2023 Champions Are Crowned At Cornwall Motor Speedway

Made with LogoLicious Add Your Logo App

By:  Martin Belanger

CORNWALL, ON – It was championship night at Cornwall Motor Speedway with over 125 cars in attendance as Jim Performance was the title sponsor. With track and series titles on the line, a lot of good action on the speedway.

In the 100-lap Fat Les Chip Stand Canadian Nationals, Carey Terrance and Gage Morin swapped the lead in the first few laps as Sam Charland got on fire and red was out on lap 7. On the restart, Terrance was back in the lead with Morin in second and Brian McDonald running in third. The leaders got into lap traffic as Brianna Ladouceur caught fire and a second red was out on lap 20. Terrance pulled away from the field as Mario Clair started to make some noise moving up to third by lap 30. Terrance in front with Morin as many positions were swapped behind him. Terrance was really quick in front of Kyle Dingwall having a strong showing with Felix Roy back in third. Roy used the inside lane and passed Dingwall on lap 81. Terrance fends off a few charges from Roy to capture the win as Felix Roy got second enough to help him clinch the 2023 Fat Les Chip Stand Canadian Nationals and Corey Wheeler is the JLB Heating and Cooling Modified champion!

Bryan Preville to the lead in the 50-lap Race for the Cure Sportsman Series feature with Shane Pecore in second as first caution came out on lap 4. Preville and Pecore in battle for the lead as the leaders were in heavy traffic by halfway point as caution came out on lap 27. Preville had a good start over Pecore as they pulled away from the field as caution came out with 16 laps to go. Pecore was able to take the lead on lap 40 over Preville. An exciting finish as Thomas Cook found something on top and passed Pecore on the final lap to win the event! Gabriel Cyr was crowned the track champion as Shane Pecore won the Race for the Cure Series and the RSI Industrial Heat Championship.

Kevin Fetterly was the early leader in the 40-lap Clyde Sligner/Farnham Ale Lager Pro-Stock Series but got passed by Rock Aubin in the first few laps. Gabriel Caouette moved in the lead pack and took the lead from Aubin on lap 16. A good battle in front between Caouette, Fetterly and Aubin for the lead as laps went down. Caouette went on the win his first feature in Cornwall. Marc Lalonde was crowned the 2023 Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock Champion.

The 20-lap Eastern Ontario Mini-Stock Showdown completed the evening as Pierre Picard took the lead in the early portion with Anthony Laflamme in second and Carl Gorry in third. The leaders got together, and Travis Lamarche took the lead. Marc-Andre Voyer was quick and grabbed the lead and led the final portion and got his first feature win as James Clarke was crown the Ricks Ranch Mini-Stock champion and Pierre Picard the Eastern Ontario Mini-Stock Showdown.

In the 15-lap Fun Zone Inflatables Skylar Ladouceur was the class of the field as he led the event.

We will move to Fireball Enduro Weekend next Saturday and Sunday, the annual event promises to bring a lot of cars and people in the stands, racing will start at 2pm on both days.

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website at www.cornwallspeedway.com you can add us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/cornwallspeedway , twitter at @cms_speedway, and now on Instagram under Cornwall Speedway, we will use these media platforms for results and contests over the summer.

358 Modified JLB Heating and Cooling 27 Entries
A Feature 1 125 Laps | 00:38:25.171
1. 66X-Carey Terrance[2]; 2. 91-Felix Roy[6]; 3. 66-Kyle Dingwall[7]; 4. 47S-Corey Wheeler[9]; 5. ONE-David Hebert[18]; 6. 13-Kevin Hamel[17]; 7. 23-Joey Ladouceur[15]; 8. 124C-Mario Clair[10]; 9. M16-Gage Morin[1]; 10. 21-Yan Bussiere[11]; 11. 77E-Ryan Stabler[23]; 12. 88L-Jeffrey Lapalme[13]; 13. 36-Chantal Provencher[19]; 14. (DNF) 151KB-Brian McDonald[5]; 15. (DNF) 18-Kalen Draper[16]; 16. (DNF) 44-Johnathon Ferguson[20]; 17. (DNF) 40-Gilles Godard[14]; 18. (DNF) 18JR-Louis Jackson Jr[22]; 19. (DNF) 35-Francois Bellemare[4]; 20. (DNF) 66M-Corbin Millar[26]; 21. (DNF) 17M-Gavin MacFarlane[21]; 22. (DNF) 15B-Brianna Ladouceur[8]; 23. (DNF) 21X-Robert Delormier[12]; 24. (DNF) 41-Samuel Charland[3]; 25. (DNF) 1W-Dan Reif[27]; 26. (DNS) 88X-Luke Whitteker; 27. (DNS) 08-Chris Ferguson

