USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars Return to Weedsport on Sunday for ‘Eastern Storm’ Finale

WEEDSPORT, NY – The USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Championship returns to Weedsport Speedway this Sunday, June 16 for the final round of the prestigious ‘Eastern Storm’ tour, which will see the cars and stars of the USAC National Sprint Car trail contend in Pennsylvania, New Jersey and New York across a six-day span.

The final round of the tour will see the USAC National Sprint Cars paired with the Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil Modified Series as well as the NY6A Microsprints at Weedsport Speedway.

In recent years, Chris Windom has been the driver to beat on the ‘Eastern Storm’ trail.  Windom has six career wins on the eastern tour and currently sits third in the overall USAC standings.  In 2018, Windom finished fourth at Weedsport.

The current USAC National Sprint Car point leader, as of June 11, is CJ Leary.

Leary, a winner in Ocala, FL in February, has never won an ‘Eastern Storm’ main event, and struggled to a 17th place finish at Weedsport a year ago.  When Leary returns on Sunday, he hopes to change his luck.

Kevin Thomas Jr. is second in the USAC standings, and like Leary, struggled at Weedsport one year ago.  KTJ has six top-six finishes in 2019 and has two previous ‘Eastern Storm’ wins, including one last year at Bridgeport Speedway.

Tyler Courtney and Chase Stockon complete the top five in the national standings heading into ‘Eastern Storm.”

Courtney charged to a runner-up finish at Weedsport in 2018 and has one career ‘Eastern Storm’ win under his belt.  The defending USAC National Sprint Car champion has one win in 2019, coming at Eldora Speedway in May.

Stockon is your most recent winner on the USAC National Sprint Car tour, with a triumph at Terra Haute in May.  Last year, Stockon took ninth at Weedsport.

Brady Bacon, Justin Grant, Carson Short, Robert Ballou and Jason McDougal complete the top ten in the national standings and will all be in action come Sunday.

Other drivers looking to take on ‘Eastern Storm’ include Dave Darland, Chad Boespflug, Isaac Chaple, Bill Balog, Brian VanMeveren, Dustin Christie, Steven Drevicki, Timmy Buckwalter, Joey Biasi, Carmen Perigo, Jarett Andretti, Landon Simon, Ryan Godown and Robert Bell.

Pit gates will open at 4 p.m. on June 16 with grandstand gates opening at 5 p.m. and racing getting underway at 7 p.m.

Reserved seating is priced at $32.

General admission seating is $28, kids aged 11-17 are $12 with kids 10 and under, FREE.

Member pit admission is $32, non-member pit admission is $36.

Reserved camping is available for $30, general camping is $24.

Camping is available online at

For a full 2019 schedule and Weedsport Speedway information be sure to visit online at  Fans can also FOLLOW on Twitter @WeedsportSpdwy and LIKE on Facebook at

Interested in seeing your company listed in our press releases, or being placed on ‘PortVision’?  Be sure to call the Weedsport Speedway office at (315) 834-3067 for sponsorship and advertising information.

About Weedsport Speedway: Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few.  In 2018, Weedsport introduced the all-new Weedsport Kartway, just outside of the Speedway’s main pit area, to begin to foster the next generation of racers, crew members and race fans.  Together, Weedsport Speedway and Kartway are excited to bring fans and followers a schedule of 15 racing events in 2019, hosting everything from Karts and Sprint Cars, to Late Models and Modifieds, Pro Stocks and Micro Sprints, even Flat Track Motorcycles.  Couple the racing with state-of-the-art camping and track amenities, unmatched on-site television production capabilities, plus the ability for large scale concert productions and Weedsport is one of the marquee entertainment venues in the country.