Watson Now a Two-Time Winner at Delaware International

DELMAR, DE – Jordan Watson became the first repeat winner in the Delaware Big Block division at Delaware International Speedway on Saturday night. HJ Bunting started in the pole position by virtue of the redraw and jumped out to an early lead, with Watson and Matt Hawkins on his heels.

On a lap three restart, Bunting would succumb to mechanical failure, granting the lead to Hawkins. Hawkins, who was trialing a new car combination, was stuck to the top cushion of the ½ mile.

Hawkins continued to set the pace with defending points champion, Jordan Watson, trailing behind, with Ryan Riddle battling Matt Smith for the third position.

By lap 18, Hawkins had met lapped traffic. Watson applied pressure on the bottom of the speedway and was able to power off the fourth corner to take the lead. Hawkins would stick with Watson but was unable to regain the top position. Ryan Riddle, Kevin Sockriter, and Carson Wright rounded out the top five.

Amanda Robinson continued her summer-time hot streak, capturing the non-stop $2,000 to win Delmarva Super Late Model feature event. Robinson jumped out to an early lead and was never challenged to collect the victory. Donald Lingo, Jr. who suffered mechanical issues in the heat race rebounded to second, with Kevin Scott, Jr., Nick Davis, and Roy Deese, Jr. rounding out the top five.

Tim White continued his tear in the Modified Lite division, outdueling Ray Gulliver, Jason Musser, Danny Smack, and Caleb Sturgis.

Greg Humlhanz captured his first victory of the season in the AC Delco Crate Modified feature event in his family-owned No. 02. Humlhanz kept pressure on the leader, Dwayne Crockett, as he consistently managed the bottom-side of the racing surface.

With five laps remaining, Humlhanz remained door to door with Crockett as they drag raced down the front stretch. Humlhanz was able to control a late race restart, beating Crockett, Sean Metz, Trent Willey, and David Jenkins to the checkered flag.

Matt Hill returned to victory lane after outdueling Zac Weller and Derek Magee in the early stages of the RUSH Late Model event, before they both succumbed to mechanical failure. Hill would outlast the late-race strength of Billy Thompson, Austin Hubbard, Jason Dean, and Sparky White.

John Burton defeated Kelly Putz, Dave Parsons, Roscoe Clough, and Harold Sylvester in the Vintage Feature event.

Joey Waters outlasted Chris Martinez, Chris Carroll, Ashley Merritt, and Chris Myers in the exciting Delmarva Chargers event.

Delaware Dirt Modifieds: JORDAN WATSON, Matt Hawkins, Ryan Riddle, Kevin Sockriter, Carson Wright, Matt Smith, Brandon Watkins, John Bailey, Jordn Justice, Andy Hammond, Kyle Fuller, Clay Tatman, Dale Hawkins, Howard O’Neal, HJ Bunting, Robert Dutton, David Shirk, DNS: Wesley Smith

Super Late Models: AMANDA ROBINSON, Donald Lingo, Jr., Kevin Scott, Jr., Nick Davis, Roy Deese, Jr., Trevor Collins, Rob Schirmer

AC Delco Crate Modifieds: GREG HUMLHANZ, Dwayne Crockett, Sean Metz, Trent Willey, David Jenkins, Scott Hitchens, James Hill, Michael White, Adam White, Rodney Cordrey, George Richardson, John Stevenson, Freddy Massey, Paul Griffin, Jeff Coffey, Jeff Marker, Justin Eason, William Adams, Jordan Long, Greg Nailor, Jr., Greg Reed, Robert Messick, DQ: Bryan Brobst

Modified Lites: TIM WHITE, Ray Gulliver, Jason Musser, Danny Smack, Caleb Sturgis, Kirk Miles, Kyler LeCates, Jake Nelson, Kirk Miles, Jr., James Wood, Jacob King, DNS: Rick Wheatley

RUSH Crate Model: MATT HILL, Billy Thompson, Austin Hubbard, Jason Dean, Sparky White, Charles Schawver, Geoff Carey, Brandon Sturgis, Joe Pete, Robert Smith, David Smith, Zac Weller, Jerry Barker, Derek Magee, Ben Scott, Joe Warren