Four In A Row for Stewie? STSS Diamond State 50 May 16

DELMAR, DE – A piece of history.

The ‘Diamond State 50’ enjoys a unique and storied history in First State auto racing at Delaware International Speedway. The tradition continues Tuesday, May 16 (rain date: May 17) when the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco takes over the half-mile oval on the Delaware-Maryland border.

In its first three editions, the ‘Diamond State 50’ pitted Modifieds against Super Late Models in a clash of the two divisions.

Legends Gary Stuhler (1999), Kenny Brightbill (2000) and Jimmy Horton (2001) staked their claim in the early years.

For ’02, the Modifieds and Super Late Models split into separate events.

Horton picked up his second ‘Diamond State’ triumph in the Modifieds, with David Hill taking the Super Late Model portion in ’02.

Rain nixed the ’03 edition. The next year, Ricky Elliott (Modified) and Kenny Pettyjohn (Super Late Model) were victorious, with Danny Johnson (Modified) and David Hill (Super Late Model) the ’05 winners.

The ‘Diamond State 50’ took a 10-year hiatus before a partnership between BD Motorsports Media LLC and the Cathell family brought its return in August 2015.

The event became part of the Short Track Super Series in ’15 and has remained part of the circuit since.

David Van Horn Jr. topped the ’15 edition for his first-ever STSS victory.

No one has enjoyed more success in the rebirth of the ‘Diamond State 50’ than Stewart Friesen with four victories coming in ’16, ’20, ’21 and ’22.

Matt Sheppard took back-to-back events in ’18 and ’19.

Pennsylvania’s Ryan Watt upset the Friesen/Sheppard combo with a win in ’17.

This year’s edition is set for May 16 with the STSS Rent Equip/Party Central South Region Modifieds racing 50 laps for $5,000 to win, $1,000 for 10th and $500 to take the green.

STSS Belmont’s Garage South Region Crate 602 Sportsman hit the track in a South Region event paying $1,500 to win and $100 to start.

Delaware Super Trucks and Delmarva Chargers, with 12-lap features each, complete the program.

A complete general information sheet has been posted on the STSS website:

One ticket booth will open at 3 p.m. for early pit admission. Gates open at 4:30 p.m., with hot laps at 6:30 p.m. and racing at 7:15 p.m.

Seniors (ages 65 and up) and Students (ages 13-17) pay $20. Kids (ages 9-12) pay $10 and Children 8 and under are FREE.

Pit admission is $40 (Non-Members), $35 (NASCAR Members), $10 Kids (ages 6-12) and $2 for Children ages 5 and under.

A new office phone number exclusively for the dirt track has been set up: 302.567.8294 and e-mail

A new-for-2023 website is live at

Like “Delaware International Speedway” on Facebook to learn more.

Delaware International Speedway is located at 37854 Sussex Highway Delmar, DE 19940.

Delaware International Speedway ‘Diamond State 50’ History

2022 (STSS Modified): Stewart Friesen
2021 (STSS Modified): Stewart Friesen
2020 (STSS Modified): Stewart Friesen
2019 (STSS Modified): Matt Sheppard
2018 (STSS Modified): Matt Sheppard
2017 (STSS Modified): Ryan Watt
2016 (STSS Modified): Stewart Friesen
2015 (STSS Modified): David Van Horn Jr.
2005 (Modified): Danny Johnson & (Super Late Model): David Hill
2004 (Modified): Ricky Elliott & (Super Late Model): Kenny Pettyjohn
2003: Weather
2002: (Modified): Jimmy Horton & (Super Late Model): David Hill
2001: (Modified vs. Super Late Model): Jimmy Horton
2000: (Modified vs. Super Late Model): Kenny Brightbill
1999: (Modified vs. Super Late Model): Gary Stuhler