Mario Clair Wins Round 2 Of Canadian Nationals At Cornwall

By:  Martin Belanger

CORNWALL, ON – One of the biggest shows of the season was presented at Cornwall Motor Speedway with the Canadian Nationals Modified, Race for the Cure Sportsman, Farnham Ale Lager Pro-Stock Series along with the Lightning Sprints and Ricks Ranch Mini-Stock. 

Sam Charland took the early lead in the Fat Les Chip Stand Canadian Nationals 75-lap feature over Mario Clair and Yan Bussiere. The leaders were in heavy traffic by lap 10. Gage Morin moved to third as Clair used the outside lane to pass Charland on lap 18. David Hebert brought caution on lap 21. Clair to the lead with Bussiere challenging Charland for second. Clair in front of Bussiere as Corey Wheeler moved to third just before halfway point. Wheeler was quick using the lane as he passed Bussiere and Clair on the same lap to take the lead on lap 41. Tommy Jock brought caution on lap 46. A good battle for the lead between Wheeler and Clair on the restart as Carey Terrance moved to third on lap 50. Clair used a lap car to grab the lead on Wheeler with 10 laps to go. The last laps of the event was pretty exciting as both leaders were in battle with a lap car as Clair won the $4,000 at the finish line over Wheeler and Terrance. 

In the 50-lap Race for the Cure Sportsman feature, Brennan Moore and Delbert Legrow in battle for the lead with Shane Pecore in the mix. Moore took the lead over Pecore and Legrow with 5 laps in the books. Tristan Ladouceur brought the yellow on lap 6. Moore to the lead in front of Pecore and Bobby Herrington moving to third. Yellow was out on lap 16. On the restart, Pecore grabbed the lead over Moore as the race was slowed down in turn 4. Pecore had a good lead with Gabriel Cyr moving up to second with Herrington in third. Pecore was the leader at halfway point over Cyr and Herrington in third. Pecore in front Herrington and Cedric Gauvreau now in third with less than 10 laps to go. While Pecore and Herrington were the top 2, Luke Whitteker moved to third after starting 23rd. Pecore led the final portion of the race and won his 2nd feature of the season over Herrington and Gauvreau. 

Kevin Fetterly led the first lap in the 50-lap Farnham Ale and Lager Pro-Stock Series as caution was out on lap 1. A few cautions slowed the first portion as Fetterly was joined by Marc Lalonde and Burton Ward. Lalonde used a lap 6 restart to take the lead over Fetterly with Gabriel Caouette in third. Lalonde in front with some position shuffle behind him with Ward back in second with 15 laps in. Some changes in the lead as Ward passed Lalonde with less than 20 laps to go. A great battle for the lead as Lalonde, Fetterly and Ward exchanged the lead for several laps. Ward came out as the feature winner over Fetterly and Lalonde. 

The Ricks Ranch Mini-Stock was the last feature of the evening as James Clarke took the lead over Antoine Dumouchel and Carl Gorry. Some good battle as several drivers challenged Clarke for the lead. Clarke never let go and captured the feature over Dumouchel and Travis Lamarche. 

Simon Jacques took the lead in the 25-lap Lightning Sprints as Xavier Lauzon grabbed the lead on lap 3 with Etienne Arpin in third. Caution came out on lap 7. Lauzon to the lead over Jacques with Roland Pleau moving to third. Jacques pulled to the infield and lost his second spot. Pleau lost a wheel and rolled over in turn 1 on lap 16, Pleau was ok. Lauzon led the final laps to win his first feature of the season.

Next week we have another great show with the only visit of the Northeast Late Model Alliance, 358-Modified, Sportsman, Street-Stock and Vintage. 

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website at you can add us on Facebook at , twitter at @cms_speedway, and now on Instagram under Cornwall Speedway, we will use these media platforms for results and contests over the summer.

358 Modified JLB Heating and Cooling 29 Entries

A Feature 1 75 Laps | 00:25:36.450

1.124C-Mario Clair[1]; 2. 47S-Corey Wheeler[5]; 3. 66X-Carey Terrance[6]; 4. M16-Gage Morin[3]; 5. 66-Kyle Dingwall[14]; 6. 91-Felix Roy[10]; 7. 54-Steve Bernard[11]; 8. 18JR-Louis Jackson Jr[12]; 9. ONE-David Hebert[8]; 10. 21-Yan Bussiere[4]; 11. 88L-Jeffrey Lapalme[23]; 12. 77E-Ryan Stabler[7]; 13. 44-Johnathon Ferguson[15]; 14. 38J-Jarrett Herbison[24]; 15. 17-Tristan Draper[19]; 16. 40-Gilles Godard[22]; 17. 15B-Brianna Ladouceur[21]; 18. 23-Joey Ladouceur[17]; 19. 18-Kalen Draper[13]; 20. (DNF) 41-Samuel Charland[2]; 21. (DNF) 31-Tommy Jock Jr[27]; 22. (DNF) 13-Kevin Hamel[18]; 23. (DNF) 100-Dan Reif[28]; 24. (DNF) 17M-Gavin MacFarlane[25]; 25. (DNF) 19-Tim Fuller[9]; 26. (DNF) 08-Chris Ferguson[26]; 27. (DNF) 151KB-Brian McDonald[20]; 28. (DNF) 88-Lee Ladouceur[29]; 29. (DNF) 92P-Martin Pelletier[16]


