Watson Continues Hot Streak with Delaware Win Saturday Night

DELMAR, DE – Since the birth of his son Colton in late May, Jordan Watson has been a man on Fire in the Big Block Modifieds in the state of Delaware. Fresh off a win on Friday night at the Georgetown Speedway, Watson put down an absolute barn burner of a driving job in the 25 Lap Hurlock Auto & Speed Big Block Modified’s division on Saturday night. Watson would roll off second in the feature behind Laurel’s Scott VanGorder, and that was the only flag the field would see until the checkered flag flew on lap 25. Watson’s #18 machine was on a rail and was fast no matter which groove he picked while working through lap traffic. The only person that was remotely close to the vicinity of Watson was Dover’s Matt Hawkins as he finished a distant four seconds behind in second in his #38 machine who had another ten seconds back to the third place finisher of Robert Dutton.

Finish – 1. Jordan Watson 2. Matt Hawkins 3. Robert Dutton 4. Howard O’Neal 6. Carson Wright 7. Scott VanGorder 8. Ryan Riddle 9. Joseph Watson 10. Brandon Watkins 11. Kevin Sockriter 12. Jordn Justice 13. Kevin Gardner 14. Brian Hitz

DNF – Bryan Brobst


Gumboro’s “Nitro” Nick Davis would hold down the P1 position to start the 20 lap S.R. Pete & Sons Super Late Models division race on Saturday Night. Davis, still relatively fresh off his Camp Barnes Benefit Race win tried to quickly pull out a sizable lead, but Millsboro’s Donald Lingo Jr quickly reeled him in and took over the lead on lap two. Once out front Lingo would start pulling away, and Davis would start feeling the heat from points leader Amanda Whaley. Davis would outlast Whaley’s attempt to take second and hung on to second while trying to reel Lingo back in. On lap 11 the caution would fly as Roy Deese Jr came to a stop on the back straightaway. Lingo’s lead would be erased and Nick Davis would have his opportunity to regain the lead when the field went back to green flag racing. However, Lady Luck would be riding with Lingo on Saturday night and he continued to check out from the field as Davis and Whaley battled for second until Whaley seized the position on lap 14. Lingo would stay flawless for the remainder of the race and added another notch to his win total for 2019.

Finish – 1. Donald Lingo Jr. 2. Amanda Whaley 3. Nick Davis 4. Herb Tunis 5. Kevin Scott Jr. 6. Kerry King 7. Kellie Lewis 8. Bob Geiger

DNF – Mark Pettyjohn, Roy Deese Jr, Robbie Emory


After a week off due to extreme temperatures throughout the northeast, the RUSH Crate Late Models were back under the lights at the Delaware International Speedway. Leading the field to the green was Georgetown’s Matt “The Thrill” Hill after he drew the #1 pill in the 4 car redraw. Hill would set his Longhorn chassis on kill, but it was the Lazer beam of Delmar’s Sparky White that would make Hill work for his top position. The cautions would pile on starting on lap five as Ben Scott got around, and then on the restart Geoff Carey, Ben Scott, and Billy Thompson would be the unfortunate victims of a log jam in turn one. Hill would once again lead the field back to green on lap seven with White, Derek Magee, Tyler Reed, and Joe Warren in hot pursuit. The yellow flag frenzy had come to an end with that caution and the field would remain under the green until Hill collected another checkered flag on lap 15 with White, Magee, Warren, and Reed rounding out the top five.

Finish – 1. Matt Hill 2. Sparky White 3. Derek Magee 4. Joe Warren 5. Tyler Reed 6. Mike Wharton 7. Billy Thompson 8. Jason Dean 9. Trevor Collins 10. Brandon Sturgis 11. Geoff Carey 12. Kerry King Jr 13. Ben Scott


James Hill has been a strong force to be reckoned with since he made the step from the Modified Lites to the AC Delco Modifieds in 2019. After picking up the heat race win, Hill’s luck would continue as he picked the #1 redraw position for the feature event. When the green flag dropped it was all Hill out front as the field could only fight for position amongst themselves. On lap six the caution flew for the stopped car of David Jenkins, and Hill’s lead would be erased. With the lead erased it would be fellow young guns Adam White and Matt Smith licking their chops for the chance to battle with Hill for the lead. However, neither would capitalize on the restart as Smith would get loose and lose several positions, and White would maintain his distance, but never came within striking distance as Hill went on to pick up his second consecutive feature win of the season.

Finish – 1. James Hill 2. Adam White 3. Greg Humlhanz 4. Trent Willey 5. Scott Hitchens 6. Tom Moore Jr. 7. Matt Smith 8. Danny Smack 9. George Richardson 10. Michael White 11. John Stevenson 12. Jeff Marker

DNF – Sean Metz, Dwayne Crockett, David Jenkins


Jake Nelson would lead the 11 car field of Modified Lites to the green for their 15 lap feature. Nelson would lead down into turns one and two, but was quickly bombarded by Jerry Barker, Ray Gulliver, and Tim White. White and Barker would fall back as Nelson and Gulliver began battling hard for the lead position. Coming for lap five White worked his way past Gulliver and started charging for Nelson, but before he could do anything he would have his hands full of Jerry Barker. Barker took the position on lap six, and by lap eight Barker had worked his way into the lead. Caution would fly on lap 10 and again on lap 13, but even with his lead erased multiple times nothing could stop Barker and his new power plant as he landed the 51 back in victory lane on Saturday night.

Finish – 1. Jerry Barker 2. Tim White 3. Ray Gulliver 4. Jason Musser 5. Jake Nelson 6. Donnie Spicer 7. Caleb Sturgis 8. Wesley Smack 9. Kyle Hathaway

DNF – Kenny Ayres

DNS – Kirk Miles

Robert Smith and Brandon Riefler Victorious in Delaware Super Trucks & Delmarva Chargers

It was “The Smith Show” in the Delaware Super Trucks on Saturday Night as Matt Smith and Robert Smith battled to the checkers with Matt crossing the stripe first, but it was Robert taking home the hardware after Matt was light at the scales.

Finish – 1. Robert Smith 2. Matt Esham 3. Jerry Hill 4. Kirk Miles Sr 5. Dale Elliott 6. Ronnie Holloway 7. Dick Beauchamp 8. Michelle Jackson 9. Bill Dean

DNF – Thomas Jackson, Ryan Efford

DQ – Matthew Smith

Brandon Riefler used a smooth and steady hand to outpace the field and pick up his first career win in the Delmarva Chargers on Saturday night at Delaware International Speedway.

Finish – 1. Brandon Riefler 2. Ashley Merritt 3. Robert Paczkowski 4. Randy Merritt 5. Thomas LeCates 6. Hunter Bensel

DNF – John Bailey, Joey Waters