third after battling for that position.

Marc Lalonde led the way in the 40-lap Clyde Sligner Pro-Stock Series as he had very good competition from Jocelyn Roy as Burton Ward running a solid third. A lap 35 restart was a game changer as Roy passed Lalonde on the restart as both drivers ran side by side for the final 2 laps with Lalonde being able to finish half a car length over Roy with Ward in third.

In the Eastern Ontario Mini-Stock Showdown feature, Jamie Larocque took the lead over the field of 28 as Brandon MacMillan and Pierre Picard in third. A few cautions in the first few laps as James Clarke moved to second with Picard in third, Clarke had a solid run as he took the lead with 10 laps in the books. Clarke had a solid car in front of Picard and Marc Dagenais in third. An accident on lap 22 brought in the yellow-checker and gave James Clarke his first win of the 2023 campaign.

Next week will have a complete show with the Eastern Ontario Vintage Club and while the Pro-stock will have a night off as racing will start at 6:30pm.

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website at you can add us on Facebook at , twitter at @cms_speedway, and now on Instagram under Cornwall Speedway, we will use these media platforms for results and contests over the summer.

Cornwall Motor Speedway Modified  Feature 1 (75 Laps): 1. 54-Steve Bernard[22]; 2. ONE-David Hebert[6]; 3. 44-Jonathan Ferguson[2]; 4. 17-Tristan Draper[4]; 5. 91-Felix Roy[5]; 6. 47S-Corey Wheeler[10]; 7. 18J-Louis Jackson Jr[7]; 8. 92P-Martin Pelletier[18]; 9. 66-Kyle Dingwall[14]; 10. R70-Ryan Arbuthnot[8]; 11. M16-Gage Morin[1]; 12. 37M-Mathieu Desjardins[20]; 13. 124C-Mario Clair[9]; 14. 77E-Ryan Stabler[12]; 15. 66X-Carey Terrance[3]; 16. 41-Samuel Charland[25]; 17. 18-Kalen Draper[28]; 18. 40-Gilles Godard[29]; 19. 21-Yan Bussiere[27]; 20. 38J-Jarrett Herbison[16]; 21. 13-Kevin Hamel[26]; 22. 23-Joey Ladouceur[11]; 23. 151-Brian McDonald[19]; 24. 88-Lee Ladouceur[13]; 25. 08-Chris Ferguson[30]; 26. 123-Yan Bilodeau[21]; 27. 54R-Even Racine[15]; 28. 15B-Brianna Ladouceur[23]; 29. 90-Dany Gagne[17]; 30. 26C-Luke Carleton[24]

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 41-Samuel Charland[2]; 2. 13-Kevin Hamel[1]; 3. 21-Yan Bussiere[3]; 4. 18-Kalen Draper[9]; 5. 40-Gilles Godard[6]; 6. 08-Chris Ferguson[4]; 7. 35-Francois Bellemare[5]; 8. 66M-Corbin Millar[10]; 9. 17M-Gavin MacFarlane[8]; 10. SS3-Sandy MacFarlane[7]

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 23-Joey Ladouceur[1]; 2. 47S-Corey Wheeler[2]; 3. M16-Gage Morin[3]; 4. 88-Lee Ladouceur[4]; 5. 90-Dany Gagne[5]; 6. 123-Yan Bilodeau[6]; 7. 13-Kevin Hamel[7]; 8. 35-Francois Bellemare[8]; 9. 18-Kalen Draper[9]

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 17-Tristan Draper[1]; 2. 124C-Mario Clair[2]; 3. 66X-Carey Terrance[3]; 4. 66-Kyle Dingwall[4]; 5. 92P-Martin Pelletier[5]; 6. 54-Steve Bernard[6]; 7. 41-Samuel Charland[7]; 8. 40-Gilles Godard[8]; 9. 66M-Corbin Millar[9]

Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 18J-Louis Jackson Jr[1]; 2. 44-Jonathan Ferguson[2]; 3. 91-Felix Roy[3]; 4. 54R-Even Racine[4]; 5. 151-Brian McDonald[5]; 6. 15B-Brianna Ladouceur[6]; 7. 21-Yan Bussiere[7]; 8. SS3-Sandy MacFarlane[8]

Heat 4 (10 Laps): 1. 77E-Ryan Stabler[1]; 2. ONE-David Hebert[2]; 3. R70-Ryan Arbuthnot[3]; 4. 38J-Jarrett Herbison[4]; 5. 37M-Mathieu Desjardins[5]; 6. 26C-Luke Carleton[6]; 7. 08-Chris Ferguson[7]; 8. (DNF) 17M-Gavin MacFarlane[8]

Hot Laps 1 (3 Laps): 1. 23-Joey Ladouceur, 00:12.877[4]; 2. 47S-Corey Wheeler, 00:12.905[2]; 3. M16-Gage Morin, 00:12.911[5]; 4. 13-Kevin Hamel, 00:12.989[6]; 5. 18-Kalen Draper, 00:13.039[7]; 6. 123-Yan Bilodeau, 00:13.052[1]; 7. 90-Dany Gagne, 00:13.216[8]; 8. 35-Francois Bellemare, 00:13.271[3]; 9. 88-Lee Ladouceur, 00:13.271[9]

Hot Laps 2 (3 Laps): 1. 17-Tristan Draper, 00:12.969[2]; 2. 124C-Mario Clair, 00:13.017[6]; 3. 66-Kyle Dingwall, 00:13.095[3]; 4. 66X-Carey Terrance, 00:13.116[8]; 5. 92P-Martin Pelletier, 00:13.178[9]; 6. 54-Steve Bernard, 00:13.344[5]; 7. 66M-Corbin Millar, 00:13.347[7]; 8. 40-Gilles Godard, 00:13.501[1]; 9. 41-Samuel Charland, 00:14.718[4]

Hot Laps 3 (3 Laps): 1. 18J-Louis Jackson Jr, 00:13.140[4]; 2. 44-Jonathan Ferguson, 00:13.140[1]; 3. 91-Felix Roy, 00:13.151[8]; 4. 54R-Even Racine, 00:13.279[5]; 5. 15B-Brianna Ladouceur, 00:13.351[2]; 6. 21-Yan Bussiere, 00:13.389[7]; 7. 151-Brian McDonald, 00:13.543[6]; 8. SS3-Sandy MacFarlane, 00:14.464[3]

Hot Laps 4 (3 Laps): 1. 77E-Ryan Stabler, 00:13.233[3]; 2. ONE-David Hebert, 00:13.257[1]; 3. 38J-Jarrett Herbison, 00:13.341[4]; 4. R70-Ryan Arbuthnot, 00:13.467[2]; 5. 37M-Mathieu Desjardins, 00:13.542[8]; 6. 26C-Luke Carleton, 00:13.576[6]; 7. 08-Chris Ferguson, 00:13.716[7]; 8. 17M-Gavin MacFarlane, 00:13.804[5]