Sportsman Next Level Home Improvement 33 Entries
A Feature 1 50 Laps | 00:36:31.109
1.35-Thomas Cook[6]; 2. 0-Shane Pecore[4]; 3. 51-Bryan Preville[2]; 4. 35R-William Racine[10]; 5. 91-Matthieu Laramee[7]; 6. 22C-Cedric Gauvreau[5]; 7. 85-Tyler Givogue[1]; 8. 94-Gabriel Cyr[18]; 9. 88Z-Bobby Herrington[17]; 10. 3-Adam Rozon[12]; 11. 8KL-Karl Letendre[11]; 12. 92T-Tristan Ladouceur[3]; 13. 3KL-Keven Letendre[9]; 14. 29D-Justin Desrosiers[16]; 15. 03-Joshua Jock[20]; 16. 72B-Brandon Beauregard[24]; 17. 22G-Gorden Clair[15]; 18. 00-Donovan Lussier[23]; 19. ONE-Daphne Hebert[13]; 20. (DNF) 04-Scott McGill[14]; 21. (DNF) 111-Alexandre Rodier[8]; 22. (DNF) 82-Denis Forgues[25]; 23. (DNF) 48D-Sylvain Dupuis[22]; 24. (DNF) 1-Justin Lalancette[26]; 25. (DNF) 94J-Justin Cyr[19]; 26. (DNF) 98-Domonick Merkley[31]; 27. (DNF) 27D-Mario Dupuis[30]; 28. (DNF) 21L-Terry Ladouceur[27]; 29. (DNF) 16-Matthew Prunner[28]; 30. (DNF) 38S-Sean Imbeault[29]; 31. (DNF) 88K-Dylan Kirkland[21]; 32. (DNF) 1W-Dan Reif[32]

Pro-Stock Alexandria Home Hardware 26 Entries
A Feature 1 50 Laps | 00:37:17.866
1. 22-Gabriel Caouette[7]; 2. 57K-Kevin Fetterly Jr[1]; 3. 4-Rock Aubin[4]; 4. 15-Guy Viens[5]; 5. 28-Burton Ward[13]; 6. 48-Jocelyn Roy[17]; 7. 33-Bruno Cyr[10]; 8. 194-Yves Hamel[9]; 9. 22B-Blayne Nichols[12]; 10. 35-Jonathan Lemay[14]; 11. 1A-Denis Hamel[23]; 12. 27-Thomas MacDonald[3]; 13. 55-Joel Renaud[20]; 14. 07-Robert Larocque[26]; 15. 17-Marc Péladeau[19]; 16. 3-Mike Gaucher[21]; 17. (DNF) 64-Daniel Desnoyers[2]; 18. (DNF) 72G-Denis Gauvreau[24]; 19. (DNF) 9-Eric Jean Louis[18]; 20. (DNF) 71-Delbert LaGrow Jr[15]; 21. (DNF) 9S-Keegan Stowell[22]; 22. (DNF) 8-Marc Lalonde[8]; 23. (DNF) 32-Jonathan Levesque[16]; 24. (DNF) 44X-Bruno Richard[11]; 25. (DNF) 38JR-Justin Chaput[6]; 26. (DNF) 97-Etienne Levesque[25]

Mini-Stock Ricks Ranch 27 Entries
A Feature 1 25 Laps | 00:19:36.738
1. 21-Marc André Voyer[15]; 2. 48-Carl Gorry[7]; 3. 40-Anthony Laflamme[5]; 4. 30-Marc Dagenais[12]; 5. 7-Antoine Dumouchel[20]; 6. 83B-Sebastien Raymond Beauregard[19]; 7. 15B-Adrian Black[1]; 8. 37-Matt Boal[14]; 9. 23B-Brandon Macmillan[21]; 10. 87C-Christopher Cordeau[11]; 11. 49-Christian Charbonneau[2]; 12. TEN-Mathieu Deschamps[18]; 13. 90-Christopher Proulx[17]; 14. 73-Dakota Boal[8]; 15. (DNF) 93M-Travis Lamarche[9]; 16. (DNF) 60-Sylvain Charest[13]; 17. (DNF) 83-Steven Boies[3]; 18. (DNF) TJ35-Tyler Lamarche[22]; 19. (DNF) 88-Jake Larocque[25]; 20. (DNF) 21W-Arthur Wilson[26]; 21. (DNF) 7C-Chris Cotton[4]; 22. (DNF) 114-Felix Lavictoire[16]; 23. (DNF) 48L-Xavier Metivier[24]; 24. (DNF) 2X-James Clarke[10]; 25. (DNS) 30B-Jean Cedrick Bouchard; 26. (DNS) 7M-Dan Cook; 27. (DQ) 88C-Pierre Picard[6]

Sportsman Novice Fun Zone Inflatables 15 Entries
A Feature 1 20 Laps | 00:12:27.765
1. 21L-Skylar Ladouceur[3]; 2. 25-Pierre Picard[12]; 3. 82-Nicolas Mainville[2]; 4. 911-Nick Merkley[9]; 5. 80D-Damien King[7]; 6. X23-Daniel Menard[1]; 7. 1W-Kyle Reif[8]; 8. 18JR-Denis Rose[11]; 9. 9-Marc Boulerice[10]; 10. 7J-Jacory Thompson[13]; 11. 22D-Daylon Ezard[14]; 12. 09-Charlotte Morin[5]; 13. 17M-Madie Wallace[4]; 14. 21T-Trey Ladouceur[6]; 15. (DNS) 14-Ty David