Wight Battles Hard for First Brewerton Win of the Season – DTD Exclusive


BREWERTON, NY – Larry Wight grabbed his first Brewerton win of the season, dominating the second half of the 35-lap Big Block Modified main.

“It’s been a long time coming, we’ve been close quite a few times this year but always seemed to be runner up,” Wight said. “We had a little slump there, but hopefully we got everything worked out and we’ll be back at par.

Polesitter Nick Krause had an awful start, slowing to a halt on the opening lap. The first lap did get scored before the caution waived, and in that opening circuit, Larry Wight flew from ninth to fourth. Tyler Trump took the lead when the race restarted, with Wight slotting into second.

Following right behind Wight was Tim Sears Jr., who got to third soon after the restart. Up front, Wight went low to try and get by Trump for the lead, but Sears took advantage of the vacated top and stole second from Wight. Just after clearing Wight on lap five, Sears switched lanes to the bottom and tried the same move Wight did, which handed second right back to Wight.

By lap 12, Trump and Wight had distanced themselves from third place Andrew Ferguson, who rode the top by Sears just prior. After many laps of searching down low, Wight finally got the run he needed to drive by Trump to lead lap 17, and wasted little time building up a big lead.

“Tyler Trump was real good up top keeping his small block wound up,” cited Wight.  “I tried to get a jump on him there early, but gave up second to Sears. He tried the same thing we did and we got it right back.”

As the race hit lap 25, Wight’s lead had grown to over a straightaway. Trump was comfortably in second, while Ferguson, Ronnie Davis III, and Sears fought over third. Wight finally had to break his cruise control as teammate Pat Ward broke with just two laps to go, drawing a yellow.

Wight wasn’t fazed by the lap 33 yellow and restart, driving away for his first win of the year at the track.

Behind him, Sears used both the top and bottom to get from fifth to second, with Trump and Ferguson finishing third and fourth. Billy Decker got by Davis at the line to grab fifth.

In other action Amy Holland took the DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman feature win.  Casey Sykes won the Mod-Lite main-event while Chuck Powelczyk took top honors in the Four-Cylinder feature.

Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil & Milton Cat Night July 26 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) – LARRY WIGHT, Tim Sears Jr., Tyler Trump, Andrew Ferguson, Billy Decker, Ron Davis III, Jimmy Phelps, Chris Hile, Chad Phelps, Tom Sears Jr., Jim Witko Jr., Roy Bresnahan, Collin DuBois, Katelyn Hile, Tim Harris, Pat Ward, Nick Krause, DNS Joe August.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman – 25 Laps) – AMY HOLLAND, Chris Mackey, Alan Fink, Tim Devendorf, Earl Rudy, Zach Sobotka, Joe Sobotka, Kevin Root, Stephen Denton, John Strickler, Dylan Zacharias, Bob Henry Jr., JJ Courcy, Willy Decker Jr., Tyler Murray, Colby Herzog, Jeff Prentice, Mark Yorker, Mike Fowler, Brandon Carvey, Bailey Groves, Corey Barker, Torrey Stoughtenger, Mike Prentice, Rick Rogala, Rich Townsend, Quinn Wallis, Jim Spano.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman B-Main -15 Laps) – Mark Yorker, Brandon Carvey, Bob Henry Jr., Colby Herzog, Ryan Dolbear, Gordy Button, Chris Hulsizer, Rick Rogala, Quinn Wallis, Bailey Groves, Riley Rogala, Rich Townsend.

(U.S. Air Force Mod Lites 20 Laps) – CASEY SYKES, Tucker Halliday, Zack Babcock, Doug Williams, Brian Meyers, Justin Williams, Kyle Demo, Tom Mackey, Dave Brown, Kelly Skinner, Jim Dunham, Matt Magner, Hunter Lawton.

(Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – CHUCK POWELCZYK, Evan Wright, Ken Pitsley, Scott Mallete, Clayton Koch, Adam Gates, Sam Curcie, Dylan Curcie, William Davis, Jacob Dupra, Tim Balins, Chris Bonoffski, Quinn Wallis.