Kerr and Linberg Victorious in Last Chance Showdowns for Super DIRTcar Series Modifieds – DTD Exclusive


CONCORD, NC – Two Canadian drivers earned their way into the Friday night Modified feature at the World Finals presented by Can Am as 2015 World Finals winner Tim Kerr and first year big-block competitor Gary Lindberg captured the last chance events to kick off the night of racing at the Dirt Track at Charlotte.

Picton,Ont., driver Kerr sat on the pole for the first qualifier and launched the No. 07 immediately to the front of the field as he outraced outside front row competitor Tim McCreadie.

Kerr ran away until he came upon the slower car of Ed Kitchell in the waning laps and nearly got himself crossed up.

Suddenly Mike Maresca and McCreadie began to close in.

However, Kerr edged Maresca by 1.387 seconds and third place McCreadie also qualified.

Completing the field were Justin Haers, Rick Rogalski Jr., Chad Jeseo, Rich Scagliotta, Dave Rauscher, Adam Roberts, Justin Wright and Kitchell.

In the second Ridgeway, Ont., campaigner Lindberg who has limited action in a Big Block sat on the pole and repeating what Kerr had done moved out quickly from the rest of the field.

It appeared Jeremiah Shingledecker was solidly in the main event, but with two laps to go smoke poured from the rear end of the coming down the front stretch and he slowed, pulling into the infield off the backstretch.

Steve Feder found himself in the runner up position and the lead duo were comfortably ahead of everyone else.

On the last lap a smoking Scott Hitchen muscled his way under Marcus Dinkins in the third turn pushing Dinkins high up the race track.

At the checker it was Lindberg 2.588 seconds ahead of Feder while 10.7 seconds back in third was Hitchen.

Dinkens was fourth followed by Gary Edwards, Demetrios Drellos, Jack Lehner, Austin Langenstein, Louie Jackson Jr., Ralph McBride and Shingledecker.

Adam Roberts, Rich Scagliotta and Dave Rauscher have earned provisional starting spots while Demetrios Drellos made the show as fastest car in time trials not in the show.


LAST CHANCE SHOWDOWN #1 FINISH (10-LAPS): Tim Kerr, Mike Maresca, Tim McCreadie, Justin Haers, Rick Regalski, Chad Jeseo, Rich Scagliotta, Dave Rauscher, Adam Roberts, Justin Wright, Ed Kitchell

LAST CHANCE SHOWDOWN #2 FINISH (10-LAPS): Gary Lindberg, Steve Feder, Scott Hitchen, Marcus Dinkins, Gary Edwards, Demetrios Drellos, Jack Lehner, Austin Langenstein, Louis Jackson Jr., Ralph McBride, Jeremiah Shingledecker