Mill Returns to Delaware International Speedway Victory Lane


DELMAR, DE – A pit packed with over 100 race teams and a great crowd in the stands was the perfect combination for a great night of racing on Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway. The NAPA Big Block Modified turned into a “family feud” as JoJo Watson and his uncle, Jamie Mills put on a great lead battle. Nick Davis ran and hid from the S.R. Pete & Sons Late Model field and Scott Hitchens won the 20-lap Fall Championship qualifier for the AC Delco PSC Sportsman. Other winners included Derek Magee in the RUSH Crate Late Models, James Hill in the Mod Lites, Mark Williams in the Vintage Cars and Landy Adams in the Little Lincoln Cars.

Last year’s Rookie of the Year, Brandon Watkins looked like an aged veteran as he paced the field at the start. Two yellows in the first two laps involving Howard O’Neal and Kevin Sockriter kept the field tightly bunched. It became a father/son battle on lap four when Bobby Watkins got around Daniel Johnson, Jr. and went to work on catching his son.

While that was happening, JoJo Watson and Jamie Mills were threading their way through the top ten and up into third and fourth with Scott VanGorder holding on to fifth. On lap 12, Watson and Mill got together in the second turn. Watson did a 360 degree spin but kept moving as did Mills. The caution came out but the pair was able to keep their positions because neither came to a stop.

Mills got by Watson on the restart and moved in to challenge Bobby Watkins. The pair made contact with Watkins getting around bringing out the yellow. On the restart Watson got by Mills and took the lead from Brandon Watkins and Mills followed into second. With four laps left to go. Mills turned up the wick and moved on top to stay. Mills took the win with JoJo Watson second and VanGorder a solid third. Fourth went to H.J. Bunting and Brandon Watkins earned fifth. Heats were won by Sockriter and Mills.

A solid field of S.R. Pete & Sons Super Late Models were on hand on Saturday night. Nick Davis served notice to the field and he ran away and hid in the heat. Davis would start on the pole in the feature and blasted out front at the drop of the green.

Herb Tunis held the second spot until lap five when Mark Pettyjohn dropped him to third. Davis narrowly escaped disaster on that lap when he made contact with a slower car then had another spin directly in front of him to bring out the first yellow.

With clean air in front of him Davis again was able to speed away from the field on the restart. Pettyjohn and Tunis continued to swap second and third until Ross Robinson drove by Tunis for third. Davis never let up his torrid pace and drove to the checkered with Pettyjohn holding off Pettyjohn for second and third. Tunis ended a great drive in fourth and second heat winner, Donald Lingo, Jr. rounded out the top five.

The AC Delco PSC 602 Sportsman competed in a 20-lap Fall Championship qualifier. Danny Smack looked strong from the drop of the green and paced the field as Jason Rush worked his way by Matt Smith for second. Scott Hitchens was on his way to the front after starting in tenth and was up to third just prior to halfway.

The first caution came at halfway and on the restart Rush went to work on Smack taking the lead two laps later. Hitchens followed into second and flat footed it into turn three on the outside to take the lead with five to go. Hitchens opened a slight lead but it was enough to hold off Rush for the win. Smith finished in the third spot with Jordn Justice coming from deep in the field to finish in fourth and Joe Tracy recovered from a mid-race tangle to finish in fifth. Heats were won by Hitchens and Trey Hicks.

Derek Magee took full advantage of his pole starting spot in the 15-lap RUSH Crate Late Model feature. Magee quickly settled into the bottom groove as Matt Glanden and Brandon Sturgis battled for second. Opening week winner, Joe Warren got by Glanden for third just before halfway.

Magee would survive two mid-race cautions and make no mistakes as he held off Sturgis for his first win of the season. Sturgis was able to turn back the challenges of Warren to finish in second with Warren third, Glanden fourth and Sparky White fifth. Heats for the 19 cars were won by Glanden and Warren.

Jake Nelson led the first lap of the 15-lap Mod Lite feature before Ray Gulliver moved on top. James Hill came from the rear of the field to take second from Nelson on lap three and began to reel in the leader. Hill was able to make the pass at the halfway sign an drive to his second straight win. Gulliver exploded an engine but coasted across the line for second with Tim White third. Nick Nash finished in fourth and Nelson rounded out the top five. The race was run caution free. White and Hill won the heats.

