Chris Hile Returns To Brewerton Victory Lane – DTD EXCLUSIVE

By:  Bobby Sweeney

BREWERTON, NY – Chris Hile returned to Brewerton Speedway victory lane on Friday night, holding off Jimmy Phelps and Tom Sears Jr. on a late-race restart.

Tyler Trump showed the way early in the 35-lap Modified feature, chased early by Chris Hile. Trump and Hile quickly separated themselves from the rest of the field, which was a hornet’s nest behind third place Joe August. Up front, Hile slowly closed in on Trump, rolling around him to lead lap 10 and quickly building up a good advantage.

By halfway, Hile’s lead was almost a full straight over Trump, and even further back to August. Meanwhile, Jimmy Phelps, Chad Phelps, Tom Sears, and others had reeled in August, with third on back hotly contested. Slowly, this pack all reeled in Trump, with Phelps and August within striking distance of Trump at ten to go. On lap 29, Phelps tossed a slider on Trump to move into second, but was way too far behind Hile to even have a shot at the lead.

Phelps had no hope in catching Hile when he grabbed second, but a lap 32 yellow for a spinning Larry Wight drew the race’s lone caution. On the restart, Hile and Phelps returned to their respective lanes, Hile low and Phelps high. Hile ran a flawless final few laps, and when the checkered waived, it was Chris Hile scoring his first win of the year over Jimmy Phelps, Tom Sears Jr., Chad Phelps, and Billy Decker.

“It’s been a long time since I’ve won a race here on the bottom,” Hile said. “We’re definitely gaining on it and happy. It’s a stout field of cars here and you definitely can’t be down. The car is starting to find it’s happy place, usually I’m up on the top but we made a few changes and it helped it on the bottom, so hopefully we can keep it rolling.”

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) – CHRIS HILE, Jimmy Phelps, Tom Sears Jr., Chad Phelps, Billy Decker, Tim Sears Jr., Tyler Trump, Pat Ward, Joe August, Jim Witko, Andrew Ferguson, Larry Wight, Nick Krause, Ron Davis III, Katelyn Hile, Jason Occhino, Tim Harris, DNS Roy Bresnahan.

(Collectibles Galore Heat Race Winners Bonuses $100) – Pat Ward, Ron Davis III, Tom Sears Jr.

(Syracuse Haulers Feature Winner Bonus $200) – Chris Hile.

(Syracuse Haulers Modified Challenge $200) – Ron Davis III.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 – 25 Laps) – ALAN FINK, Jeff Prentice, Zach Sobotka, Chris Mackey, Amy Holland, Earl Rudy, Corey Barker, Mark Yorker, Rich Townsend, Colby Herzog, Mike Prentice, Dylan Zacharias, Tim Devendorf, Mike Button, Torrey Stoughtenger, Addison Bowman, Stephen Denton, Bailey Groves, Riley Rogala.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 – 25 Laps) – RYAN DOLBEAR, Brandon Carvey, Mike Fowler, Bob Henry Jr., Kevin Root, Billy Clark Jr., John Strickler, Jim Spano, JJ Courcy, Willy Decker Jr., Jeff Taylor, Tyler Murray, Dorian Wahdan, Quinn Wallis, Mike Stanton Jr., Joe Sobotka, George Sanford, Jake Petit, Rick Rogala.

(Collectibles Galore Heat Race Winners Bonuses $50) – Chris Mackey, Mike Fowler, Mike Prentice, John Strickler.

(Syracuse Haulers Feature Winners Bonus $100) – Alan Fink, Ryan Dolbear.

(U.S Air Force Mod Lites 20 Laps) – KYLE DEMO, Justin Williams, Tom Mackey, Joe Garafolo, Casey Sykes, Mike Mullen, Hunter Lawton, Doug Williams, Roger Olschewske, Tom Perkins, Kelly Skinner, Jim Dunham, Clayton Brewer, Matt Magner, Marty Demoel.

(Collectibles Galore Heat Race Winners Bonuses $25) – Joe Garafolo, Matt Magner.

(Syracuse Haulers Feature Winners Bonus $50) – Kyle Demo.

(Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – CHRIS BONOFFSKI, Quinn Wallis, Evan Wright, Chuck Powelczyk, Ken Pitsley, David DeNova, Clayton Koch, Scott Mallete, Sam Curcie, Donnie Rider, Dylan Curcie, Tim Boylhart, Jacob Dupra.

(Collectibles Galore Heat Race Winners Bonuses $25) – Quinn Wallis, Chris Bonoffski.

(Syracuse Haulers Feature Winner Bonus $50) – Chris Bonoffski.

(Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour) – Modified – Kenny Polite Nostalgia – Scott Gauthier.