Troy Audet and Josh LeClaire Get Big Slate Valley Wins At Devil’s Bowl Speedway

WEST HAVEN, VT – Matt Sheppard may have led the Short Track Super Series North Region Modifieds to the checkered flag, but Devil’s Bowl Speedway also had their weekly stars on display during a historical Slate Valley racing event where Browns Quarry Slate presented unique trophies to the victors including Troy Audet who earned his first win of the season in style claiming the 40-lap Sunoco Sportsman Modified victory worth $2,000. Josh LeClaire, Chris Sumner, and TJ Knight were also victorious.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway prides itself on having something special for the race fans each week, and during the Slate Valley event Mike Bruno’s team went all out including a 40-lap Sunoco Sportsman Modified special paying 2-grand to the winner. What a time for Limited Sportsman graduate Troy Audet to shine. He took the lead on lap two and never looked back.

The race behind him was heated between Walter Hammond, Josh Masterson, Johnny Bruno, Anthony Warren, Jimmy Davis, and Shawn McPhee who were all trying to earn top five positions early on. While they mixed it up drivers like Elmo Reckner, Vince Quenneville, and Justin Stone were making their way through the field on what drivers called a slick, but very racy track surface.

By races end it was Audet’s kind of day picking up the big payday on a very special kind of night at the bowl. Josh Masterson, Jimmy Davis, Elmo Reckner, and Vince Quenneville rounded out the top five finishers.

Jimmy Davis, David Bosclair, and Anthony Warren were heat race winners. Billy Lussier earned Elmo’s Pit Stop Bonus Bucks worth $100 via random draw at the pit meeting, while Quenneville earned the Mike ‘Muffer’ Roberts Hard Charger also worth $100 presented by Ed ‘Elmo’ Allen and the folks from Elmo’s Pit Stop for his efforts starting 14th and finishing 5th.

Josh LeClaire earned his second victory of the season after winning the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman 25-lap feature. He chased down early race leader Alex Layn to take the top spot and race his way to another win. Worthy to note Steve Miller, who is a 2-time Rookie Sportsman winner, raced with the Limited Field earning a 6th place finish. Alex Layn, Bubba McPhee, Evan Roberts, and Cody O’Brien rounded out the top five finishers.

Evan Roberts, Cody O’Brien, and Alex Layn earned heat race victories.

Mini Stocks were featured during the Slate Valley program Sunday night, once again with a large field of racers on hand. They competed in twin 20-lap feature events, which Chris Sumner picked up his fourth win of the year in Twin #1. He was followed by Brian Blake, Tyler Bell, Freddy Burch, and Adam Mahoney rounding out the top five.

In Mini Stock Twin 20-lap feature #2 TJ Knight earned his first victory of the 2022 racing season. He was followed by Matt Wade, Clemmy Bell, Derrick Counter, and Craig Kirby who made up the top five finishers. No heat races were run this week, as it was a twin feature only format.

Next up for Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Saturday June 25th is another special program on G. Stone Motors night featuring the ever-popular Kiddie Ride night, along with all divisions in action. Pit gates open at 3 PM, grandstands open at 5:30 PM, with racing scheduled to start at 7 PM.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, VT., four miles north of U.S. Route 4, Exit 2, just 20 minutes from Rutland, VT. For more information, visit Follow Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Facebook at, and on Twitter and Instagram at @DevilsBowlSpeed or with the #DevilsBowl hashtag.

JUNE 19, 2022 SUNOCO SPORTSMAN MODIFIED FEATURE RESULTS (40 Laps) – 1) TROY AUDET, 2) Josh Masterson, 3) Jimmy Davis, 4) Elmo Reckner, 5) Vince Quenneville, 6) Johnny Bruno, 7) David Bosclair, 8) Walter Hammon, 9) Justin Stone, 10) Justin Comes, 11) Shawn McPhee, 12) Todd Stone, 13) Billy Lussier, 14) Anthony Warren, 15) Dylan Madsen, 16) James Hanson, 17) Mike Ballestero, 18) Don Mattison, 19) Walter Hammond Jr., 20) Jimmy Ryan, 21) Marty Kelly III, 22) Frank Hoard III, 23) Tanner Siemons, 24) Brian Whittemore, 25) Adam Piper, 26) Austin Comes, 27)Tim LaDuc, 28) Brent Warren.

JUNE 19, 2022 O’REILEY AUTO PARTS LIMITED SPORTSMAN FEATURE RESULTS (25 Laps) – 1) JOSH LECLAIRE, 2) Alex Layn, 3) Bubba McPhee, 4) Evan Roberts, 5) Cody O’Brien, 6) Steve Miller, 7) Anthony Ryan, 8) Bob Kilburn, 9) Jason Quenneville, 10) Gary English, 11) John Gosselin, 12) Freddie Little, 13) William Duprey, 14) Timmy Aldrighetti, 15) AJ Munger, 16) Katrina Bean, 17) Randy Ryan, 18) Josh Nelson, 19) Jeff Reis, 20) Ashton Pierson, 21) Chris Bisson, 22) Hunter Nutter, 23) Kyle Kerr, 24) Mike McGinn, 25) Justin Lilly, 26) Scott Fitzgerald.

JUNE 19, 2022 MINI STOCK TWIN FEATURE #1 RESULTS (20 Laps) – 1) CHRIS SUMNER, 2) Brian Blake, 3) Tyler Bell, 4) Freddy Burch, 5) Adam Mahoney, 6) Cody Dion, 7) Allen Hewitt, 8) Griff Mahoney, 9) Tom Severance, 10) Jake Mallory, 11) Levi Cram, 12) Alton McCoy, 13) Damian Olden, 14) Carl LaPoint, 15) Tim Robinson, 16) Hunter Given, 17) Josh Ostertag, 18) Chris Conroy.

JUNE 19, 2022 MINI STOCK TWIN FEATURE #2 RESULTS (20 Laps) – 1) TJ KNIGHT, 2) Matt Wade, 3) Clemmy Bell, 4) Derrick Counter, 5) Craig Kirby, 6) Austin Mckirryher, 7) Robert Steves, 8) Ron Alger, 9) Jake Barrows, 10) Chase Allen, 11) Mark Mahoney, 12) Justin Ramsey, 13) Hunter Clark, 14) Adam Stewart, 14) Donald Olden, 15) Mary Gardner, 16) Jarrod Colburn, 17) Jakobee Alger.

From STSS Press Release:
JUNE 19, 2022 BOB HILBERT SPORTSWEAR SHORT TRACK SUPER SERIES MODIFIEDS FUELED BY SUNOCO RIVER VALLEY BUILDERS NORTH REGION ROUND NO. 5 FEATURE FINISH FROM DEVIL’S BOWL SPEEDWAY (50 LAPS): MATT SHEPPARD, Mat Williamson, Demetrios Drellos, Anthony Perrego, Erick Rudolph, Tim Fuller, Jimmy Phelps, Mike Mahaney, Max McLaughlin, Stewart Friesen, Andy Bachetti, Marc Johnson, Bobby Hackel, Brett Haas, Derrick McGrew, Tanner Siemons, Robert Bublak, Roger Henion, Dan Creeden, Adam Pierson, Randy Green, David Schilling, J.R. Hurlburt, Richard Smith, Danny Tyler, Neil Stratton, Daniel Morgiewicz.