Thunder on Hill to Celebrate 30th Anniversary Season at Grandview in 2019

BECHTELSVILLE, PA – What began in August of 1990 — when Steve Smith parked his Black Bandit #19 in the Grandview Speedway victory lane — has grown over three decades to become the region’s most anticipated series of events, and next year, the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series turns 30.

To commemorate this historic milestone, Thunder on the Hill and Grandview Speedway along with series partners, teams, drivers and fans will join together in a season-long 30th Anniversary celebration that will include cornerstone Thunder events, as well as, added bonuses and surprises.

“Almost thirty years ago, Dave Kelly along with Bruce Rogers and myself, laid a foundation that today supports some of the region’s most prominent auto racing events,” said Series Promoter Bob Miller. “The story of Thunder on the Hill over the past three decades is fascinating, and one that I relish the opportunity to share. It’s also a story that wouldn’t be complete without the support of our loyal racing fans.

“With our regular events secured and new events on the agenda, it will be a year-long celebration for everyone to enjoy – plus, we still have a few more surprises up our sleeves.”

A pair of $10,000-to-win races highlight two of Thunder’s premier events. The USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series competes on Tuesday, June 11, 2019 for the Jesse Hockett Classic and the 410 Sprint Cars join on Tuesday, July 2 for PA Speedweek – with both events offering a staggering $10K to the winner.

New-for-2019, the USAC National Midget Series hit the Bechtelsville high banks on Tuesday, July 30 while the All-Star Circuit of Champions return on Thursday, August 22.

All four of these shows will be coupled with Modified action for a string of exciting double top division events.

More events will be announced as plans are solidified.

Since 1990, NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series has held 132 racing events and paid out over $4.6 million dollars to nearly every major racing series and division. What started as a one race effort has taken numerous turns and transitions to develop into what the series is today. And thirty years later, the series continues to attract the largest attendance numbers for short track racing events presented in the region.

The list of main event Thunder on the Hill feature winners is staggering and talent-filled to say the least.

Thirty years later, drivers and race teams alike have a Thunder on the Hill win on their “to do” list. Billy Pauch, winner of eleven Thunder on the Hill sprint car wins tried year after year to win a Thunder on the Hill modified feature, that win finally came in 2018. Ryan Watt also kicked the jinx and found the Thunder victory lane in the October 2018 event.

Thunder on the Hill 410 Sprint Car Feature winners; 11 wins Billy Pauch, 10 Lance Dewease, 9 Greg Hodnett, 9 Fred Rahmer, 4 Keith Kauffman, 4 Steve Kinser, 3 Tyler Walker, 2 Cris Eash, 2 Jesse Hockett, 2 Levi Jones, 2 Jeff Shepard, 2 Steve Smith, 2 Bryan Clauson, 2 Brady Bacon, 2 Kyle Larson, 1 Bill Brian Jr., 1 Daron Clayton, 1 Alan Cole, 1 Danny Dietrich, 1 Bobby East, 1 Jac Haudenschild, 1 Chad Kemenah, 1 Mark Kinser, 1 Mike Kerby, 1 Don Kreitz Jr., 1 Danny Lasoski, 1 Brian Leppo, 1 Johnny Mackison, 1 Daryn Pittman, 1 Tim Schaffer, 1 Donny Schatz, 1 Todd Shaffer, 1 Chase Stockon, 1 Sammy Swindell, 1 Bobby Weaver, 1 Stevie Smith, 1 Dale Blaney, 1 Freddie Rahmer Jr., 1 Aaron Reutzel.

Thunder on the Hill Modified Feature winners include: 13 wins Jeff Strunk, 11 Duane Howard, 6 Craig VonDohren, 5 Brett Hearn, 4 Doug Manmiller , 3 MeMe DeSantis, 2 Jimmy Horton, 2 Tim McCreadie, 2 Frank Cozze, 2 Billy Decker, 2 Mike Gular, 2 Rick Laubach, 2 Matt Sheppard, 2 Billy Pauch Jr., 2 Ryan Godown, 1 Glenn Strunk, 1 Rick Schaffer, 1 Tom Mayberry, 1 Keith Brightbill, 1 Kevin Hirthler, 1 Kenny Gilmore, 1 Tom Umbenhauer, 1 Tim Fuller, 1 Stewart Friesen, 1 Danny Johnson, 1 Brett Kressley and winning their first Modified Thunder on the Hill win in 2018, Billy Pauch and Ryan Watt.

NAPA Auto Parts continues their long run with the Thunder on the Hill Racing Series as the title sponsor joined by Pioneer Pole Buildings, Levan Machine and Truck Equipment and GALCO Business Communications.

About Thunder on the Hill Racing Series
The brainchild of Grandview Speedway owner Bruce Rogers, special events promoter Bob Miller and local driving star Dave Kelly, the Thunder on the Hill Racing Series celebrates 30 years of the most anticipated events of the racing calendar year after year. In 132 events, over $4.6 million dollars has been divvied up among the area’s fastest racers. What started as a single 410 Sprint Car event in 1990 has blossomed to feature a variety of racing action including 358 Modifieds, USAC Wingless Sprints, All-Star Circuit of Champions, 360 & 410 Sprint Cars, Sportsman, Late Models, Midgets, Legend Cars, DIRTcar and ROC Modified events. The 2018 Thunder on the Hill Racing Series is dedicated to Bruce Rogers.

About Grandview Speedway
Grandview Speedway is a high-banked one-third mile clay oval, celebrating their 57th Anniversary season in 2019. The facility offers free parking, quality food at reasonable prices (be sure to try the french fries), a program book, Grandview Speedway and Thunder on the Hill race wear and great viewing from every seat in the house. Race fans may take part in the Inside/Out promotion, where you can sign up (no charge) to watch warm-ups from inside turn four. Race fans are also invited to victory lane following the racing program and, race fans may enter the pits after the races to meet the drivers. Be ready to enjoy the spine-tingling fireworks salute on the feature event parade lap.