ESS Sprint Car Legends Reunion Next at Weedsport Speedway on August 12

WEEDSPORT, NY – The legends of the ESS Sprint Car tour will join together at Weedsport Speedway on Sunday, August 12, powered by Pit Stop Convenience Stores.

A great night of racing will follow the ESS Sprint Car Hall of Fame induction ceremony as the ESS Sprint Cars and the Spano Container Sportsman Shootout Series will take on The Port, with racing action set to begin at 7 p.m.

ESS super stars Jason Barney, Coleman Gulick, Steve Poirier, Matt Tanner, Paulie Colagiovanni, Matt Billings, Mike Mahaney, Billy VanInwegen, Shawn Donath and Danny Varin are all expected along with Chuck and Kelly Hebing, Paul Kinney, Brett Wright, Dave Axton, Jonathan Preston, Daryl Ruggles and more.

The $2,000 ESS Legends Reunion event will be the first of two ESS Sprint Car events to be held at Weedsport this season, along with the Monday, September 3 Labor Day Double Play alongside the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds and the DIRTcar Pro Stock Series.

The Spano Container Sportsman Shootout Series will be led by series point leaders Dave Marcuccilli and Kevin Root.

Marcuccilli has three wins at Weedsport this season and leads Root by 37-points in the race for the series championship heading into the August 12 race meet.

Joining Marcuccilli and Root in money positions currently on the series are Matt Guererri, Connor Cleveland, Zach Sobotka, Will Shields, Nick Krause, Jessica Power, Kyle Inman, and Ben Wheeler.

Pit gates will open at 4 p.m. on August 12 with grandstand gates opening at 5 p.m.  Qualifying will hit the Speedway at 6:40 p.m. with opening ceremonies set for 7 p.m.

General admission seating is available on August 12 for only $15.  Students 11-17 will be admitted for $5 with kids 10 and under FREE.

Purchase tickets today at or by calling (315) 834-3067.

For a full 2018 Weedsport Speedway schedule and detailed information on the ESS Legends Reunion be sure to visit online at  Fans can also FOLLOW on Twitter @WeedsportSpdwy and LIKE on Facebook at

About Weedsport Speedway: Purchased in 2013 by Al Heinke, Weedsport Speedway has returned to a real racers track, providing a complete venue for racers, their families and friends, and for the fans looking for motorsports entertainment.  Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few.  Today the facility welcomes the best of the best in dirt short track racing from the Craftsman World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series to the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds along with the DIRTcar 358-Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and more.  While racing entertainment is the focal point, Weedsport Speedway has gone the extra mile in welcoming Weedsport Productions, which brings the facility full circle with a dedicated digital entertainment team for web, television, and on site screen usage.