Trump Tackles Field to Take First Fulton Modified Win – DTD Exclusive


FULTON, NY – Tyler Trump is certainly having the best weekend of his short racing career. Following a third-place run against the big-blocks at Brewerton, Trump scored his first 358-Modified win at Fulton, holding off a number off late-race attacks.

“The last five laps I started seeing people,” Trump said. “I was trying to get through traffic as fast as I can, I couldn’t ride behind anyone because I knew they’d catch up. We messed with the car setup a little bit and it is rolling pretty good. It all worked.”

Tyler Trump took the lead at the drop of the green for the 35-lap Small Block Modified feature, chased by Bobby Herrington in the opening laps. Early on, Herrington was all over Trump for the lead, occasionally venturing off the top to try and pass Trump low.

A lap 10 caution for Todd Root allowed Trump to catch his breath and pull away from Herrington on the restart, with Tom and Tim Sears Jr. rallying to third and fourth.

Herrington didn’t have the speed after the restart that he did before, and abruptly pulled to the infield while running second on lap 14. This handed second to Tom Sears, with Tim close behind.

By lap 20, Trump had stabilized the gap over the battle for second and third, roughly a second and a half. After pressure from Tim for a number of laps, second place Tom Sears got some space as Tim hopped the cushion and fell back a good ways, but still in third.

When at Fulton, Larry Wight is a threat. Staring 18th, Wight shot slider after slider to crack the top five with ten laps remaining. While Wight was passing cars for position, Trump was about to do some passing too, but in the form of lapping cars.

On lap 25, Trump had to venture off the cushion for the first time all race to clear some traffic, and Tom Sears quickly reeled in Trump, within a single car length by lap 29.

With Tom Sears all over his bumper, Trump had his hands full. However, some traffic fell his way and was able to put some space between himself and what suddenly became a battle for second. Re-enter Tim Sears, who found a late burst of speed to not only catch the top two, but pass Tom on lap 32. Late in the race, the top had burned off enough to where the bottom was now a hot ticket, as evident by Tim Sears gaining all the ground down low.

With two laps left, Trump switched from top to bottom to get by a lapped car, giving Tim Sears the middle. Even after clearing the traffic, Trump stayed low during the last lap, and Sears went to the top to make one final charge. While he got a run, Sears couldn’t get by, as Tyler Trump scored his first ever 358-Modified win in exciting fashion.

Tim Sears Jr. claimed second, while Larry Wight grabbed a close third at the line. Tom Sears Jr. slipped to fourth, and Ronnie Davis III rounded out the top five.

Matt Janczuk and Chris Mackey captured the regularly scheduled DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman features.  Mike Phelps took the checkers in the make-up Sportsman event.  Chad Homan won again in the Late Model divisions while Cody Manitta was victorious in the Novice Sportsman division.

Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil Night July 27 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) – TYLER TRUMP, Tim Sears Jr., Larry Wight, Tom Sears Jr., Ron Davis III, Rob Bellinger, Dave Marcuccilli, AJ Kingsley, Billy Whittaker, Nick Krause, Jeff McGinnis, Pat Ward, Jeff Sykes, Glenn Forward, Jeremy Dygert, Collin DuBois, Joe Shields, Billy Shantel, Brian Murphy, DJ Forbes, Brent Cross, Andy Noto, Bobby Herrington, Todd Root, Dale Planck, Garret Rushlow.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 – 25 Laps) – MATT JANCZUK, Tom Juno, AJ Miller, Corey Barker, Tyler Corcoran, Wade Chrisman, Bob Henry Jr., Charlie Tibbitts, Joe Kline, Mike Phelps, Brandon Ford, Jimmy Moyer, Casey Williams, Brandon Carvey, Tyler Murray, Austin Germinio, Chuck Miller, Rocky Grosso, Zach Payne, Isaiah Forward, Jake Petit, Rich Riggs Jr., Joe Sobotka, Rick Miller, DNS John West, Tim Baker.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 – 25 Laps) – CHRIS MACKEY, Amy Holland, Jackson Gill, Alan Fink, Jessica Power, Mike Button, Robert Gage, Chris Corbett, Willy Decker Jr., Kyle Perry, Dylan Zacharias, Brett Draper, Scott Mallette, Joey Buonagurio, Michelle Courcy, Kearra Backus, Zach Sobotka, Jeff Prentice, Steve Marshall, Mike Stanton Jr., Brandon Chretien, JJ Courcy, Torrey Stoughtenger, Jake Davis, Ryan Dolbear, Derek Webb, Bill Sauve.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 June 1st 25 Laps) – MIKE PHELPS, Mike Button, Bob Henry Jr, Zach Sobotka, Corey Barker, Willy Decker Jr., Jackson Gill, Tyler Corcoran, Charlie Tibbitts, Rocky Grosso, Kearra Backus, Jimmy Moyer, Amy Holland, Tyler Murray, Brandon Carvey, Michelle Courcy, Jake Davis, Joe Sobotka, DNS, Rachel Zacharias, Jake Holmes, Colby Herzog, Ricky Yelle, Tim Devendorf.

(Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Topless RUSH Late Models 20 Laps) – CHAD HOMAN, Max Hill, Chris Fleming, Kyle Sopaz, Dale Caswell, Tucker Halliday, Sean Beardsley, Matt Kitts, Kevan Cook, Bret Belden, Darin Horton.

(E&V Energy Novice Sportsman 15 Laps) – CODY MANITTA, Payton Talbot, Ed Lukas, Pat Nolan, Dave Brown, Mikey Wight, Matt Richardson, Dana Camenga, Jason Lopes, Scott Kline.