Willix Scores First Airborne Victory

PLATTSBURGH, NY – Lance Willix has always been comfortable on a dry-slick race track. That showed Saturday.

Willix, a native of Theresa, NY took the lead for good on lap-17 of the 30 lap Egglefield Ford 358-Modified feature at Plattsburgh Airborne Speedway.

“I prefer the dry-slick conditions on the track,”Willix said. “I’m really happy and were on the road to Utica-Rome on Sunday.”

Greg Atkins led the field for the first 16 laps of the event that went caution free. Jack Lehner worked a smooth line around the track and made a late pass to take the second spot. Atkins would hang on for third, while Mike Mahaney and Dany Gagné completed the top five.

Lonnie Rivers made his R7 machine come to life late in the Poirier’s True Value Sportsman 30 lap feature event.

Rivers took the lead on lap-25 while working the bottom of track. In the final laps, Rivers would pull away to a comfortable victory of Adam Pierson, Jack Speshock, Travis Bruno and Moïse Pagé.

Jim McKiernan scored a natural hat trick with his third consecutive win in the Ernie’s Discount Tools Super Stock division. Shawn Duquette and Josh Terry completed the podium. Tylor Terry and Tyler Irwin finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Felix Roy collected his first win in the Novice Sportsman division. Dale Gonyo Jr. and Lee Barcomb completed the podium.

Josh LaPorte collected his second Chris Frennier Motorsports Strictly Stock win of the season with Michael Whalen and Nathan Smart finishing in the top three.

Racing action resumes next Saturday for Kid’s Night with a 6 p.m. post time. Kids race car rides will begin at 5:30.

358-Modified Feature (30 Laps): LANCE WILLIX, Jack Lehner, Greg Atkins, Mike Mahaney, Dany Gagné, Steve Bernier, Steve Bernard, Luke Whitteker, Jessey Mueller, George Foley, Mario Clair, Chris Raabe, Jackie Brown Jr., Michael Parent, Mathieu Boisvert, Matt Woodruff, Martin Pelletier, Mathieu Desardins, Maxime Plante, Matt Depew, Kevin Hamel, Josianne Plante, Joey Scarborough, Pat Dupree, Ryan McLean, Jordan McCreadie, Paul Hamel

Sportsman Feature (30 Laps): LONNIE RIVERS, Adam Pierson, Jack Speshock, Travis Bruno, Moïse Pagé, Justin Severance, Jamy Begor, Mike Phinney, Jeremy Roy, Connor Cleveland, Chris Frennier, Patrick Picotin, Dylan Rabtoy, Devin Willis, Tanner Forbes, Mike Palmer, Jamie LaFountain, Kaven Poliquin, Derrick McGrew Jr., Jason Bruno, Chris Cayea, Mike Stacey, Jeffrey Lapalme, Nick Heywood, Brian Hudson, Even Racine, Codie Aubin, Jason McClatchie, Jake Branham, Bucko Branham-DNS

Super Stock Feature (20 Laps): JIM MCKIERNAN, Shawn Duquette, Josh Terry, Tylor Terry, Tyler Irwin, Michael Wright, Jared Blake, Richie Turner, Zack Daniels, Tony Salerno, Matt Leonard, Metal Man, Cam Gadue, Rolland Guay

Novice Sportsman Feature (15 Laps): FELIX ROY, Dale Gonyo Jr., Lee Barcomb, Josh Pete, William Racine, Dan Beachard, Cody Meyers, Deric Ellsworth, RJ Tresidder, Dan Reif, Jonathan Rush, Robert Laware, Melvin Rush, Mark Fewster, Cam Castell

Strictly Stock Feature (15 Laps): JOSH LAPORTE, Michael Whalen, Nathan Smart, Caleb Tourville, Cody Agoney, Matt Leonard, Charles Mooney, Lynn Denton, Nathaniel Guay, Michael Daniels, George Cassevah-DNS