Owens And Marlar Lead Pittsburgher 100 Field

IMPERIAL, PA – Jimmy Owens and Mike Marlar will make-up the front row for Saturday night’s 30th Annual Pittsburgher 100 at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

Owens earned the pole starting spot for the $20,000 main event by easily winning heat race number one on Friday night. The three-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion sprinted to the lead at the start of the 10-lap heat race and was unchallenged the entire distance. The Miller Welders overall fast qualifier, Michael Norris finished second, earning his spot in the main event. Mason Zeigler grabbed third, with first-time Pittsburgh visitor Frank Heckenast Jr. taking the fourth and final transfer spot.

The second heat race saw five-time Pittsburgher 100 winner, Scott Bloomquist starting on the pole alongside Pennsylvania racer, Dan Angelicchio. Bloomquist bolted to the lead at the drop of the green flag and never looked back. Defending Pittsburgher 100 champion, Don O’Neal came from fifth to finish third in the race. Gregg Satterlee took the fourth and final spot out of heat two.

The third heat race winner earned the outside front-row starting spot for tomorrow Saturday’s, Pittsburgher 100. Mike Marlar took the lead from the first lap and held off a furious charge by Josh Richards and Bobby Pierce for the win. Richards; a 2-time Pittsburgher 100 champion; withstood the challenges of Pierce, who was entering his first-ever event at the half-mile oval. Chub Frank, the 2001 Pittsburgher 100 winner edged out Alex Ferree for the fourth and final transfer position.

The final Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series heat saw a torrid battle throughout as Brandon Sheppard would get the win after dominating for most of the race. Sheppard, a five-time winner on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series tour in 2018, took the win over current series points leader Jonathan Davenport, Dennis Erb Jr., and Earl Pearson Jr.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, October 5, 2018
30th Annual Pittsburgher 100
Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway – Imperial, Pa.

Miller Welders Time Trials
Fast Time Group A: Michael Norris / 17.667 seconds (overall)
Fast Time Group B: Mike Marlar / 17.800 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Michael Norris, Mason Zeigler, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Kyle Bronson, Darrell Lanigan, Derek Stefanick, Andy Haus

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Colton Flinner, Don O’Neal, Gregg Satterlee, Ricky Thornton Jr., Jared Miley, Dan Angelicchio, Kelvin Kohan-DNS

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Mike Marlar, Josh Richards, Bobby Pierce, Chub Frank, Alex Ferree, Jake Gunn, Todd Weldon

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brandon Sheppard, Jonathan Davenport, Dennis Erb Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Boom Briggs, Davey Johnson, Jon Hodgkiss, AJ Campbell, Tim McCreadie-DNS

Penske Racing Shocks B-Main #1 Line Up (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Kyle Bronson 40B 20RT Ricky Thornton Jr.
Darrell Lanigan 14 10 Jared Miley
Derek Stefanick 65 14A Dan Angelicchio
Andy Haus 76 15* Kelvin Kohan

FAST Shafts B-Main #2 Finish (12 Line Up, Top 3 Transfer):

Alex Ferree 4 99B Boom Briggs
Jake Gunn 7G 1J Davey Johnson
Todd Weldon 13 69 Jon Hodgkiss
AJ Campbell 94 39 Tim McCreadie

Lucas Oil Feature Line Up (100 Laps):

Jimmy Owens 20 157 Mike Marlar
Scott Bloomquist 0 1S Brandon Sheppard
Michael Norris 72 1R Josh Richards
Colton Flinner 4T8 49 Jonathan Davenport
Mason Zeigler 25Z 32 Bobby Pierce
Don O’Neal 5 28 Dennis Erb, Jr.
Frank Heckenast, Jr. 99JR 1* Chub Frank
Gregg Satterlee 22 1 Earl Pearson, Jr.
B-Main #1 – 1st Place 17th 18th B-Main #2 – 1st Place
B-Main #1 – 2nd Place 19th 20th B-Main #2 – 2nd Place
B-Main #1 – 3rd Place 21st 22nd B-Main #2 – 3rd Place
Series Provisional 23rd 24th Series Provisional