Litzenberger, Johnson & Houghtaling With DMNT Wins At Afton

AFTON, NY – The Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour finally got a show in at Afton Motorsports Park this past Friday evening and when the smoke literally cleared a trio of familiar faces once again would be in the winner’s circle.

Mike Houghtaling of Liberty, NY would claim the Unlimited class honors. Starting 5th on the grid he would quickly move into the runner up spot and then get a break when the yellow would come out for Duane Hiller. This would put Houghtaling beside early race leader Bill Leonard and once ahead he would not be challenged.

Leonard would find himself in second but still leading the Modified class until an old familiar face from the past would take the spot with only a couple of laps to go. 2019 Modified Champ Bob Johnson of Horseheads, NY would go from the announcing tower to the track and not miss a beat behind the wheel of Mike Houghtaling’s 03 machine.

Brad Litzenberger would claim the Nostalgia class after a tough battle with Woodhull, NY’s Roger Williams.

Pit notes: Phil Claussen would have a throttle stick and put on a smokeshow right off the start of the feature…Williams, Leonard and Houghtaling would take heat wins…Steve Longo making his first appearance of 2021…Bob Schmidt would wheel the 03 car in the heat race…

1) 333 Mike Houghtaling 2) 03 Bob Johnson* 3) 11x Bill Leonard 4) 42 George Valenti 5) 8 Duane Hiller 6) 20 Steve Longo 7) 63 Ron Root 8 ) 36 Brad Litzenberger**9) 52 Roger Williams 10) 53 Doug Atkins 11) 33 Alan McDonald 12) 44 Phil Claussen DNS 43A Dick Ackerman
* Mod winner
**Nostalgia winner