Joseph Watson Notches Fourth Win on Pepsi Night At Delaware

Written By: Alison Watson

DELMAR, DE – Joseph Watson rebounds from qualifying woes to win his fourth Hurlock Auto and Speed Big Block Modified feature of the year. “I was praying we had everything on the front end tight. It looked like a war wagon out here,” said Watson in victory lane.

Carson Wright started on the pole position, taking a commanding lead on the field utilizing the topside of the racing surface. A lap 11 restart put the season’s winningest driver, Joseph Watson on Wright’s heels, after starting in the 17th position.

Watson patiently peeked to the bottom of Wright for five laps, with Wright maintaining the faster line off the top. On lap 17, Watson finally completed the pass out of turn four for the lead.

Watson would go unchallenged with Wright, Bunting, Matt Hawkins, and Brad Trice rounding out the top five.

Noteworthy was Jordn Justice who suffered mechanical failures on lap 22 while running a competitive third position.

Ryan Riddle changed his luck after a mediocre July, taking the lead on lap eight to capture the AC Delco Crate Modified feature event. Danny Smack continued his consistency in second, with Greg Humlhanz, Nick Alberti, and Adam White rounding out the top five.

James Hill jumped to an early lead and continued his winning streak in the Modified Lite feature event. Aaron VanVorst, Jerry Barker, Jake Nelson, and Curt Miles, Jr., completed the top five.

Hurlock Auto and Speed Big Block Modified Feature Finish: JOSEPH WATSON, Carson Wright, HJ Bunting, Matt Hawkins, Brad Trice, Howard O’Neal, Dave Dissinger, Kevin Sockriter, Scott VanGorder, Brandon Watkins, Bobby Watkins, Robert Dutton, Kevin Gardner, Brian Hitz, Jeremy Harrington, Jordan Watson, Jordn Justice, Westley Smith, Mike White, TJ Williams, DNS: Dale Hawkins

AC Delco Crate Modified Feature Finish: RYAN RIDDLE, Danny Smack, Greg Humlhanz, Nick Alberti, Adam White, David Jenkins, Trent VanVorst, Matt Smith, Jordan Long, Teddy Taylor, Freddy Massey, Jason Rush, Jeff Marker, Gary Langenstein, Tommy Wilkins, Sean Metz

Modified Lite Feature Finish: JAMES HILL, Aaron VanVorst, Jerry Barker, Jake Nelson, Curt Miles, Jr., Brian Gladden, Curt Miles, Sr., Wesley Smack, Jason Musser, Tim White



Delmar, DE- Donald Lingo, Jr. proved to be a top-contender in the S.R. Pete & Son Super Late Models, as he collected his third victory of the season, in similar fashion to last week. “Everybody has the best of the best! We have not been this good in a long while. It feels like the old days,” said an excited Lingo in victory lane.

It was déjà vu as Kerry King led the field to the green flag of the 25-lap Super Late Model qualifier, with Amanda Whaley and Ross Robinson fighting to get to the front first. The two swapped positioned and the anticipated slide job, as they cleared King by lap two. It was Whaley and Robinson who swapped the top position for the next three laps.

On lap six, similarly to last week, Lingo, Jr., dove to the bottom of Whaley and Robinson, powering to the top position discreetly.

A lap eight restart would regroup the field, with Lingo remaining unpressured. Whaley maintained the second position, with Ricky Elliott passing Robinson for third.

A single-file restart on lap 15 would allow for Elliott to crank it up on the outside of Whaley to take over the second position. A lap later, Whaley slowed with mechanical issues.

Lingo would stretch out a nearly half straightway lead with their family-built motor over Elliott, Mark Pettyjohn, Robinson, and Nick Davis.

Charles Shawver took the lead from Joe Pete on lap two to collect the RUSH Late Model victory. Shawver extended a three second lead over second place, Sparky White, Matt Hill, Derek Magee, and Billy Thompson.

Chris Martinez outlasted Ashley Merritt and Robert Paczkowski to win the Delmarva Charger feature event.

S.R. Pete & Son Super Late Model Feature Finish: DONALD LINGO, JR., Ricky Elliott, Mark Pettyjohn, Ross Robinson, Nick Davis, Dylan Evans, Tyler Horst, Kerry King, Rob Schirmer, Herb Tunis, Andrew Mullins, Bob Geiger, Amanda Whaley, David Dill, DNS: Geoff Carey

RUSH Late Model Feature Finish: CHARLES SHAWVER, Sparky White, Matt Hill, Derek Magee, Billy Thompson, Joe Pete, Matt Glanden, Trevor Collins, Mike Wharton, Brandon Sturgis, Kevin Scott, Jr., Chace Biron, Mike Wilson, Kelly Putz, Wes Clifton, Zac Weller, DNS: Kerry King, Jr.

Delmarva Chargers Feature Finish: CHRIS MARTINEZ, Ashley Merritt, Robert Paczkowski, Derek Swafford, Randy Merritt, Geoff Carey, Jarett Chandler, Ben Knotts, John Bailey