Sportsman Next Level Home Improvement 32 Entries

A Feature 1 50 Laps | 00:37:14.278

1,0-Shane Pecore[3]; 2. 88Z-Bobby Herrington[10]; 3. 22C-Cedric Gauvreau[5]; 4. 38-Luke Whitteker[23]; 5. 94-Gabriel Cyr[4]; 6. 00-Donovan Lussier[17]; 7. 71-Delbert LaGrow Jr[1]; 8. 35-Thomas Cook[8]; 9. 3-Adam Rozon[19]; 10. 29D-Justin Desrosiers[16]; 11. 1F-Terry Ladouceur[25]; 12. 16-Matthew Prunner[29]; 13. 27D-Mario Dupuis[14]; 14. 18JR-Denis Rose[28]; 15. M70-Billy Cook[26]; 16. 88S-Frederic Scott[31]; 17. 35B-Brennan Moore[2]; 18. (DNF) 22S-Shane Stearns[27]; 19. (DNF) 8KL-Karl Letendre[12]; 20. (DNF) 35D-Dylan Moore[6]; 21. (DNF) 88K-Dylan Kirkland[21]; 22. (DNF) 92T-Tristan Ladouceur[7]; 23. (DNF) 48D-Sylvain Dupuis[20]; 24. (DNF) 85-Tyler Givogue[15]; 25. (DNF) 25-Bob Ray[22]; 26. (DNF) 21T-Trey Ladouceur[30]; 27. (DNF) 94J-Justin Cyr[13]; 28. (DNF) 04-Scott McGill[11]; 29. (DNF) 37-Marc Olivier McCarthy[24]; 30. (DNF) 3X-Dan Jalbert[9]; 31. (DNF) X41-Xavier Perrin[18]


Pro-Stock Alexandria Home Hardware 28 Entries

A Feature 1 50 Laps | 00:43:21.802

1.28-Burton Ward[6]; 2. 57K-Kevin Fetterly Jr[2]; 3. 8-Marc Lalonde[10]; 4. 22-Gabriel Caouette[9]; 5. 33-Bruno Cyr[20]; 6. 48-Jocelyn Roy[12]; 7. 4-Rock Aubin[28]; 8. 35-Jonathan Lemay[14]; 9. 194-Yves Hamel[3]; 10. 07-Robert Larocque[11]; 11. 01-Francois Adam[19]; 12. 17-Marc Peladeau[17]; 13. 15-Jonathan Viens[16]; 14. 72G-Denis Gauvreau[13]; 15. 55-Joel Renaud[4]; 16. 22B-Blayne Nichols[21]; 17. 27-Thomas MacDonald[25]; 18. 38JR-Justin Chaput[7]; 19. 11-Stephane Lariviere[8]; 20. 32-Jonathan Levesque[15]; 21. 97-Etienne Levesque[18]; 22. 00-Ian Bressette[5]; 23. 9-Eric Jean Louis[1]; 24. 81-Danny Larose[23]; 25. 62-Jayson Tolhurst[27]; 26. AK47-Joel Herne[24]; 27. 3-Mike Gaucher[22]; 28. 64-Daniel Desnoyers[26]


Lightning Sprints 17 Entries

A Feature 1 25 Laps | 00:10:28.287

1.96-Xavier Lauzon[6]; 2. 28G-Maxime Grenon[5]; 3. 716-Daniel Demers[8]; 4. 20X-Etienne Arpin[2]; 5. 79S-Sabrina Blanchet[13]; 6. 44-Eric Boisvert[14]; 7. 57-David Daoust[12]; 8. 21B-Benjamin Chouinard[3]; 9. 13-Jean Christophe Bolduc[9]; 10. 78-Tommy Decoste[10]; 11. 740-Benjamin Malo[7]; 12. 702-Nikos Halikas[15]; 13. 37X-Mark Grant[16]; 14. 721-Jean Francois Leblanc[11]; 15. (DNS) 10-Roland Pleau; 16. (DNS) 54-Simon Jacques


Mini-Stock Ricks Ranch 18 Entries

A Feature 1 20 Laps | 00:10:53.110

  1. 2X-James Clarke[1]; 2. 7-Antoine Dumouchel[2]; 3. 93M-Travis Lamarche[9]; 4. 7M-Dan Cook[5]; 5. 23B-Brandon Macmillan[8]; 6. 48-Carl Gorry[3]; 7. 75-Emily Massy[10]; 8. 21-Marc André Voyer[4]; 9. 83-Steven Boies[13]; 10. 03C-Colin Chisamore[14]; 11. 24-Sebastien Lussier[15]; 12. 88-Jake Larocque[17]; 13. 90-Christopher Proulx[7]; 14. 114-Felix Lavictoire[6]; 15. (DNF) 15B-Adrian Black[12]; 16. (DNF) 87C-Christopher Cordeau[11]; 17. (DNF) 30B-Jean Cedrick Bouchard[18]; 18. (DNF) 5M-Cameron Malloy[16]