Von Dohren Collects $4,000 with Full Throttle Victory at Delaware


DELMAR, DE – Craig Von Dohren throttled by polesitter Ryan Watt to collect the $4000 to win Full Throttle event. Von Dohren immediately put pressure on Watt from lap one, as Von Dohren stuck to the bottom of the speedway, as Watt coasted through the middle of the racey surface.

The two went head-to-head, as Von Dohren would get under Watt but could not complete the pass.

By lap 10, the two leaders began hitting heavy lapped traffic. After two laps of navigating the traffic, Von Dohren made an invasive move and split a lapped car, with Watt on the bottom and Von Dohren to the top of the racetrack. Von Dohren would brush the back straightway wall, but ultimately complete the pass for the lead.

Von Dohren began stretching out his lead over Watt to nearly one second, with Jordan Watson, HJ Bunting, and Jimmy Horton III completing the top five.

Bunting began challenging Watson for the top-three position but would fall victim to a right rear flat tire on lap 18.

The storyline of the night was three prominent super late model drivers guest appearing in the big block modified division; Ricky Elliott, Austin Hubbard, and Amanda Whaley.

Ironically, all three made the right-hand turn into the pits with mechanical failure on lap 18.
A single caution flag of the event would regroup the field. On the restart, it was Kyle Fuller who was putting pressure on veteran racer, Horton, for the fourth position. The two battled side by side, with Fuller running the bottom of the race track.

With five laps remaining, Von Dohren hit dense lapped traffic, but had no threats from Watt or Watson. Von Dohren collected the payday with Watt, Watson, Horton, and Kyle Fuller rounding out the top five.

“It surprised me that Watt was not right there,” said Von Dohren in victory lane. Despite the perfect track conditions and well-balanced purse structure, it was obvious that car counts were a concern for the event, with only 16 big blocks registering. “It baffles me to get only 16 cars tonight,” said Von Dohren. “It is a real shame to not get the support down here tonight.”

“I thought we had a pretty good car, but we brought our big small block and really needed the big block tonight,” said Watt in victory lane. Watt added to Von Dohren’s disappointment with racer support, stating, “I don’t understand why we do not have more cars here tonight. The track is racey and it is good on tire wear.”

Jordan Watson rounded out the top three in Dale Hawkin’s No. 83 machine after suffering significant damage just two nights before. “I’m really happy with a third place run tonight. We just got this car on Monday night. I think we now know how we can make this car a lot better in the future,” said Watson.

Scott Hitchens was flawless in the 20-lap AC Delco Crate Modified feature event, leading wire-to-wire to collect the $1000 victory. Hitchens survived a variety of caution flags to outlast Joe Toth, David Jenkins, Nick Alberti, and Ryan Riddle.

James Hill did continue his dominating season in the Modified Lite division but had to contend with Brandon Dennis who was competing in Hill’s second car. Dennis took the lead on lap one and battled Hill for nearly every lap of the 15-lap feature event. The two swapped lines and positions, drag racing down the straightaways. Hill ultimately passed Dennis in turns one and two on the last lap. Jerry Barker, Aaron VanVorst, and Jacob King rounded out the top five.

Matt Esham ran down David Smith to win the Delaware Super Truck feature event. Jerry Hill, Mike Kennedy, and Curt Miles, Jr. completed the top five.

Hurlock Auto and Speed Big Block Modified Feature Finish: CRAIG VON DOHREN, Ryan Watt, Jordan Watson, Jimmy Horton, Kyle Fuller, Scott VanGorder, Matt Hawkins, Kevin Sockriter, Carson Wright, HJ Bunting, Ricky Elliott, Amanda Whaley, Austin Hubbard, Mike White, Brian Hitz, Jordn Justice
AC Delco Crate Modified Feature Finish: SCOTT HITCHENS, Joe Toth, David Jenkins, Nick Alberti, Ryan Riddle, Trent VanVorst, Tommy Wilkins, Sean Metz, Tom Moore, Jr., George Richardson, Rodney Cordrey, Adam White, Jeff Marker, Freddy Massey
Modified Lite Feature Finish: JAMES HILL, Brandon Dennis, Jerry Barker, Aaron VanVorst, Jacob King, Curt Miles, Sr., Jake Nelson, Wesley Smack, Curt Miles, Jr.
Delaware Super Truck Finish: MATT ESHAM, David Smith, Jerry Hill, Mike Kennedy, Curt Miles, Jr., Dick Beauchamp, Bobby Reed, Dale Elliott, Thomas Jackson, Michelle Jackson, Bill Dean, Curt Miles, Sr., DNS: Tim Quay, James Hill