Williamson Goes Untouched in Past Winner’s Feature at Eastern States – DTD Exclusive


MIDDLETOWN, NY – Once again, lady luck was with Mat Williamson on Friday night in the Past Winner’s 20-lap feature for the big-block Modifieds. Williamson got his spot in the race with other former Eastern States winners by virtue of his Centennial Weekend victory.  From there the St. Catharines, Ont., driver redrew the pole position for the start of the 20-lap, $5,000 to win race.

Needless to say, the check was written after the opening circuit.

“It’s not easy,” commented Williamson after the “easy” win.  “These guys worked their tails off all day.  They got the car better and better and tuned it to the race track.  I probably missed it as a driver in time trials.  We were a little bit disappointed with that, but we made the right calls and we’ll see what we got for Sunday.”

Williamson bolted out at the start of the feature quickly gaining an advantage on the field. Behind him an intense battle ensued for the second spot before the only caution came on lap three when Tommy Meier slowed with a left front flat.

At the green, it was once again all Williamson. At this point the race for second intensified as Tim McCreadie battled hard with Brett Hearn for second after starting fourth. McCreadie dove low and got by to take over the spot on lap five.

Williamson was on cruise control at the front of the field. By halfway he had over a full straightaway advantage on McCreadie who was solidly in second. The race for third picked up at this point as Danny Johnson and Billy Decker went to work on each other.

The Johnson Decker battle lasted until the end as Decker worked the high-side of the speedway with ‘The Doctor’ staying on the inner lane.

At the checkered it was Williamson scoring the win over McCreadie. Johnson got the better of Decker finishing in third while Decker took fourth. Hearn settled for fifth.

Eastern States Weekend
Modified Race of Champions
Orange County Fair Speedway
Middletown, N.Y.
Friday October 25, 2019

Feature Finish:
1 Mat Williamson
2 Tim McCreadie
3 Danny Johnson
4 Billy Decker
5 Brett Hearn
6 Tommy Meier
7 Jerry Higbie
8 Jimmy Horton
9 Richie Eurich
10 Jeff Heotzler