Jeremy Dygert Victorious At Fulton – DTD Exclusive

By:  Bobby Sweeney

FULTON, NY –  Over the offseason, Jeremy Dygert picked up a small block motor and ventured out to the world of Modified racing. On Saturday night, Dygert reached the top step of the podium, winning the 35-lap small block Modified race at Fulton.

Jeremy Dygert took the early lead in the 358-Modified feature, looking for his first win in the division. Just as Dygert started to open up a gap between himself and Joe Shields, Billy Whittaker lost steering and helplessly slid across the pack, luckily with only one car making minor contact. Obviously, the caution flew, and Dygert continued to lead after the restart, now followed by Tyler Trump and Pat Ward.

As each lap passed, Dygert slowly extended his lead, up to almost a straightaway by lap 20. That all came to a halt on lap 23 as a lapped car spun, erasing Dygert’s lead he had established. Like the first restart, Dygert pulled away, but some new challengers cracked into the top five. Tim Sears Jr. briefly slipped into third, while invader Erick Rudolph and defending champion Larry Wight were right there with Sears.

After falling to fifth with about ten laps left, Todd Root kicked it into overdrive in the late stages. Sliding by Sears, Ward, and Trump, the Root #15 was in second with five laps to go. However, Dygert was a little ways out front, and while Root was able to close the gap in the final handful of laps, it wasn’t enough to make a bid for the lead. After 35 laps, it was Modified rookie Jeremy Dygert claiming the win over Todd Root, Tim Sears Jr., Erick Rudolph, and Pat Ward.

“I can’t take any credit, it’s all my crew,” Dygert said. “They gave me a car that was easy to drive and I just had to keep it under me. Every lap, I kept reminding myself to not burn the tires off. Scott Jeffrey always tells me I overdrive it, so I just had to keep it down.”

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) – JEREMY DYGERT, Todd Root, Tim Sears Jr., Erick Rudolph, Pat Ward, Ron Davis III, Larry Wight, Jeff McGinnis, Tom Sears Jr., Ben Bushaw, Jeff Sykes, Joe Shields, Glenn Forward, Dave Marcuccilli, Chris Hile, Rob Bellinger, Bobby Herrington, Brad Godshalk, Billy Shantel, Garett Rushlow, Andy Noto, Randy Shantel, Nick Krause, DJ Forbes, Colin Dubois, Dale Planck, Billy Whittaker, Tyler Trump, DNS AJ Kingsley

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 – 25 Laps) – CHRIS MACKEY, Willy Decker Jr., Steve Marshall, Tyler Murray, Dylan Zacharias, Robert Gage, Addison Bowman, Zach Sobotka, Chris Hulsizer, Mike Button, JJ Courcy, Kyle Perry, Wade Chrisman, Rick Miller, Austin Germinio, Joe Sobotka, Tom Juno, Brandon Carvey, Brad Alger, Ryan Dolbear, Brett Draper, Dorian Wahdan, Josh Amodio, Joe Kline, Jeff Prentice, Ryan Gustin.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 – 25 Laps) – JACKSON GILL, AJ Miller, Tyler Corcoran, Corey Barker, Alan Fink, Bob Henry Jr., Jessica Power, Mike Phelps, Jake Davis, Garrison Krentz, Casey Williams, Jim Spano, Rocky Grosso, Brandon Ford, Charlie Tibbitts, Zach Payne, Mike Stanton Jr., Torrey Stoughtenger, Rachel Zacharias, Rick Rogala, Ben Karlsen, Kearra Backus, Amy Holland, Gavin Eisele, Jimmy Moyer.

(Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux RUSH Late Models 20 Laps) – CHRIS FLEMING, Bret Belden, Chad Homan, Kyle Sopaz, Kevan Cook, Sean Beardsley, Max Hill, Tucker Halliday, Matt Kitts, Jason Parkhurst.

(E&V Energy Novice Sportsman 20 Laps) – CODY MANITTA, Pat Nolan, Richard Murtaugh, Matt Richardson, Mikey Wight, Scott Kline, Brett Baldwin, Larry Taylor, Coleby Felber, Brandon Chretien, Josh VanTassell.