Ron Myer led the first seven laps of the Vintage Stock Car feature before Mark Williams edged out front. Williams had to hold off Myer for the remainder of the distance to take the win. Third went to C.J. Schirmer with Oscar Fields fourth and Josh Smith finishing first Sportsman in fifth.

A great three car battle developed from the drop of the green in the 12-lap Little Lincoln/Street Stock feature. Kirk Lawson led until lap five when he got trapped behind a slower car. Landy Adams shot into the lead and held off Lawson and Mel Joseph, Jr. the rest of the distance for the win. T.J. Henry finished in the fourth spot and was first Street Stock.

NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Jamie Mills; 2. JoJo Watson; 3. Scott VanGorder; 4. H.J. Bunting; 5. Brandon Watkins; 6. Robert Dutton; 7. Michael White; 8. Matt Hawkins; 9. Howard O’Neal; 10. Dale Hawkins; 11. Kenneth Peek; 12. Carson Wright; 13. Daniel Johnson, Jr.; 14. T.J. Williams; 15. Westley Smith; 16. Jordan Watson; 17. Jeff Brown; 18. Bobby Watkins; 19. Kevin Sockriter; 20. Kyle Fuller.

S.R. Pete & Sons Super Late Model Finish: 1. Nick Davis; 2. Mark Pettyjohn; 3. Ross Robinson; 4. Herb Tunis; 5. Donald Lingo, Jr.; 6. Kerry King; 7. Dylan Evans; 8. Amanda Whaley; 9. Andrew Mullins; 10. Rob Schirmer; 11. Kevin Scott, Jr.; 12. Jason Dean; 13. Bob Geiger; 14. Reese Masiello; 15. Kellie Lewis; 16. Geoff Carey; 17. Max Robichaud.

AC Delco PSC 602 Sportsman Finish: 1. Scott Hitchens; 2. Jason Rush; 3. Matt Smith; 4. Jordn Justice; 5. Joe Tracy; 6. Danny Smack; 7. Ryan Riddle; 8. Trey Hicks; 9. Brandon Dennis; 10. Adam White; 11. Nick Alberti; 12. Robert Riley III; 13. Jeff Marker; 14. David Jenkins; 15. Dwayne Crockett.

RUSH Crate Late Model Finish: 1. Derek Magee; 2. Brandon Sturgis; 3. Joe Warren; 4. Matt Gladen; 5. Sparky White; 6. Matt Hill; 7. Mike Wharton; 8. Chip Disharoon; 9. Wes Clifton; 10. Tyler Reed; 11. Mike Wilson; 12. Paul McGinley; 13. Travis Justice; 14. Trevor Collins; 15. Robert Paczkowski; 16. Richard Harden; 17. Scott Tessman; 18. Charles Shawver; 19. Kevin White.

Mod Lite Finish: 1. James Hill; 2. Ray Gulliver; 3. Tim White; 4. Nick Nash; 5. Jake Nelson; 6. Curt Miles, Jr.; 7. Aaron VanVorst; 8. James Wood; 9. Brian Gladden; 10. Harry Mears; 11. Kirk Miles, Sr.; 12. Jason Musser.

Vintage Finish: 1. Mark Williams; 2. Ron Myer; 3. C.J. Schirmer; 4. Oscar Fields; 5. Josh Smith (1st Sportsman); 6. Todd Miller; 7. Kelly Putz; 8. Kerry King; 9. Don Davidson; 10. Chris Loveland; 11. David Tucker; 12. Dwayne Heck; 13. Todd Lapp; 14. Dave Schamp; 15. John Burton; 16. Freddy Brightbill..

Little Lincoln/Street Finish: 1. Landy Adams; 2. Kirk Lawson; 3. Mel Joseph, Jr.; 4. T.J. Henry (1st Street Stock); 5. Joe Tracy; 6. Matt White; 7. Bunky White; 8. Jordan Herbert; 9. Wesley Smack; 10. Dave White; 11. 69 SS; 12. 22. SS: 13. Shawn Smith.